Saturday, April 16, 2016


HANOVER, PA (4/15/2016) –For all he’s accomplished in 358 sprint car racing the past few years, including the 2015 Central PA Point Series championship, Carlisle’s Doug Hammaker had never won at Trail-Way Speedway.
That is, until Friday night.

“This is the hardest place to win,” said Hammaker after driving the family Heavy Equipment Loaders and Parts/Hammaker’s Automotive #66 to his first career Trail-Way win in the season opener for 358 sprint cars, “I’ve been wanting to get one here, and quite frankly I have sucked here.”

An inversion of nine pulled by first heat winner Mike Bittinger put Hammaker on the pole for the start, and although he led every lap, he had to fight off the ongoing challenges of Dwight Leppo the entire race.

“I was trying to make my car as wide as I could, and Dwight kept trying to get around me,” said Hammaker, “The outside started working for him, so I decided to put on my big boy pants and move up a little.”

After drawing the highest possible inversion for the feature, Bittinger got together with Wyatt Hinkle and flipped exiting turn two of lap two.  Bittinger was uninjured but done for the night.

Leppo started third when two drivers in front of him opted for the rear, got by Brandon Noel for second on lap two, and ran there the rest of the way.

Third through fifth were Jeff Halligan, hard charger Cody Fletcher (who started 11th), and Noel.  Completing the top ten were Zach Euculano, Dave Thrush, Randy Whisler, Hinkle, and Steven Kisamore (in his first ever sprint car start).
Heats for the 18 “358” sprint cars were won by Bittinger, Thrush, and Leppo.

It was also a first career Trail-Way win for Levi Peck of Orrstown in the 270c micro-sprint feature, which was shortened by three laps when the division reached its maximum number of cautions (eighth).

Bill Laughman, Cory Myers, Brian Marriott, and Chad Myers completed the top five..
Qualifiers for the 25 270s were won by Laughman, Cory Myers, and Peck.

Ron Grove made it three first-time winners on the night by claiming the shortened 15-lap feature for Classic Cars.  Grove started on the pole and held off the constant challenges of Neal Reamer and Joe Brown for the win.  Grove also won the lone heat for the nine Classic Cars in attendance.

Chad Weaver, who also raced in the 270 micros, picked up the win in the 15-lap limited stock feature. Weaver assumed the lead twice in the race when different drivers both suffered mechanical problems while leading.  First it was polesitter Ricky Weaver, Jr. who slowed to a stop on lap eight.  Matt Chronister caught Weaver one lap later, but then pulled up lame entering turn one of the final lap.

Weaver was there to take the win, followed by Justin Wagaman, Robbie Carroll, Shane Miller, and Travis Brown.
Heats were won by Ricky Weaver, Jr., Chad Weaver, and Jason Chronister.

Next Friday, April 22, Trail-Way swings back into action with the Hoosier Tire Mid-Atlantic 358 Sprint Cars. Joining the 358’s will be the 600 Micro Sprints, Limited Stocks, and Central PA Legends. Gates open at 5:30 p.m. and heats begin at 7:45 p.m.

For all the latest news and related information from Trail-Way Speedway, fans are reminded to visit the speedway website at The complete story and agate from each race night is posted shortly after the final checkered flag.

Friday April 15, 2016
Trail-Way Speedway
Hanover, PA
For Immediate Release


FEATURE (25 Laps) – 1. 66-Doug Hammaker; 2. 4-Dwight Leppo; 3. 41-Jeff Halligan; 4. 66A-Cody Fletcher (Hard Charger); 5. 10B-Brandon Noel; 6. 10-Zach Euculano; 7. 22T-Dave Thrush; 8. 64-Randy Whisler; 9. 19D-Wyatt Hinkle; 10. 77K-Steven Kisamore; 11. 30-Seth Kearchner (DNF); 12. 39-JB Cunningham, Jr. (DNF); 13. 17-George Streaker, Jr. (DNF); 14. 77-David Holbrook (DNF); 15. 59T-Tim Stallings (DNF); 16. 12-Mike Bittinger (DNF); 17. 90-Jordan Givler (DNF); 18. 99Y-Shane Yost (DNS). No time.

Lap Leaders: Doug Hammaker (1-25)

358 Sprint Heat 1 Finish (10 Laps/All Qualify) – 1. 12-Mike Bittinger; 2. 41-Jeff Halligan; 3. 90-Jordan Givler; 4. 10-Zach Euculano; 5. 59T-Tim Stallings (DNF); 6. 39-JB Cunningham, Jr. (DNF). Time – 2:22.81

358 Sprint Heat 2 Finish (10 Laps/All Qualify) – 1. 22T-Dave Thrush; 2. 17-George Streaker, Jr.; 3. 10B-Brandon Noel; 4. 66A-Cody Fletcher; 5. 19D-Wyatt Hinkle; 6. 99Y-Shane Yost (DNS). Time – 2:33.44

358 Sprint Heat 3 Finish (10 Laps/All Qualify) – 1. 4-Dwight Leppo; 2. 77-David Holbrook; 3. 66-Doug Hammaker; 4. 30-Seth Kearchner; 5. 64-Randy Whisler; 6. 77K-Steven Kisamore. Time – 2:23.53


FEATURE (15 Laps) – 1. 2-Chad Weaver; 2. 30-Justin Wagaman; 3. 69-Robbie Carroll; 4. 39-Shane Miller; 5. 47-Travis Brown; 6. 94-Joseph Bowling; 7. 90-Lee Redman; 8. 96-Sarah Redmond; 9. 45-Jordan Spangler; 10. 46-Joshua Spangler; 11. 16-Julio Perez (DNF); 12. 81-Matt Chronister (DNF); 13. 98-Daniel Hamm, Jr. (DNF); 14. 29-Mike Wolf (DNF); 15. 92-Terry Hartlaub (DNF); 16. 64-Charles Millender (DNF); 17. 21-Ricky Weaver, Jr. (DNF); 18. 32-Jeff Foster (DNF); 19. 38-Jason Chronister (DNF); 20. 23-Boomer Teague (DNF); 21. 3-Chelsea Weaver (DNS). No time.

Lap Leaders: Ricky Weaver (1-7); Chad Weaver (8); Matt Chronister (9-14); Chad Weaver (15)

Limited Stock Heat 1 Finish (6 Laps/All Qualify) – 1. 21-Ricky Weaver; 2. 81-Matt Chronister; 3. 16-Julio Perez; 4. 29-Mike Wolf; 5. 32-Jeff Foster; 6. 98-Daniel Hamm; 7. 3-Chelsea Weaver (DNF). Time – 2:04.06

Limited Stock Heat 2 Finish (6 Laps/All Qualify) – 1. 2-Chad Weaver; 2. 30-Justin Wagaman; 3. 96-Sarah Redmond; 4. 90-Lee Redman; 5. 47-Travis Brown; 6. 46-Joshua Spangler (DNF); 7. 45-Jordan Spangler (DNF). Time – 2:06.75

Limited Stock Heat 3 Finish (6 Laps/All Qualify) – 1. 38-Jason Chronister; 2. 92-Terry Hartlaub; 3. 69-Robbie Carroll; 4. 39-Shane Miller; 5. 64-Charles Millender; 6. 94-Joseph Bowling; 7. 23-Boomer Teague. Time – 2:01.07


FEATURE (15 Laps) – 1. 09-Ron Grove; 2. 73-Neal Reamer; 3. 89-Joe Brown; 4. X-Jim Rost; 5. 9-Dylan Brown; 6. 4-Dorsey Weaver; 7. 56-Lance Grove (DNF); 8. 100-Jack Yingling (DNF); 9. 12-Jim Crocker (DNS).

Lap Leaders: Ron Grove (1-15)

Classic Car Heat 1 Finish (8 Laps/All Qualify) – 1. 09-Ron Grove; 2. 73-Neal Reamer; 3. 4-Dorsey Weaver; 4. 9-Dylan Brown; 5. 56-Lance Grove; 6. X-Jim Rost; 7. 12-Jim Crocker (DNF); 8. 100-Jack Yingling (DNF); 9. 89-Joe Brown (DNF). Time – 2:43.47


FEATURE (17 Laps – Shortened due to time limit reached) – 1. 64-Levi Peck; 2. 2-Billy Laughman; 3. 20-Cory Myers; 4. 18-Brian Marriott; 5. 32-Chad Myers; 6. 20X-Craig Myers; 7. 9-Jim Young; 8. 8-Jim Still; 9. 99-Joe Trone, Jr.; 10. 22-Mike Boer; 11. 43M-Brandon McMillion; 12. 32M-Shaun McIntyre; 13. 10H-Dave Hollar (DNF); 14. 88-Chad Weaver (DNF); 15. 44-Richard Crunkilton (DNF); 16. 29C-Jeff Arigo (DNF); 17. 58-Steven Cox (DNF); 18. 10-Nik Gower (DNF); 19. 5-Shannon Weaver (DNF); 20. 7S-Mike Sherman (DNF); 21. 64K-Kane Eichenlaub (DNF); 22. 4T4-Joe Long, Jr. (DNF); 23. 84-Zachary Glass (DNF); 24. 09-John Horton (DNS); 25. 6-Tim McClelland (DNS). No time.

Lap Leaders: Levi Peck (1-17)

270 Micro Sprint Heat 1 Finish (8 Laps/All Qualify) – 1. 2-Billy Laughman; 2. 18-Brian Marriott; 3. 8-Jim Still; 4. 20X-Craig Myers; 5. 7S-Mike Sherman; 6. 5-Shannon Weaver; 7. 22-Mike Boer; 8. 88-Chad Weaver (DNF); 9. 32M-Shaun McIntyre (DNS). No time.

270 Micro Sprint Heat 2 Finish (8 Laps/All Qualify) – 1. 20-Cory Myers; 2. 32-Chad Myers; 3. 99-Joe Trone, Jr.; 4. 09-John Horton; 5. 44-Richard Crunkilton; 6. 84-Zachary Glass (DNF); 7. 43M-Brandon McMillion (DNF); 8. 58-Steven Cox (DNS). No time.

270 Micro Sprint Heat 3 Finish (8 Laps/All Qualify) – 1. 64-Levi Peck; 2. 10-Nik Gower; 3. 9-Jim Young; 4. 4T4-Joe Long, Jr.; 5. 10H-Dave Hollar; 6. 64K-Kane Eichenlaub; 7. 29C-Jeff Arigo; 8. 6-Tim McClelland (DNF). Time – 2:11.78

No comments: