Sunday, November 11, 2007

top 10 lincoln speedway stories for 2007

What a year at the pigeon hills half mile. 8 different drivers picked up wins in the 410 division with Fred Rhamer leading the way with 6 wins. Greg Hodnett was second with 5 wins. in the 358 division only 2 drivers where able to repeat as winners with Pat Cannon and Jeff Rohrbaugh being those drivers. in the thunder care division it was dominated by 2 drivers. Nat Tuckey and Duane Watson both had an outstanding year with a combined 18 wins. Here are the top stories coming out of lincoln speedway for the year.

10.Passing points

On October 20th lincoln decided to use passing points to see if it would make the heat races more exciting. With the racing being more even between the drivers this year, lincoln decided to try some thing different than the normal pill draw that usually happen for the last race of the season. Was it a success? I'm sure the drivers liked it as they have complained all year that they can not come from the middle of the pack all year and win races . This gives them a chance to run hard in the heats and have a chance to start closer to the front in the feature. With the driver who had the most passing points after the heats drawing an inversion pill of
0, 4, 6, and 8 it would make their jobs just a little easer.

9. Nat Tuckey dominates mid season
Nat Tuckey was on fire this year winning 11 features this season by the mid way point of the season. Nat then decided to sell off all his equipment and is going 358 late model racing next year.

8. New clay
The beginning of may saw lincoln put down 57 new truck loads of clay on the half mile. Lincoln had some major issues with the racing surface at the beginning of the season so the owners decided to put down the new clay. With the new surface in place the racing on staurday night was fast. With
the 410 sprinters clocking their fastest laps since the minimum weight rule took effect five years ago. Lincoln continued to have difficulties with the surface all year as Fred Putney just could not get a handle on the surface with the new tires. After talking to Fred one night after the races he said that he has never had to put so much water on the track, and no matter how much he puts on the new tires still dry out the track.Hopefully Fred will get everything straightened out for the '08 season.

7. The 1st. annual Kevin Gobrecht NSCBBA challange
The NSCBBA was proud to announce the date and time for the First Annual Kevin Gobrecht NSCBBA Challenge. The event was held in conjunction with the Kevin Gobrecht Memorial Fund.On June, 30th beginning at 2:30 p.m. the NSCBBA hosted a bean bag toss tournament, featuring 64 contestants, which was played on the infield grass at Lincoln Speedway, prior to the opening PA Speedweek show. 60 people participated in the tournament raising $2,000 for the Kevin Gobrecht memorial foundation.

6. 11 different winners in 13 358 races
What a year in the 358 division. With lincoln averaging 45 cars every time they where there, the 358's became the most competitive class at lincoln speedway. With the top drivers
starting in the back of the heats it made for some great racing for the fans. It was not uncommon to see 2 or 3 top teams running the b-main every week. The only 2 drivers who where able to win more than once where Pat Cannon and Jeff Rohrbaugh. Cannon came down for a few shows mid season and was tearing up the lincoln regulars until he decided to go back up to Selinsgrove speedway.

5. Cory Hass becomes all time win leader in the 358's

Cory Hass became the all time win leader by picking up the win on
Jun 2, 2007 when he was declared th winner of the 358 feature when an illegal top wing on the car of apparent winner Steve Owings resulted in an Owings disqualification. The win was the 12th of Haas’ Lincoln career, moving him one win ahead of Doug Esh on the all-time win list.

4.Thunder car points chase comes down to the wire
Heading into the season finale, duane Watson trailed defending track champion Neil Smith by 10 points. After missing a race earlier in the year, Watson chipped away at Neil Smith’s season-long point lead and was within striking distance in the final event.

But a sudden spin by the race-leading Walls on the seventh lap saw Smith make slight contact and suffered a flat tire and ducked to the pits to make repairs.

On the restart, with Smith at the rear, a multi-car accident in the third and fourth turns ended Smith’s title hopes with hard contact with other cars and was towed to the pits.

For the restart, Watson was now the leader and he led the rest of the way to pick up his seventh win of 2007 and 17th of his career en route to his first-ever track title. congrats to Duane watson on his championship.

3. Fred Rhamer wins his 10th points championship

Fred Rhamer claimed his 10th sprints title of his carrier in 2007 at lincoln speedway. He had 6 wins, 20 top 5's and 23 top 10's in claiming the title for the year.

2.Cory Hass claims his second straight 358 championship

Cory Haas secured his second straight and unprecedented fourth track title with his fourth-place finish. cory had 1 win,7 top 5's and 10 top 10's on his way to the title. He was mr. consistency all year at the pigeon hills half mile.

1. 151

Ten years ago, Steve Smith’s 150th and final win at Lincoln Speedway came in a May 4th All-Star Circuit of Champions show. He has sat at the top of the all-time Lincoln win list ever since. Until now. fred set the new record on Jun 16, 2007 by beating the all stars at lincoln.

"I’ve working at this since 1986," said a visibly emotional Rahmer in upon exiting the Chad and Jen Clemens-owned Miller Brothers Automotive/C&S Lawn and Landscaping/Materials Handling Systems #51, "And there are too many people to mention. Bud Lawrence, Joe Harz, Al Hamilton, Bob know I’m forgetting a lot of people and it won’t be right...but there’s a little bit of every deal I’ve been with in this. I’ve been with nothing but good people. Jim and Sandy (Kline) gave me a great ride last year. It’s a pretty emotional deal to tell the truth."

"I have so much respect for all the greats who have raced here," added Rahmer while being sprayed with champagne, "Bobby Allen’s here tonight...Mr. Smith...Kenny many great names...some that are still running here. Perseverance has kept me here long enough to get it done. I’ve never been in a bad race car. I have all of the sponsors that I started with still with me. Everybody knows me as a ‘no good SOB,’ but all the people around us I respect and I appreciate everything they’ve done.

Fred ended the season with 154 wins making him the all time winner at lincoln. Fred won his first race on June 27, 1987 .

No comments: