Saturday, June 06, 2015


Friday June 5, 2015
Trail-Way Speedway
Hanover, PA
For Immediate Release


Sat., June 6, 2015 – A.M.A. Motorcycle Short Track (4th Annual Armin Hostetter Classic) (Gates open at 3:00 p.m., Heats at 6:00 p.m.)
Fri., June 12, 2015 – Precise Racing Series Limited Late Models, 600cc Micro Sprints, Limited Stocks, Street Stocks (Gates open at 5:30 p.m., Heats at 7:45 p.m.)

HOLBROOK CLAIMS FIRST CAREER WIN IN TRAIL-WAY 358 SPRINT FEATURE;                                          

HANOVER, PA (6/5/2015) – David Holbrook saw near disaster become the race-winning move in scoring the first sprint car win of his career at Trail-Way Speedway Friday night.

The former micro-sprint driver from Parkton, MD started beside polesitter Cody Fletcher and chased him for the first 20 non-stop laps of Friday’s 358 sprint car feature before the leaders collided with a lapped car on the backstretch of lap 21, resulting in a Fletcher flip and stacking up the five cars racing for the lead.

Fletcher was uninjured, but done for the night.  Although all the leaders made contact with each other, no one else stopped and the cars running second through fifth became the cars running first through fourth.

Despite breaking a right rear shock, Holbrook assumed the lead for the restart and held off the challenges of hard-charger Brad McClelland over the final four laps to claim the win by .34 seconds. 

“I had to hold the brake down and hit the gas at the same time,” said Holbrook upon exiting the Turning Stone Resort & Casino #77 in victory lane, “I didn’t know if I could hold Brad off, but it all worked out.”

“I want to thank Mike Paris for giving me a chance to race this car,” added Hobrook, “Without him, I’d still be racing micros.”
Crossing third was Dwight Leppo, with seventh-starting Isaac Sneeringer and Seth Kearchner completing the top five.

Qualifiers for the 11 “358” sprint cars were won by Sneeringer and McClelland.

Mike Rutherford started on the pole and won the 25-lap Mason-Dixon 270cc micro-sprint feature.  But he didn’t lead every lap.  Rutherford led the first lap, gave way to outside front row starter Nik Gower on lap two, and then reclaimed the race lead when Gower lost a motor while exiting turn two of lap 11. 

He led the rest of the way, crossing .87 seconds ahead of Cory Myers.  Brian Marriott, Mike Boer, and Tyler Ulrich rounded out the top five.

Heats for the 28 micros were won by Rutherford, Myers, and Steven Cox, with Brent Bull taking the consolation event.
 Matt Chronister came from 12th starting spot to score his second win in-a-row in the 15-lap limited stock feature.  Chronister has only finished five races this year, and has won four.

Chronister came through the field to take the lead from his brother Jason on lap nine and passed under the checkered flag 3.31 seconds ahead of Robert Nicklow, with ninth-starting Kyle Rohrbaugh, Jason Chronister, and Shannon Weaver finishing third through fifth.

Heats for the 16 limited stocks were won by Jason Chronister and Nicklow.

Joe Brown was the winner of the 15-lap Classic Car feature.  Brown started on the pole, chased Steve Cantwell for the first 12 laps, then slid under Cantwell for the race lead in turn two of lap 13.  Cantwell settled for second, with Neal Reamer finishing third.

The lone qualifier for the six Classic Cars was also won by Brown.

Tomorrow night, Saturday June 6th, Trail-Way hosts A.M.A. Motorcycle Short Track racing with the “4th Annual Armin Hostetter Classic.” Gates open at 3:00 p.m. and heats begin at 6:00 p.m.

Next Friday, June 12th, Trail-Way swings back into action with the Precise Race Series Limited Late Models, Limited Stocks, Street Stocks and the 600cc Micro Sprints. Gates open at 5:30 p.m. with heats beginning at 7:45 p.m.

Friday June 5, 2015
Trail-Way Speedway
Hanover, PA
For Immediate Release


FEATURE (25 Laps) – 1. 77-David Holbrook; 2. 6R-Brad McClelland; 3. 4-Dwight Leppo; 4. 19Z-Isaac Sneeringer; 5. 30-Seth Kearchner; 6. 19D-Wyatt Hinkle; 7. 90-Jordan Givler; 8. 2-Denny Gross; 9. 10-Zach Euculano (DNF); 10. 6S-Bill Sherman (DNF); 11. 66A-Cody Fletcher (DNF). No time.

Lap Leaders: Cody Fletcher (1-20), David Holbrook (21-25)

358 Sprint Heat 1 Finish (10 Laps/All Qualify) – 1. 19Z-Isaac Sneeringer; 2. 10-Zach Euculano; 3. 30-Seth Kearchner; 4. 77-David Holbrook; 5. 2-Denny Gross; 6. 6S-Bill Sherman. Time – 2:25.03

358 Sprint Heat 2 Finish (10 Laps/All Qualify) – 1. 6R-Brad McClelland; 2. 19D-Wyatt Hinkle; 3. 4-Dwight Leppo; 4. 66A-Cody Fletcher; 5. 90-Jordan Givler. Time – 2:26.97


FEATURE (15 Laps) – 1. 81-Matt Chronister; 2. 18-Robert Nicklow; 3. 12-Kyle Rohrbaugh; 4. 38-Jason Chronister; 5. 5-Shannon Weaver; 6. 99-Cody Klinedinst; 7. 94-Kenny Startzman; 8. 41-Robert Wellman; 9. 16-Julio Perez; 10. 39-Shane Miller; 11. 92-Terry Hartlaub; 12. 01-Chelsea Weaver; 13. 20-Ricky Weaver, Jr. (DNF); 14. 54-Tyler Gastley (DNF); 15. 1-Sarah Redmond (DNF); 16. 72-Donald Hopkins, Jr. (DNS). No time.

Lap Leaders: Jason Chronister (1-8), Matt Chronister (9-15)

Limited Stock Heat 1 Finish (6 Laps/All Qualify) – 1. 38-Jason Chronister; 2. 41-Robert Wellman; 3. 39-Shane Miller; 4. 94-Kenny Startzman; 5. 16-Julio Perez; 6. 5-Shannon Weaver; 7. 20-Ricky Weaver, Jr.; 8. 54-Tyler Gastley (DNF). Time – 2:03.37

Limited Stock Heat 2 Finish (6 Laps/All Qualify) – 1. 18-Robert Nicklow; 2. 81-Matt Chronister; 3. 99-Cody Klinedinst; 4. 12-Kyle Rohrbaugh; 5. 1-Sarah Redmond; 6. 01-Chelsea Weaver; 7. 92-Terry Hartlaub; 8. 72-Donald Hopkins, Jr. (DNS). Time – 1:59.13


FEATURE (25 Laps) – 1. 5K-Mike Rutherford ($800); 2. 20-Cory Myers; 3. 18-Brian Marriott; 4. 22-Mike Boer; 5. 42U-Tyler Ulrich; 6. 58-Steven Cox; 7. 4T4-Joe Long, Jr.; 8. 99-Joe Trone, Jr.; 9. 2-Billy Laughman; 10. 6C-Tim McClelland; 11. 25X-Dan Lane; 12. 20H-Eric Heath; 13. 84-Zachary Glass; 14. 43-Brandon McMillion; 15. 46-Cody Stutting; 16. 1B-Brent Bull (DNF); 17. 29C-Jeff Arigo; 18. 8-Jim Still (DNF); 19. 44-Richard Crunkilton (DNF); 20. 64-Levi Peck (DNF); 21. 10X-Nik Gower (DNF); 22. 21-Zachary Cool (DNF); 23. 09-John Horton (DNS).  No time.

Lap Leaders: Mike Rutherford (1), Nik Gower (2-10), Mike Rutherford (11-25)

270 Micros Heat 1 Finish (8 Laps/7 to Qualify) – 1. 5K-Mike Rutherford; 2. 18-Brian Marriott; 3. 8-Jim Still; 4. 4T4-Joe Long, Jr.; 5. 10H-Dave Holler; 6. 44-Richard Crunkilton; 7. 43-Brandon McMillion; 8. 46-Cody Stutting; 9. 82-David Gillpatrick; 10. 20H-Eric Heath (DNF). Time – 2:09.97

270 Micros Heat 2 Finish (8 Laps/7 to Qualify) – 1. 20-Cory Myers; 2. 10X-Nik Gower; 3. 22-Mike Boer; 4. 6C-Tim McClelland; 5. 25X-Dan Lane; 6. 99-Joe Trone, Jr.; 7. 2-Billy Laughman; 8. 1B-Brent Bull; 9. 10-Tim Smith; 10. 09-John Horton. Time – 2:12.84

270 Micros Heat 3 Finish (8 Laps/7 to Qualify) – 1. 58-Steven Cox; 2. 64-Levi Peck; 3. 84-Zachary Glass; 4. 42U-Tyler Ulrich; 5. 23-Tyler Cool; 6. 21-Zachary Cool; 7. 29C-Jeff Arigo; 8. 13X-Jason Stutting (DNF); 9. 4-Jim Myers (DNS). No time.

270 Micros Consolation Finish (5 Laps/3 to Qualify) – 1. 1B-Brent Bull; 2. 20H-Eric Heath; 3. 09-John Horton; 4. 46-Cody Stutting; 5. 13X-Jason Stutting (DNS); 6. 82-David Gillpatrick (DNS); 7. 10-Tim Smith (DNS); 8. 4-Jim Myers (DNS). Time – 1:23.87


FEATURE (15 Laps) – 1. 89-Joe Brown; 2. 20-Steve Cantwell; 3. 73-Neal Reamer; 4. 09-Ron Grove; 5. 07-Charlie Summers; 6. 19R-Roy Denike. Time – 4:56.34

Lap Leaders: Steve Cantwell (1-12), Joe Brown (13-15)

Classic Car Heat 1 Finish (6 Laps/All Qualify) – 1. 89-Joe Brown; 2. 20-Steve Cantwell; 3. 73-Neal Reamer; 4. 07-Charlie Summers; 5. 09-Ron Grove; 6. 19R-Roy Denike. Time – 1:58.56 (Establishes a new 6-lap track record)

No comments: