Monday, June 20, 2016

Franek Wins Thrilling 360 Patriot Sprint Whitcomb Memorial Kissinger & Shultz Go Wheel To Wheel For Top Finishes

SELINSGROVE, Pa. -- Selinsgrove Speedway has been the Achilles heel for Davie Franek in 2016. He has been strong on the United Racing Club 360 sprint car tour all season but ironically it took a Patriot Sprint Tour event for him to really shine at the Snyder County half-mile oval Saturday night.

Franek, of Wantage, N.J., showed the way early on in the Newville Family of Companies 360 sprint car Joe Whitcomb Memorial with the night's quick timer and most recent feature winner Ryan Kissinger in chase. Kissinger made a move in lap traffic to pull even with Franek, but it was to no avail as Franek pulled away to the victory. It was Franek's first win of the year at Selinsgrove Speedway but the tenth of his career.

Jason Shultz ran by Kissinger on the closing laps to take the runner up spot. He never had a chance at the race lead though as the laps wound down. Mark Smith and Eric Tomecek finished out the top five starters.
Patriot Sprint Tour point leader Jared Zimbardi finished in sixth  followed by Cody Keller, Derek Locke, Curt Michael, and Dane Lorenc.

360 sprint car heat races were taken by Ryan Kissinger, Joe Trenca, and Jason Schultz for the Patriot Sprint Tour.  The night’s fast time  award for the 360 Sprint Cars was presented by Fast Tees in memory of
Jim Nace. The award went to Ryan Kissinger with a time of 17.792 and  an average speed of 107 mph.

Larry Kelleher was the IBEW Local 1319 Union Hard Charger.

Danny Snyder showed the way early on in the Jeff's Auto Body & Recycling Center Super Late Models. Snyder looked very strong before a yellow flag on lap seven evened things back up and Dave Zona began to shine. Zona made a bold move around the outside on a restart to grab second and then a timely yellow flag gave him an equalized restart.

A big wreck ensued on the restart taking out every car from sixth to tenth except Jeff Rine. Rine would use his second chance at life in this race to the best of his ability and shoot into third on the restart. Zona took the race lead away from Snyder on lap 11 before Rine wrestled it away on lap 13.

Zona kept pace with Rine for the next couple of laps before driving away on his way to his 99th career Selinsgrove feature win. The battle for second was a three car battle all the way to the checkered flag with Zona holding off Snyder and Matt Cochran.

Steve Campbell rounded out the top five starters followed by Bryan Bernheisel, Donnie Schick, Coleby Frye, Jason Smith, and Jim Yoder. Late Model heat races went to Bryan Bernheisel, Tony Adams, and Danny Snyder.

AJ Hoffman started from the pole of Saturday night's A&A Auto Stores  Pro Stock feature and once he got in front he never looked back leading all 15 laps on his way to his 43rd career Selinsgrove Speedway win and  his second win of the season. He is the divisions’ first repeat winner.

Jake Buck and Tommy Slanker kept the pressure on Hoffman early in the event but as the feature ran through Hoffman pulled away. He said they made many changed to the car before the feature and the changes sure paid off. Buck held onto second before Brandon Moser darter by the battle for second to take the runner up spot. Buck held off Slaker for third at the line. Slanker and Kurt Wray rounded out the top five finishers.

Pro Stock heat races were won by Brad Mitch and AJ Hoffman.

The Roadrunners closed out the night’s racing action with a thriller of a feature event between Dustin Snook who was searching for his second win of the season and Keith Bissinger. Snook stayed loyal to the outside line for the whole race while Bissinger plugged away on the inside.

Bissinger pushed the issue a little too far just past halfway and his machine spun in the turn. Bissinger was not out of it though! He drove back through the field into second. The race was Snook's at that point though as he took his second win of the season.

Snook said in victory lane the track was tricky but he knew he needed to stay on the outside to claim the win. Bissinger was second followed by Butch Scaffer, Smith Cope, and Tom Underwood in the top five.  Miranda Minium and Ken Schreffler rounded out the field.

360 Sprint Cars – 25 Entries
30-Lap Joe Whitcomb Memorial: 1) 28F Davie Franek  2) 29 Jason Shultz  3) 66 Ryan Kissinger  4) 1 Mark Smith  5) 1W Eric Tomecek  6) 35 Jared Zimbardi  7) 99K Cody Keller  8) 77 Derek Locke  9) 5G Curt Michael  10) 00 Dane Lorenc  11) 76 Larry Kelleher  12) 22 Troy Betts  13) 79 Jordan Thomas  14) 98 Joe Trenca  15) 33 Michael Walter II  16) 10 Pauly Colagiovanni  17) C4 Jim Shuster  18) 5W Phil Walter  19) 67 Steve Collins  20) 54jr Scott Just  21) 54j Dave Just  22) 25 Paul Habeck  23) 25G Tyler Graves  24) 23 TJ Stutts
Heat Winners:   Ryan Kissinger, Joe Trenca, Jason Shultz

Time Trials:  1) 66 Ryan Kissinger 17.792  2) 00 Dane Lorenc 17.964  3) 1 Mark Smith 18.030  4) 1W Eric Tomecek 18.048  5) 23 TJ Stutts 18.096  6) 33 Michael Walter II 18.129  7) 77 Derek Locke 18.166  8) 98 Joe Trenca 18.167  9) 29 Jason Shultz 18.175  10) 35 Jared Zimbardi 18.217  11) 49S Mallie Shuster 18.227  12) 28F Davie Franek 18.231  13) 79 Jordan Thomas 18.236  14) C4 Jim Shuster 18.265  15) 67 Steve Collins 18.270  16) 5G Curt Michael 18.343  17) 99K Cody Keller 18.372  18) 5W Phil Walter 18.416  19) 25 Paul Habeck 18.474  20) 76 Larry Kelleher 18.658  21) 54jr Scott Just 18.838  22) 10 Pauly Colagiovanni 18.852  23) 22 Troy Betts 18.887  24) 54j Dave Just 19.048  25) 25G Tyler Graves 19.243

Late Models – 22 Entries
25-Lap A-Main:  1) 2J Jeff Rine   2) 99Z Dave Zona  3) 4S Danny Snyder  4) 16 Matt Cochran  5) 2 Steve Campbell  6) 119B Bryan Bernheiel  7) 1 Donnie Schick  8) 0 Coleby Frye  9) 28 Jason Smith  10) 24 Jim Yoder  11) 86 Austin Berry  12) 90 Kyle Rhoads  13) 10 Dave Stamm  14) 33C Chris Casnerr  15) 63 Nathan Long  16) 99 Steve Stitt  17) 77 Taylor Houtz  18) 88 Tony Adams  19) 9 Hayes Mattern  20) 7M Meade Hahn  21) 33 Terry Goshorn  22) 18 David Mecum
Heat Winners:  Bryan Bernheisel, Danny Snyder, Tony Adams

Pro Stocks - 17 Entries
15-Lap A-Main:  1) 6C AJ Hoffman  2) 8M Brandon Moserr  3) 11 Jake Buck  4) 40 Tommy  Slanker  5) 71 Kurt Wray  6) 88 Matt Hornberger  7) 55T John Troxell  8) 4 Jim Payne  9) 55 Lori Croop  10) 14C Bill Conrad  11) 10M Brad Mitch  12) 2C Adam Campbell  13) 26S AJ Stroup  14) 33 Curtis Lawton  15) 83 Matt Wilson  16) 13 Zach Romig  17) 8K Jeremy Kline
Heat Winners:  AJ Hoffman, Brad Mitch

Roadrunners – 7 Entries
10-Lap A-Main:  1) 15 Dustin Snook  2) 11 Keith Bissinger  3) 7 Butch Shaffer  4) 1 Smith C

No comments: