Sunday, April 19, 2015

Wolfe Claims Port Royal All Star Weikert Tune Up, Lupfer Continues Late Model Domination, Miller Wins In 305 Sprints

Lucas Wolf at Williams Grove Speedway. Photo courtesy of Tony De Seta.

Fans & Track Raise $1,550 For Cancer Society On Race To Cure Cancer Night

Port Royal – Lucas Wolfe held off the challenges of Greg Hodnett on Saturday night at Port Royal Speedway to pick up the 410 sprint win in the tune-up race for next week’s All Star Circuit of Champions Bob Weikert Memorial.

Mike Lupfer continued his domination in the super late model ranks by winning his third race in a row in what was the third race of the year for the division at the oval.

And in the 305 sprint main, defending oval series champion Jeff Miller claimed the feature for his first win of the year.

It was Race To Cure Cancer Night at the track with a total of $1,550 being raised for the American Cancer Society including $750 as the auction price of a special pink five-gallon fuel jug that was autographed by World of Outlaws and Pennsylvania sprint car drivers.

Hodnett won the dash to start the 25-lap 410 sprint main on the pole with Danny Dietrich flanking him on the outside.

Wolfe originally lined up third for the start but a false initial start swapped the first and second rows, placing Wolfe on the pole for the new attempt at a green flag.

Sixth starter Steve Buckwalter moved forward early, taking over the second spot with five laps down and making tracks after the leader. 

With Hodnett up to third on the 10th circuit, Buckwalter made a jab at the lead in the first and second turns but Wolfe was up to the challenge and moved back in front to hold control.

Seconds later Buckwalter’s mount slowed to a stop on the backchute, taking him out of contention and placing Hodnett in second.

A lapped car separated leaders on the restart and Hodnett has just disposed of the traffic when the red flag appeared with 13 laps down for a frontstretch roll by Doug Esh that also collected Blane Heimbach.

No lapped cars were between the leaders for the new green and Hodnett made a bid when action resumed by Wolfe rode the cushion through the first and second turns to blast around the slide attempt onto the backchute.

A final yellow unfurled with three laps to go for fourth place runner Ryan Taylor and Wolfe then went uncontested to the victory, which was the second of his career at the oval, worth $3,500.

Hodnett rode home second followed by Dietrich, Dave Blaney and Brent Marks.

Sixth through 10th went to Davey Sammons, Aaron Ott, Rick Lafferty, Logan Wagner and Dave Ely.

Heats went to Dietrich, Ely and Blaney with Hodnett scoring the dash and Dylan Cisney taking the consolation.  Fast time was set by Hodnett with a lap of 15.495 seconds. 

Polesitter Waylon Wagner led the first four laps of the 22-lap late model main before Mike Lupfer took control.

Early in the race Lupfer went three wide in the second corner to move from his sixth starting spot into third before setting his sights on leader Wagner and Trent Brenneman.

Lupfer went to the outside of Wagner for the lead in the first and second turns to get control before settling into his favored inside line to cruise to the victory.

Brenneman rode home a career best super late model finish of second followed by a surging Mitch Hack who took the spot with four laps to go.

Andy Haus and Matt Parks completed the top five with sixth through 10th going to Tim Wilson, Derrick Casner, Wagner, Bryan Bernheisel and Jason Schmidt.

Heats went to Brenneman and Bernheisel.

Jeff Miller allowed Ken Duke to lead only the first lap of the 18-lap 305 sprint main before taking over after starting second.

Miller’s pace was slowed twice over the distance but to no avail for his challengers.

Scott Ellerman crossed the line second followed by Duke, Zach Newlin and Nathan Gramley.

Heats went to Erin Statler, Ellerman and Newlin.

Race Results:
Feature Finishes

410 sprints, 25 laps: 1. Lucas Wolfe, 2. Greg Hodnett, 3. Danny Dietrich, 4. Dave Blaney, 5. Brent Marks, 6. Davey Sammons, 7. Aaron Ott, 8. Rick Lafferty, 9. Logan Wagner, 10. Dave Ely, 11. Mike Wagner, 12. Dylan Cisney, 13. Nate Snyder, 14. Wayne Dadetto, 15. Rodney Westhafer, 16. Dave Hahn, 17. Tyler Bear, 18. Joey Hershey, 19. Ryan Taylor, 20. Nicole Bower, 21. Daryl Stimeling, 22. Doug Esh, 23. Blane Heimbach, 24. Steve Bucwalter

DNQ: Curt Stroup, Trenton Schaeffer, Karl Baker

Late models, 22 laps: 1. Mike Lupfer, 2. Trent Brenneman, 3. Mitch Hack, 4. Andy Haus, 5. Matt Parks, 6. Tim Wilson, 7. Derrick Casner, 8. Waylon Wagner, 9. Bryan Bernheisel, 10. Jason Schmidt, 11. Patrick Bryner, 12. Mike Mort, 13. Scott Flickinger, 14. Andrew Yoder, 15. Cole Amsden, 16. Tim Smith Jr., 17. Eric Zembower, 18. Austin Berry

305 sprints, 18 laps,: 1. Jeff Miller, 2. Scott Ellerman, 3. Ken Duke, 4. Zach Newlin, 5. Nathan Gramley, 6. Jason Bergstresser, 7. Bill Jones Jr., 8. Erin Statler, 9. James Pryde, 10. Jake Waters, 11. Joe Zap, 12. Jaremi Hanson, 13. Drew Ritchie, 14. Marcus Defreitas, 15. Jonathan Jones, 16. Tyler Cochran, 17. Dave Guss Jr., 18. Ron Aurand, 19. John Bordlemay, 20. Tyler Reeser, 21. Jim Kennedy, 22. Cale Reigle

DNS: Reed Thompson

PRS 2015 – Racing through a new decade with a new attitude!

Port Royal Speedway

The Only Place To See Super Sprints And Super Lates Every Saturday Night

No comments: