Tuesday, August 25, 2015

Hodnett Takes Checkers over Abreu at at SSP on Sunday Night

Newberrytown, PA (August 23, 2015) – Greg Hodnett of Thomasville took the checkers in the 410 Sprint Car 25 lapper in the Sunday Night Sprint Car Special at the Susquehanna Speedway Park.  Grantville’s Doug Hammaker collected the 358 Sprint Car 20-lap feature race.

By virtue of a number one pill inversion, the two heat race winners Danny Dietrich and Greg Hodnett brought the field to the green.  Hodnettt grabbed the early lead over Hodnett with California’s Rico Abreu close behind in third.  Two cautions midway through the race slowed the field, but the running order remained the same on the restarts with Hodnett setting the pace.  With one lap to go, Hodnett encountered lapped traffic, giving Dietrich a shot at the lead.  On the final circuit, Hodnett went low with Dietrich taking the high line.  Dietrich made contact with the outside guardrail, bringing out the caution flag and setting up a one-lap race to the finish between Hodnett, Abreu and Kyle Moody.  On the restart, Hodnett continued to lead and took the checkers over Abreau.  Moddy settled for a third place podium finish at the end.  Austin Hogue came across the finish line in fourth, followed by Brent Marks in fifth.    

In the 20-lap 358 Sprint Car feature, polesitter Doug Hammaker took the lead and began to set a blistering pace with Brad McClelland and Jeff Halligan trying to chase him down.  A caution with four laps remaining brought McClelland to the rear bumper of the leader.  On the restart, Wyatt Hinkle flipped in turn 1 & 2 bringing out the red flag.  Once the race restarted, Hammaker continued to lead to the finish, taking his first SSP win of the season.  McClelland finished second, followed by Halligan in third.  Matt Campbell and Lucas Montgomery finished fourth and fifth places respectively.  Doug Hammaker and Halligan were the heat race winners.

Friday Night, August 28, the ninth round of the Summer Shoot-Out Series will take place at the Outback Track featuring Quarter Midgets, Karts and Adult Speedcars.  The pit gates will open 5:45 p.m. with a driver’s meeting at 7:20 p.m.  Open practice begins at 7:00 p.m. and racing action begins at 7:30 p.m.  The entry fees for each class will be $20.00 per entry for drivers with the seasonal (Spring/Summer) license.  Pit pass fees for the driver are included in the entry fee.  Non-license driver’s entry fees will be $25.00.  Participants may enter more than one class on a raceday ($12.00 for each additional class).  Trophies will be awarded to the top three in each class regardless of class entry count.  No participants will be denied racing as SSP will make every effort to define a class for all drivers who wish to compete.

Pit pass prices for non-drivers at the Outback Track will be $8.00 for everyone ages 18 & older; Teens & Children ages 11 – 17 are $5.00; Children 10 years of age and under are $3.00.  Ages 2 & under are admitted free.   

Racing action returns to the Big Track at SSP on Saturday night, August 29 with the final Double Figure 8 Race of the season.  Racing action will also include the BRC Late Models, Street Stocks, Xtreme Stock Cars, Road Warriors, Mini Vans and the PA Sprint Series.  The EMMR Vintage Cars on the original schedule was an error and they will appear on Saturday night, September 5.   

On Saturday, the pit gates will open at 4:30 p.m. Grandstand gates will open at 5:00 p.m.  Track Prep laps begin at 6:30 p.m. with qualifying races at 7:00 p.m. followed by consolation races and feature events.   General Admission Grandstand ticket prices for Saturday night are Adults (ages 18-59) $14.00; Young Adults (ages 11-17) & Senior Adults (60 & Older) $12.00; Children (10 & under) are free.  Pit pass prices are $25.00 with a reduced price of $22.00 for all pit competitor license holders.  The minimum age requirement to purchase a pit pass is 12 years of age with a copy of a birth certificate is required for all ages 12 to 14.  

The next Wednesday night Test & Tune will be on Wednesday, September 2.  The gates will open at 5:00 p.m. with practice sessions rotating for each class from 6:00 p.m. to 9:00 p.m.  The cost is $14.00 per person for pit passes and a $20.00 fee for each racecar entering the pit area ($34.00 per car & driver combination).  Gates will open at 5:00 p.m. with open track time from 6:00 p.m. to 9:00 p.m. by class.  Each session will be 6 – 8 laps per session.  The grandstands are open and free to the public.  Each class will receive 4 to 5 rounds of 6/8 laps each or more if time permits.   The main concession stand will also be open throughout the night.  

Also on Wednesday night, September 2, there will an open practice session for quarter midgets, karts and Adult Speedcars at the Outback Track from 6:30 p.m. to 9:00 p.m. under the lights.  The gates will open at 5:30 p.m. with open practice from 6:30 p.m. to 9:00 p.m.  The cost will be $20.00 per driver with no charge for anyone else entering the grandstand and “cold pit” areas.  All Outback Track participants should enter the pits from the Kise Mill Road entrance behind turn 2 of the “Big Track.”

The 410 Sprint Cars will return to SSP on Sunday, September 20.  The start time is 7:00 p.m. for the event.      
The Susquehanna Speedway Park is located off I-83 to exit 32, then 1.4 miles NW on SR382 to York Road, then 1.3 miles south.  For more information, contact the speedway offices at (717) 292-1696 or visit online at  On raceday, use the track phone at (717) 938-9170 for up-to-date information at the “Big Track” and the “Outback Track.”

Susquehanna Speedway Park “Big Track” Race Results from Sunday, August 23, 2015
410 Sprint Cars Feature (25 laps): 1. Greg Hodnett; 2. Rico Abreu; 3. Kyle Moody; 4. Austin Hogue; 5. Brent Marks; 6. Lance Dewease; 7. Jordan Givler; 8. Brian Carber; 9. Anthony Macri; 10. Brad Howard; 11. Blane Heimbach; 12. Danny Deitrich; 13. Justin Barger; 14. Chase Dietz; 15. Bob Howard; 16. Mark Smith.      
FEATURE LAP LEADERS: Hodnett (1-25).
HEAT RACE WINNERS: Dietrich and Hodnett.  

358 Sprint Cars Feature (20 laps): 1. Doug Hammaker; 2. Brad McClelland; 3. Jeff
Halligan; 4. Matt Campbell; 5. Lucas Montgomery; 6. Todd Reed; 7. Russell Hammaker; 8. Kyle Abrahims; 9. Leah Starner; 10. Wyatt Hinkle; 11. Trey Hivner; 12. Brandin Ort.    
FEATURE LAP LEADERS: D. Hammaker (1-20).
HEAT RACE WINNERS: D. Hammaker and Halligan.

No comments: