Sunday, August 16, 2015

Heimbach Drives To 10-Second Port Royal Sprints Victory, Miller Takes Lates Econos to Fedder, Zimmerman gets All American Outlaws


Port Royal – Blane Heimbach of Selinsgrove drove away from the sprint car field to record a massive margin of victory at Port Royal Speedway on Saturday night, taking the win over Lance Dewease by 10.155 seconds.

In the super late model main, Jeff Miller of Huntingdon wired the field for the 22-lap win over Tim Smith Jr.

And in the econo late model main it was Tim Fedder picking up the win for his second of the year in the division.

Curt Zimmerman won the All American Outlaws main to close out the night. 

Heimbach and Dewease lined up third and fourth for the start of the 25-lap 410 sprint car main with Joey Hershey and Curt Stroup on the front row.

Heimbach struck early when the race began, driving by Stroup and bursting inside of Hershey for control in the first corner as the race took the green flag.

But Hershey served notice he wasn’t so easy to turn away when he came back on Heimbach out of the second corner to regain the point and pull Heimbach back to the stripe.

Heimbach then chased Hershey lap after lap with the pair running two distinct grooves, Heimbach glued to the bottom and Hershey racing around the top of the track.

On the fifth tour, Hershey’s margin over Heimbach at the stripe was just .078 seconds and on the ensuing lap Heimbach got out front to begin his run at the point.

He entered the backmarkers on the ninth tour in what would turn out to be a non-stop affair while Hershey ran a good race in second with Dewease racing third.

Dewease finally got around Hershey with nine laps to go but failed to close up the advantage that Heimbach had amassed by that point, which was 4.074 seconds.

Instead, the Selinsgrove driver jetted away for the win, darting through traffic to the finish to record his 10th career victory at the oval and first since the season opener in 2014. 

Dewease settled for second, over 10 seconds back while seventh starter Ryan Taylor drove to the front for third with a challenging Steve Buckwalter in fourth.

Hershey fell to fifth.

Sixth through 10th went to 19th starter Mike Erdley, Dylan Cisney, Dave Sammons, Brock Zearfoss and Stroup.

Heats for the 20-car field went to Sammons and Hershey.

Miller started on the pole of the 22-lap super late model main and controlled the entire affair.

Jason Schmidt raced in second for the first half of the event before seventh starter Tim Smith Jr. motored by for the spot. 

However Smith was never able to drive down any distance on Miller, instead finishing 3.280 seconds behind at the checkers.

The victory was the third of Miller’s Port Royal career.

Point leader Mike Lupfer rode home third followed by Schmidt and Trent Brenneman.

Sixth through 10th went to Patrick Bryner, Tim Wilson, Mitch Hack, Andy Haus and Matt Parks.

Heats went to Haus and Brenneman.

Jared Fulkroad led the first five laps of the 18-lap econo late model main before giving way to Tim Fedder on a restart.

And from that point on it was all Fedder at the front.

Fulkroad hung in for second until two laps to go when he fell off the pace, giving way to Andrew Yoder for the finish.

Harold Ranck was third followed by point leader Eric Irvin and Todd Snook.

Heats went to Fedder and Yoder.

Rick Hulson led the first 12 laps of the 20-lap All American Outlaws feature before Kurt Zimmerman took over to the finish.

Hulson settled for second followed by Fred Cullum, Dylan Keim and Justin Cullum. 

Race Results:
Feature Finishes

410 sprints, 25 laps: 1. Blane Heimbach, 2. Lance Dewease, 3. Ryan Taylor, 4. Steve Buckwalter, 5. Joey Hershey, 6. Mike Erdley, 7. Dylan Cisney, 8. Dave Sammons, 9. Brock Zearfoss, 10. Curt Stroup, 11. Rick Lafferty, 12. Frankie Herr, 13. Trenton Scheaffer, 14. Scott Wilson, 15. Anthony Fiore, 16. Phil Walter, 17. Daryl Stimeling, 18. Todd Berkheimer

DNS: Vince Snyder, Wayne Dadetto

Late models, 22 laps: 1. Jeff Miller, 2. Tim Smith Jr., 3. Mike Lupfer, 4. Jason Schmidt, 5. Trent Brenneman, 6. Patrick Bryner, 7. Tim Wilson, 8. Mitch Hack, 9. Andy Haus, 10. Matt Parks, 11. Jim Bernheisel, 12. Scott Flickinger, 13. Eric Zembower, 14. Steve Bailor, 15. Daulton Biegler, 16. Mike Mort, 17. Chuck Haydt Jr.

Econo late models, 18 laps: 1. Tim Fedder, 2. Andrew Yoder, 3. Harold Ranck, 4. Eric Irvin, 5. Todd Snook, 6. Dave Leidy, 7. Jason Davis, 8. Jason Nace, 9. Curt Dunn, 10. Garrett Gray, 11. Chase Bowsman, 12. Jared Fulkroad, 13. Corey Kepner

DNS: Shaun Miller, Devin Hart, Troy Miller

All American Outlaws, 20 laps: 1. Curt Zimmerman, 2. Rick Hulson, 3. Fred Cullum, 4. Dylan Keim, 5. Justin Cullum, 6. Bryan Green, 7. Gary Moreland, 8. Tim Stern, 9. Jeff Mccauley, 10. David Egge, 11. Jim Minter, 12. Tony Jorda, 13. Joe Davis, 14. Randy Doty


No comments: