Saturday, May 30, 2015


Friday May 29, 2015
Trail-Way Speedway
Hanover, PA
For Immediate Release


Fri., June 5, 2015 – 358 Sprints, Limited Stocks, Classic Cars, Mason Dixon 270cc Micro Sprints (Little D’s Bucket List Race - $800 to win) (Gates open at 5:30 p.m., Heats at 7:45 p.m.)
Sat., June 6, 2015 – A.M.A. Motorcycle Short Track (4th Annual Armin Hostetter Classic) (Gates open at 3:00 p.m., Heats at 6:00 p.m.)


HANOVER, PA (5/29/2015) –Two all-time winners put another notch in their belts at Trail-Way Speedway Friday night.

For one of them, it wasn’t the way he wanted to do it.
“We sure didn’t end that one in a good way,” said Brad McClelland after claiming his 44th career win in the 25-lap “358” sprint car feature. 

For much of the race, polesitter Seth Kearchner looked to be on his way to his second career win on his 34th birthday.  He and McClelland ran first and second the first 22 laps until the two made contact while racing through turns three and four of lap 23.  In the midst of a McClelland slider in an effort to take the lead, the two leaders made contact, with Kearchner slamming into the outside wall and rolling onto his side.  McClelland never stopped and assumed the lead for the restart.  Kearchner was uninjured, and even took a moment to drop to the ground, and to the delight of the fans, make some dirt “angels” in the infield on the way back to the pits.

 “Actually, Seth was running away from me,” said McClelland, “But when we cleared lapped traffic, he started to loosen up a little bit.  I don’t know if I shocked him or not, but he’s a great guy and deserves a win here.”

McClelland led the final three laps to cross 1.18 seconds ahead of fifth-starting Dwight Leppo, with Cody Fletcher, Tyler Reinhardt, and hard charger Isaac Sneeringer completing the top five.

Qualifiers for the 12 “358” sprinters were won by David Holbrook and Zach Euculano, who finished sixth in the feature.

Chad Earnst raced to his second Trail-Way win and fourth overall win of the year in the 20-lap Central PA Legends feature.  Earnst started second, followed polesitter Mason Chaney for the first lap, assumed the lead when Chaney and Houdeshell got together in turns one and two of lap two, led the next two laps, yielded to Travis McClelland on lap four, and then assumed the race lead on lap 10 when McClelland came to a stop on a restart.

Despite an ignition switch problem, Earnst was able to hold off the repeated challenges of Chris Transeau over the second half of the race to cross less than a carlength in front at the end.

Transeau, Justin Mitchell, Houdeshell (who came from the back), and Bill Diehl completed the top five.

Heats for the 17 Legends were won by Diehl and Transeau.

Points leader Dan Furman scored the 20th win of his Trail-Way career in the 20-lap street stock feature.  Furman caught both Jeremy Stremmel and leader Mike Goodwin to go from third to first on lap 13.  He led the rest of the way for his second win of the year.

Goodwin held off Stremmel for second, with Eric Johnson and Dalton Myers rounding out the top five.

Heats for the nine street stocks were won by Goodwin and David Johnson.

Matt Chronister has only finished four races in 2015, but Friday night Chronister scored his third win of the year after starting fifth and catching brother Jason Chronister on lap 13.  Shortly thereafter, Jason dropped to the infield, handing second over to Shane Miller, who finished 1.78 seconds behind the winner.  Last week’s winner Sarah Redmond, Julio Perez, and points leader Kenny Startzman completed the top five.

Qualifiers for the 18 limited stocks were won by the Chronisters.

Next Friday, June 5th, Trail-Way swings back into action with the 358 Sprints, Limited Stocks, Classic Cars and the Mason Dixon 270cc Micro Sprints in an $800-to-win “Little D’s Bucket List Race.” Gates open at 5:30 p.m. with heats beginning at 7:45 p.m.

The following night, Saturday June 6th, Trail-Way hosts A.M.A. Motorcycle Short Track racing with the “Fourth Annual Armin Hostetter Classic.” Gates open at 3:00 p.m. and heats begin at 6:00 p.m.

Friday May 29, 2015
Trail-Way Speedway
Hanover, PA
For Immediate Release

FEATURE (25 Laps) – 1. 6R-Brad McClelland; 2. 4-Dwight Leppo; 3. 66A-Cody Fletcher; 4. 00-Tyler Reinhardt; 5. 19Z-Isaac Sneeringer; 6. 10-Zach Euculano; 7. 19D-Wyatt Hinkle; 8. 30-Seth Kearchner (DNF); 9. 0-Anthony Bay (4 Laps Down); 10. 77-David Holbrook (DNF); 11. 22T-Dave Thrush (DNF); 12. 9-Dalton Dietrich (DNS).

Lap Leaders: Seth Kearchner (1-22), Brad McClelland (23-25)

358 Sprint Heat 1 Finish (10 Laps/All Qualify) – 1. 77-David Holbrook; 2. 4-Dwight Leppo; 3. 19Z-Isaac Sneeringer; 4. 00-Tyler Reinhardt; 5. 19D-Wyatt Hinkle; 6. 9-Dalton Dietrich (DNF). Time – 2:31.78

358 Sprint Heat 2 Finish (10 Laps/All Qualify) – 1. 10-Zach Euculano; 2. 66A-Cody Fletcher; 3. 6R-Brad McClelland; 4. 30-Seth Kearchner; 5. 22T-Dave Thrush; 6. 0-Anthony Bay (DNF). Time – 2:30.40

FEATURE (15 Laps) – 1. 81-Matt Chronister; 2. 39-Shane Miller; 3. 1-Sarah Redmond; 4. 16-Julio Perez; 5. 94-Kenny Startzman; 6. 18-Robert Nicklow; 7. 25-Tom Senseney, Jr.; 8. 41-Robert Wellman; 9. 99-Cody Klinedinst; 10. 2-Chad Weaver; 11. 38-Jason Chronister (DNF); 12. 88-Travis Brown (DNF); 13. 5-Shannon Weaver (DNF); 14. 92-Terry Hartlaub (DNF); 15. 19-Roy Denike (DNF); 16. 29-Mike Wolf (DNF); 17. 32-Jeff Foster (DNS); 18. 20-Ricky Weaver, Jr. (DNS). No time.

Lap Leaders: Jason Chronister (1-12), Matt Chronister (13-15)

Limited Stock Heat 1 Finish (6 Laps/All Qualify) – 1. 38-Jason Chronister; 2. 1-Sarah Redmond; 3. 39-Shane Miller; 4. 94-Kenny Startzman; 5. 99-Cody Klinedinst; 6. 25-Tom Senseney, Jr.; 7. 18-Robert Nicklow (DNF); 8. 20-Ricky Weaver, Jr. (DNS); 9. 32-Jeff Foster (DNS). Time – 2:07.66

Limited Stock Heat 2 Finish (6 Laps/All Qualify) – 1. 81-Matt Chronister; 2. 16-Julio Perez; 3. 41-Robert Wellman; 4. 5-Shannon Weaver; 5. 92-Terry Hartlaub; 6. 88-Travis Brown; 7. 2-Chad Weaver; 8. 29-Mike Wolf; 9. 19-Roy Denike (DNF). Time – 2:06.22

FEATURE (20 Laps) – 1. 85-Chad Earnst; 2. 18-Chris Transeau; 3. 91-Justin Mitchell; 4. 5-Scott Houdeshell; 5. 53-Bill Diehl; 6. 8CR-Mason Chaney; 7. 21-Greg Burd; 8. 20-Rocky Magaro; 9. 41-Matt Miller; 10. 56-Mike Gable; 11. 9-Rick Hartwig; 12. 28-Nathan Ottensmeyer; 13. 7MD-Nathan Renfro; 14. 93-Travis McClelland (DNF); 15. 119-Don Leiby (DNF); 16. 43-Tony Mrakovich (DNS); 17. 79-Ed Trump (DNS). No time.

Lap Leaders: Mason Chaney (1), Chad Earnst (2-3), Travis McClelland (4-9), Chad Earnst (10-20)

Legends Heat 1 Finish (8 Laps/All Qualify) – 1. 53-Bill Diehl; 2. 91-Justin Mitchell; 3. 20-Rocky Magaro; 4. 85-Chad Earnst; 5. 9-Rick Hartwig; 6. 56-Mike Gable; 7. 21-Greg Burd; 8. 7MD-Nathan Renfro; 9. 79-Ed Trump (DNF). Time – 2:43.00

Legends Heat 2 Finish (8 Laps/All Qualify) – 1. 18-Chris Transeau; 2. 93-Travis McClelland; 3. 5-Scott Houdeshell; 4. 8CR-Mason Chaney; 5. 41-Matt Miller; 6. 43-Tony Mrakovich; 7. 119-Don Leiby; 8. 28-Nathan Ottensmeyer. Time – 2:40.44

FEATURE (20 Laps) – 1. 5M-Dan Furman; 2. 33-Michael Goodwin; 3. 51-Jeremy Stremmel; 4. 1J-Eric Johnson; 5. 94-Dalton Myers; 6. 60-Aaron Beard; 7. 40K-David Johnson; 8. 17-Brian Blank, Jr. (DNF); 9. 7M-Craig Wagaman (DNS). No time.

Lap Leaders: Michael Goodwin (1-12), Dan Furman (13-20)

Street Stocks Heat 1 Finish (8 Laps/All Qualify) – 1. 33-Michael Goodwin; 2. 1J-Eric Johnson; 3. 5M-Dan Furman; 4. 94-Dalton Myers; 5. 7M-Craig Wagaman (DNS). Time – 2:44.57

Street Stocks Heat 2 Finish (8 Laps/All Qualify) – 1. 40K-David Johnson; 2. 51-Jeremy Stremmel; 3. 60-Aaron Beard; 4. 17-Brian Blank, Jr. Time – 2:57.16

No comments: