Tuesday, July 05, 2016

DOUBLE D DOUBLES UP WITH WIN AND SPEEDWEEK TITLE 305 Sprint Feature Cancelled - Pro Stock Feature Postponed

SELINSGROVE, Pa. --  Danny Dietrich of Gettysburg started from the front row looking to claim his first PA Speedweek title in Sunday's 30-lap Jan Opperman/Dick Bogar Memorial Speedweek
finale at Selinsgrove Speedway. Dietrich and second-place points driver Greg Hodnett traded off six point advantages after time trials and heat races were completed going into the championship race.

Dave Blaney was the night's Fast Tees Fast Qualifier and led the field to the green flag in the night's $5,000-to-win feature event. Dietrich wasted no time jumping into the race lead from his second starting spot and led lap one. Greg Hodnett quickly worked his way back into the thick of the battle going by Blaney for the second spot on a lap three restart.

Brent Marks was also on the move working into the top five on the restart and soon passed Blaney for the third spot. Lucas Wolfe mounted a charge back to the front of the field during the green flag run. Dietrich was soon in lap traffic and his challenge grew as his throttle spring broke on his car. Hodnett began to close in on the leader on lap 19 as Dietrich tried to maneuver around the tail end of the lead lap cars.

The Pa Sprint Series 305 Sprint Car feature was to follow the 410  Sprint race. Dave Brown took the race lead at the start and was leading when driver Jake Waters was involved in a wreck in turn one that resulted in a fire.  Waters was extricated from his car and transported to the Lehigh Valley Medical Center with undisclosed injuries.

Because the Purple K extinguisher formula used to put out the fire was nearly depleted and with the speedway surface saturated with racing fuel, the balance of the racing program was ended by track and safety officials.

The 15-lap Pro Stock feature will be made up at a later date.

This Saturday, July 9, Selinsgrove Speedway will present the rescheduled PEPSI Pack The Track Night featuring $5 general admission for a four division racing program of 360 sprint cars, super late models, pro stocks, and roadrunners at 7:30 p.m. This Saturday will also be Kids Night with a kids carnival and bicycle, big wheels, and power wheels racing on the front stretch. Wolfe went by Marks on lap 20 and closed in on Hodnett on lap 21. At that point in the race the top four on the speedway were the top four in PA Speedweek points with Dietrich leading Hodnett, Wolfe, and Marks. Then Marks blew a tire on lap 22 to bring out the yellow flag. Hondett  would get the restart he was hoping for behind Dietrich. Hodnett began to apply pressure right away on Dietrich, but Dietrich remained unshaken and began to drive away as Blane Heimbach  drove by Wolfe into the top three.

Dietrich pulled away to the win. Much like Stevie Smith did a year ago, Dietrich clinched the Speedweek crown with a win in the finale.  Hodnett was second followed by Heimbach. Wolfe and 13th place starter Aaron Ott were the top five finishers.  Blaney came across the line in sixth followed by Ryan Smith, Doug Esh, Steve Buckwalter, and Tim Shaffer.

410 Sprints – 26 Entries
30-Lap A-Main:  1) 48 Danny Dietrich  2) 27 Greg Hodnett  3) 12 Blane Heimbach  4) 1 Lucas Wolfe  5) 25 Aaron Ott  6) 71M Dave Blaney  7) 94 Ryan Smith  8) 07 Doug Esh  9) 17B Steve Buckwalter  10) 13 Tim Shaffer  11) 3 James McFadden  12) 21R Kyle Reinhardt  13) 23 TJ Stutts  14) 17W Bryan Clauson  15) 29 Jason Shultz  16) 5B Justin Barger  17) 33W Michael Walter  18) 19M Brent Marks  19) 3Z Brock Zearfoss  20) 75 Frankie Herr  21) 35 Daryl Stimeling  22) 24B Dustin Blaney  23) I07 Jordan Givler  24) 5 Dylan Cisney  25) 38 Scott Wilson  26) 19W Colby Womer

Heat Winners:  Greg Hodnett, Bryan Clauson, Brent Marks

Time Trials:  1) 71M Dave Blaney 16.613  2) 48 Danny Dietrich 16.667  3) 1 Lucas Wolfe 16.704  4) 27 Greg Hodnett 16.719  5) 94 Ryan Smith 16.741  6) 12 Blane Heimbach16.788  7) 3Z Brock Zearfoss 16.808  8) 13 Tim Shaffer 16.816  9) 19M Brent Marks 16.844  10) 17B Steve Buckwalter 16.850  11)17W Bryan Clauson 16.865  12) 21R Bryan Clauson 16.865  13) 25 Aaron Ott 16.890  14) 29 Jason Shultz 16.958  15) 07 Doug Esh 17.010  16) 5 Dylan Cisney 17.031  17) 3 James McFadden 17.078  18) 23 TJ Stutts 17.417  19) 5B Justin Barger 17.467  20) 33W Michael Walter 17.507  21) 75 Frankie Herr 17.533  22) 24B Dustin Baney 17.719  23) 35 Daryl Stimeling 17.797  24) I07 Jordan Givler 18.521  25) 19W Colby Womer DNT  26) 38 Scott Wilson DNT

305 Sprints – 21 Entries
20-Lap A-Main:  Race Ended On Lap 4 Due To Accident
Heat Winners:  Erin Statler, Nathan Granler

Pro Stocks – 12 Entries
15-Lap A-Main: Race Will Be Rescheduled At A Later Date
Heat Winners:  Matt Hornberger, AJ Hoffman

No comments: