Sunday, April 05, 2015


Apr 4, 2015, 23:55


Rittenhouse claims season opener for 358 sprints
Brian Montieth and the entire Parish Motorsports team celebrate their Spring Championship win.
ABBOTTSTOWN, PA, 4/4/2015 –Saturday night’s 410 Sprint Spring Championship was Brian Montieth’s 46th career Lincoln win, but it may have been the most impressive of them all.

Time trials and an inversion of four put Montieth on the pole for the 30-lap, $5,000-to-win championship event. By the time the first caution of the event came out for a spinning Kyle Moody in turn four of lap 18, there were eight lapped cars between Montieth and second-place Adam Wilt, and only 11 of the 24 starters were still on the lead lap.

“I hate starting up front,” said Montieth upon exiting his Jerry Parrish-owned Auto Locator/Premier Auto Works #21 in victory lane, “I’d rather be chasin’ ‘the rabbit than BE the rabbit.”

Wilt actually brought out the only other caution of the race on lap 28 when he hit the outside wall and spun on turn three.

There was plenty of discussion in the stands on whether, had no caution come out, Montieth would have lapped the entire field. His lead was more than six seconds when the 18th-lap caution flag came out.

The other star of the show was Danny Dietrich, who came from tenth starting spot to finish second at the end, 3.56 seconds behind the winner.

 “Scott (Zeller) has this thing motivatin’,” said Montieth, “I can basically run this thing wherever we want. It’s easy when that happens.”

He certainly made it look easy in claiming his second Lincoln win in six days.

“I was watching the scoreboard. I didn’t know how far I was ahead,” continued Montieth, “The more sparks that come out of this thing, the harder I was running. It was just the brakes. I’m hard on them. Scott just laughs at me. I’m going to get in the fence at some point.”

Crossing third through fifth behind Dietrich were defending track champ Alan Krimes, seventh-starting Austin Hogue, and 12th-starting Brent Marks. Sixth through tenth were Cory Haas, Freddie Rahmer, Jimmy Siegel, Moody, and Robbie Kendall.

410 Sprint heats were won by Wilt, Hogue, and Moody. Fast time in time trials over the 25-car field was set by Niki Young with a 1-lap time of 13.421-seconds (100.589 MPH).

Young suffered mechanical problems when he came out for his qualifying event, and scratched for the evening.

                   Todd Rittenhouse Jr. and crew celebrating a hard fought victory opening night.

Norristown’s Todd Rittenhouse, Jr. started on the outside of the front row and led every lap of the 20-lap season opener for 358 sprint cars.

Polesitter Matt Campbell ran second the first 13 laps before spinning in turn two, turning the runner-up spot over to eighth-starting Doug Hammaker.

A last-lap caution for a spinning Tyler Esh in turn four set up a one-lap dash to the finish, with Rittenhouse crossing .59-seconds ahead of Hammaker for his third career Lincoln 358 sprint car win.

Third through fifth were seventh-starting Jeff Rohrbaugh, lady driver Ashley Cappetta (her best career Lincoln finish), and Chandler Leiby. Brad McClelland came back from an opening lap crash to cross sixth.

Heats for the 31 358 Sprints on hand were won by Ryan Wilson (who dropped from the feature field while running third), Cappetta, and Leiby, with Cody Fairchok winning the consolation.

Lincoln Speedway will switch to night racing next Saturday, April 11th, with a triple-header program to include the 410 Sprints, Super Sportsman, and 358 late models. It will be ARCH Night, with card-carrying members of the Auto Racing Club of Hagerstown getting a $2 discount on admission. Race time will be 7 PM, with gates opening at 5 PM.

To get all the latest news, results, schedule changes and rule changes, visit Lincoln Speedway's website at to stay up-to-date on all the action or pending weather conditions at Central Pennsylvania's "Premier" Saturday night race track - The Fabulous Lincoln Speedway.
Sat., April 4, 2015
Abbottstown, PA
Lawrence Chevrolet 410 SPRINTS (30 laps) – 1. 21-Brian Montieth ($5,000); 2. 48-Danny Dietrich; 3. 87-Alan Krimes; 4. 52-Austin Hogue; 5. 19M-Brent Marks; 6. 11C-Cory Haas; 7. 51-Freddie Rahmer; 8. 59-Jimmy Siegel; 9. 99M-Kyle Moody; 10. 55K-Robbie Kendall; 11. 44-Chase Dietz; 12. 16-Gerard McIntyre, Jr.; 13. 2W-Glenndon Forsythe; 14. 8-Billy Dietrich; 15. 12-Mike Bittinger; 16. 21T-Scott Fisher; 17. 39-Tim Glatfelter; 18. 21A-Steve Owings; 19. 15-Adam Wilt (DNF); 20. 88-Brandon Rahmer (DNF); 21. 69-Shane Hoff (DNF); 22. 75-Nicole Bower (DNF); 23. 14-Lance Dewease (DNF); 24. 1*-Tim Wagaman (DNF). No Time

Lap Leaders – Brian Montieth (1-30)

Heat One (10 laps/6 qualify) - 1. 15-Adam Wilt; 2. 19M-Brent Marks; 3. 8-Billy Dietrich; 4. 16-Gerard McIntyre, Jr.; 5. 88-Brandon Rahmer; 6. 69-Shane Hoff; 7. 44-Chase Dietz; DNS – 92-Niki Young. Time – 2:27.8-9

Heat Two (10 laps/6 qualify) - 1. 52-Austin Hogue; 2. 21-Brian Montieth; 3. 39-Tim Glatfelter; 4. 1*-Tim Wagaman; 5. 12-Mike Bittinger; 6. 51-Freddie Rahmer; 7. 2W-Glenndon Forsythe; 8. 21T-Scott Fisher (DNF). No Time

Heat Three (10 laps/6 qualify) - 1. 99M-Kyle Moody; 2. 55K-Robbie Kendall; 3. 48-Danny Dietrich; 4. 6. 11C-Cory Haas; 5. 87-Alan Krimes; 6. 21A-Steve Owings; 7. 59-Jimmy Siegel; 8. 14-Lance Dewease; 9. 75-Nicole Bower (DNF). Time – 2:18.831

Time Trials – 1. 92-Niki Young, 13.421 (100.589 mph); 2. 51-Freddie Rahmer, 13.513; 3. 87-Alan Krimes, 13.554; 4. 15-Adam Wilt, 13.593; 5. 21-Brian Montieth, 13.594; 6. 55k-Robbie Kendall, 13.649; 7. 8-Billy Dietrich, 13.683; 8. 39-Tim Glatfelter, 13.689; 9. 48-Danny Dietrich, 13.727; 10. 44-Chase Dietz, 13.772; 11. 52-Austin Hogue, 13.774; 12. 99m-Kyle Moody, 13.791; 13. 19m-Brent Marks, 13.824; 14. 1*-Tim Wagaman, 13.872; 15. 11c-Cory Haas, 13.929; 16. 16-Gerard McIntyre, Jr., 13.969; 17. 2w-Glenndon Forsythe, 14.062; 18. 59-Jimmy Siegel, 14.104; 19. 88-Brandon Rahmer, 14.154; 20. 12-Mike Bittinger, 14.181; 21. 21a-Steve Owings, 14.195; 22. 69-Shane Hoff, 14.711; 23. 21t-Scott Fisher, 14.779; 24. 14-Lance Dewease, NT; 25. 75-Nicole Bower, NT.

Feature (20 laps) – 1. Todd Rittenhouse, Jr.; 2. 66-Doug Hammaker; 3. 45-Jeff Rohrbaugh; 4. 89-Ashley Cappetta; 5. 119-Chandler Leiby; 6. 6R-Brad McClelland; 7. 28-Matt Findley; 8. 38D-Kyle Denmyer; 9. 66A-Cody Fletcher; 10. 7-CJ Qurk; 11. 47-Michael Hamer; 12. 83-Cody Fairchok; 13. 10-Zach Euculano; 14. 16-Matt Campbell; 15. 5A-Brian Allman; 16. 35-Tyler Esh; 17. 4R-Ryan Wilson (DNF); 18. 13-Ryan Higgins (DNF); 19. 9H-Ryan Hansen (DNF); 20. 00-Chris Frank (DNF); 21. 17-Cole Young (DNF); 22. 21-CJ Tracy (DNF); 23. 27S-Adrian Shaffer (DNF); 24. 97-Brie Hershey (DNF). No Time

Lap Leaders – Todd Rittenhouse, Jr. (1-20)

Heat One (10 laps/6 qualify) - 1. 4R-Ryan Wilson; 2. 00-Chris Frank; 3. 21-CJ Tracy; 4. 16-Matt Campbell; 5. 38D-Kyle Denmyer; 6. 7-CJ Qurk; 7. 10-Zach Euculano; 8. 17-Cole Young; 9. 18F-Dylan Walsh; 10. 35-Tyler Esh (DNF); DNS – 19D-Wyatt Hinkle. No Time

Heat Two (10 laps/6 qualify) - 1. 89-Ashley Cappetta; 2. 66A-Cody Fletcher; 3. 66-Doug Hammaker; 4. 280Matt Findley; 5. 27S-Adrian Shaffer; 6. 97-Brie Hershey; 7. 83-Cody Fairchock; 8. 47-Michael Hamer; 9. 5A-Brian Allman; 10. 15-Lucus Montgomery (DNF). No Time

Heat Three (10 laps/6 qualify) - 1. 119-Chandler Leiby; 2. 6R-Brad McClelland; 3. 45-Jeff Rohrbaugh; 4. 23-Todd Rittenhouse, Jr.; 5. 13-Ryan Higgins; 6. 9H-Ryan Hanson; 7. 75-Kody Lehman (DNF); 8. 9W-Dalton Dietrich (DNF); 9. 44-John Braim (DNF); DNS – 98-Sammy Sabedra. No Time

Consolation (10 laps/6 qualify) - 1. 83-Cody Fairchok; 2. 17-Cole Young; 3. 10-Zach Euculano; 4. 47-Michael Hamer; 5. 35-Tyler Esh; 6. 5A-Brian Allman; 7. 18F-Dylan Walsh; 8. 9-Dalton Dietrich (DNF); DNS – 75-Kody Lehman, 44-John Braim, 15-Lucas Montgomery, 98-Sammy Sabedra, 19D-Wyatt Hinkle. Time – 2:51.65

© Copyright 2010 by Sel-Wil, Inc.

No comments: