Monday, September 21, 2015

Lucas Wolfe Takes Lead From Dewease For Second Williams Grove Sprints Win Steve Buckwalter scores ARDC Midgets


Mechanicsburg – Lucas Wolfe took the lead from Lance Dewease and drove to his second sprint car win of the season at Williams Grove Speedway on Friday night.

Wolfe pocketed $4,180 for the victory including lap and bonus money.

Steve Buckwalter scored in the 20-lap ARDC Midget main to close the night.

The highly competitive 410 sprint main saw the red flag appear on the first lap when Pat Cannon got out of shape while challenging leader Tim Glatfalter in the third corner. 

Cannon’s racer ended up against the outside rail while also collecting the front running machines of Brent Marks, Chase Dietz and others. 

Glatfelter restarted with the lead but his run there was short as one-time winner Austin Hogue throttled around the outside and into control on the restart.

Lance Dewease, who restarted third, drove to second with three away and immediately began challenging Hogue for the lead, taking it with four away in the 25 lapper.

Glatfelter then stopped with five down and slowed the pace again with eighth starter Wolfe sitting third for the restart.

Wolfe had disposed of Hogue for second on the restart and was less than a second behind Dewease when another yellow flag unfurled with eight laps down.

Dewease kept Wolfe at bay when green reappeared but Dewease failed to slip away as Danny Dietrich and Greg Hodnett began swapping the third spot. 

Dewease’s lead of just over a second was wiped out with the advent of another yellow flag on the 11th tour and again, he kept Wolfe at bay at the new green.

However on a final restart with 11 laps to go, Wolfe provided more of a challenge and Dewease could only hold Wolfe off until the 18th circuit when the Mechanicsburg native blasted underneath for control in the first corner.

Wolfe then began pulling away from the field once he got control as Dietrich and Hodnett continued their battle.

In the end Wolfe took the checkers by 3.308 seconds over Dewease, Dietrich, Hodnett and Brian Montieth.

Sixth through 10th went to 17th starter Freddie Rahmer, Cory Haas, Hogue, Rodney Westhafer and Glenndon Forsythe.

Heats went to Wolfe, Hodnett and Dewease.

Shawn Jackson controlled the first 5 laps of the ARDC Midget main before Tommy Kunsman took over.

But on the move from the 12th starting spot was Steve Buckwalter, who was up to fourth by just the completion of the sixth tour. 

Buckwalter moved around PJ Gargiulo for third with eight down, then took second from Jackson a lap later before getting underneath Kunsman for the win with six laps to go.

Steve Drevicki finished second followed by Kunsman, Gargiulo and Brenden Bright. 

Heats went to Brett Wanner and Brett Arndt. 

September 18, 2015 Feature Finishes:

410 sprints, 25 laps: 1. Lucas Wolfe, 2. Lance Dewease, 2. Danny Dietrich, 4. Greg Hodnett, 5. Brian Montieth, 6. Freddie Rahmer, 7. Cory Haas, 8. Austin Hogue, 9. Rodney Westhafer, 10. Glenndon Forsythe, 11. Curt Stroup, 12. Kyle Moody, 13. Nicole Bower, 14. Jim Shuster, 15. Troy Fraker, 16. Jac Haudenschild, 17. Brent Marks, 18. Mallie Shuster, 19. Tim Glatfelter, 20. Pat Cannon, 21. Chase Dietz
ARDC Midgets, 20 laps: 1. Steve Buckwalter, 2. Steve Drevicki, 3. Tommy Kunsman, 4. PJ Gargiulo, 5. Brenden Bright, 6. Brett Arndt, 7. Ryan Greth, 8. Brett Wanner, 9. Bruce Buckwalter Jr., 10. Brian Gilmore, 11. Shawn Jackson, 12. Jamie Speers, 13. Jason Rice, 14. Trevor Kobylarz, 15. Danny Stratton, 16. Jim Radney

No comments: