Saturday, August 29, 2015


HANOVER, PA (8/28/2015) – Two night after his grandfather was recognized at Lincoln Speedway as one of the great mechanics of all-time, Cody Fletcher claimed his second career win in the 25-lap “358” sprint car feature at Trail-Way Speedway. 

And unlike Fletcher’s first career win earlier in the year, Cody’s parents were present to see it.  Also on hand was grandpa Harry Fletcher.

“This feels good!  I’m glad my parents were here tonight,” said Fletcher upon exiting his Fletcher Farms/Rocco’s Pizza & Subs #66A in victory lane, “Dad has been keeping this thing fast and straight.  I knew Zeek (Sneeringer) was back there.  I just had to not goof up.”

Fletcher started beside Sneeringer on the front row and outran the Trail-Way points leader into the first turn.  From there, he led the rest of the way, despite one close call when he made contact with the lapped car of Bob Anderson exiting turn two of lap 12.  A quarter of-a-lap later, Anderson went out of control and rolled into the wall and catch fence on turn three.

“Sorry if I got into Bob,” said Fletcher, “I’ll go talk to him after this.”

Sneeringer ran second the entire way, with hard charger Brad McClelland coming from tenth to finish third, Dwight Leppo coming back from engine problems in his heat to cross fourth, and Chris Frank fifth.

Qualifiers for the ten sprint cars were won by McClelland and Sneeringer.

Hayden Miller ended a two-year win drought and raced to his first career Trail-Way win in the 20-lap  600cc micro-sprint feature.  Like Fletcher in the sprint cars, Miller started on the outside of the front row and led every lap. 

Brad Weber came from sixth starting spot to cross second after catching polesitter Hannah Riser on a lap 12 restart.  Riser settled for third, with 12th starting Travis Scott finishing fourth, and Tyler Walton completing the top five.

Heats for the 15 micros were won by Walton and Weber.

Brian Walls made his first Trail-Way start of the year and scored the win in the 25-lap championship event for street stocks.

Walls started sixth, but a first-lap crash took out points leader Dan Furman, last race winner Michael Goodwin, and Joe Brown.  A restart lineup found Walls in fourth, and he had the lead by the end of the first lap.  His final margin of victory was 2.34 seconds over Matt Wampler, with Jeremy Stremmel, Jim Jacobs, and Zach Myers rounding out the top five.

Although he has several wins in the former thundercar division, it was Walls’ first Trail-Way win in the current street stock division.

Heats for the 14 street stocks were won by Wampler and Goodwin.

Polesitter Steve Clemo started on the pole and held off the repeated challenges of fourth-starting Jim Crocker over the final 16 laps to win the 20-lap feature for Classic Cars.  It was Clemo’s first win of the year and second career win at Trail-Way.

Neal Reamer, Steve Cantwell, and Kurt Welsh crossed third through fifth.

Heats for the 12 Classic Cars were won by Clemo and Reamer.

Tomorrow night, Saturday August 29th, Trail-Way hosts the annual “Junk Car Demolition.” Also on the schedule will be Figure 8, Powder Puff and Limited Stocks in a championship race! Gates open at 4:00 p.m. with heats scheduled to begin at 6:00 p.m.

The following Friday, September 4th, Trail-Way swings back into action with the 358 Sprints in the first leg of the annual “Trail-Way/Lincoln Shootout.” Also scheduled will be the Limited Stocks, Central PA Legends and the Street Stocks. Gates open at 5:30 p.m. with heats beginning at 7:45 p.m.

Friday August 28, 2015
Trail-Way Speedway
Hanover, PA
For Immediate Release


FEATURE (25 Laps) – 1. 66A-Cody Fletcher; 2. 19Z-Isaac Sneeringer; 3. 6R-Brad McClelland; 4. 4-Dwight Leppo; 5. 00X-Chris Frank; 6. 77-David Holbrook; 7. 10-Zach Euculano; 8. 10B-Brandon Noel; 9. 15-Lucas Montgomery (DNF); 10. 81B-Bob Anderson (DNF). No time.

Lap Leaders: Cody Fletcher (1-25)

358 Sprint Heat 1 Finish (10 Laps/All Qualify) – 1. 6R-Brad McClelland; 2. 66A-Cody Fletcher; 3. 00X-Chris Frank; 4. 10B-Brandon Noel; 5. 4-Dwight Leppo (DNF). Time – 2:16.84

358 Sprint Heat 2 Finish (10 Laps/All Qualify) – 1. 19Z-Isaac Sneeringer; 2. 10-Zach Euculano; 3. 15-Lucas Montgomery; 4. 77-David Holbrook; 5. 81B-Bob Anderson. Time – 2:22.97


FEATURE (20 Laps) – 1. 117-Steve Clemo; 2. 12-Jim Crocker; 3. 73-Neal Reamer; 4. 20-Steve Cantwell; 5. 21X-Kurt Welsh; 6. 09-Ron Grove; 7. 29-Shaun Abney; 8. 56-Lance Grove; 9. 89-Joe Brown (DNS). Time – 6:32.88

Lap Leaders: Steve Clemo (1-20)

Classic Car Heat 1 Finish (6 Laps/All Qualify) – 1. 117-Steve Clemo; 2. 09-Ron Grove; 3. 21X-Kurt Welsh; 4. 20-Steve Cantwell; 5. 29-Shaun Abney; 6. 07-Charlie Summers (DNS). Time – 2:40.31

Classic Car Heat 2 Finish (6 Laps/All Qualify) – 1. 73-Neal Reamer; 2. 12-Jim Crocker; 3. 89-Joe Brown; 4. 56-Lance Grove; 5. 4-Charlie Weaver (DNS); 6. 21-Kevin Marsh (DNS). Time – 2:39.10


FEATURE (25 Laps) – 1. 1M-Brian Walls; 2. 100-Matt Wampler; 3. 51-Jeremy Stremmel; 4. 4J-Jim Jacobs; 5. 94M-Zach Myers; 6. 5M-Dan Furman; 7. 60-Aaron Beard; 8. 17-Brian Blank, Jr.; 9. 6M-Cody Souders; 10. 94-Dalton Myers (DNF); 11. 28-Kelly Seal III (DNF); 12. 2-Chad Stine (DNF); 13. 33-Michael Goodwin (DNF); 14. 89-Joe Brown (DNF). No time.

Lap Leaders: Brian Walls (1-25)

Street Stock Heat 1 Finish (8 Laps/All Qualify) – 1. 100-Matt Wampler; 2. 51-Jeremy Stremmel; 3. 1M-Brian Walls; 4. 4J-Jim Jacobs; 5. 60-Aaron Beard; 6. 17-Brian Blank, Jr.; 7. 94-Dalton Myers. Time – 2:42.34

Street Stock Heat 2 Finish (8 Laps/All Qualify) – 1. 33-Michael Goodwin; 2. 89-Joe Brown; 3. 5M-Dan Furman; 4. 2-Chad Stine; 5. 94M-Zach Myers (DNF); 6. 28-Kelly Seal III (DNF); 7. 6M-Cody Souders (1 lap down). Time – 2:43.88


FEATURE (20 Laps) – 1. 11H-Hayden Miller; 2. 17-Brad Weber; 3. 14K-Hannah Riser; 4. 07-Travis Scott; 5. 14T-Tyler Walton; 6. 880-Kameron Morral; 7. 42K-Travis Keiser; 8. 15S-Tanner Gray; 9. 12-Megan Allen; 10. 56-Jake Frye; 11. 4R-Zane Rudisill; 12. 93-Cory Lawler; 13. 13-Bo Gordon, Jr. (DNF); 14. 84-Colton Laughman (DNS); 15. 00-Christian Reed (DNS). No time.

Lap Leaders: Hayden Miller (1-20)

600 Micro Heat 1 Finish (8 Laps/All Qualify) – 1. 14T-Tyler Walton; 2. 12-Megan Allen; 3. 880-Kameron Morral; 4. 11H-Hayden Miller; 5. 42K-Travis Keiser; 6. 56-Jake Frye; 7. 84-Colton Laughman; 8. 93-Cory Lawler. No time.

600 Micro Heat 2 Finish (8 Laps/All Qualify) – 1. 17-Brad Weber; 2. 15S-Tanner Gray; 3. 07-Travis Scott; 4. 14K-Hannah Riser; 5. 4R-Zane Rudisill; 6. 13-Bo Gordon, Jr. (DNF); 7. 00-Christian Reed (DNS). Time – 2:05.68

No comments: