Saturday, July 02, 2016

WALTON SCORES FIRST 358 SPRINT CAR WIN AT TRAIL-WAY; Hannah Riser, Joe Long, Jr., and Mike Goodwin all claim first of-the-year wins

HANOVER, PA (7/1/2016) –Tyler Walton has ten career wins, including one this season, in the micro-sprints at Trail-Way Speedway.

But on Friday night, he scored his first career win in the 358 sprint car division.

“Wow! I don’t know what to say,” said Walton after exiting the Roger McKeehan #4R in victory lane, “We got off to such a terrible start that I thought Roger was going to get rid of me.  The car has been fast.  It was just waiting on the driver.”

Walton started on the outside of the front row, beat polesitter Austin Kirby to the first turn, and drove flawlessly through lapped traffic to lead every lap.  Seth Kearchner ran second every lap, actually pulling alongside Walton in lapped traffic a few times.  He crossed .86 seconds behind the winner, with Doug Hammaker, David Holbrook, and Jeff Halligan rounding out the top five.

Sixth through tenth were J.B. Cunningham, Dwight Leppo (who actually tipped onto his side and brought out the red flag in turn two of lap 12, but changed a flat tire and returned to the track for the restart), Kirby, hard charger Zach Euculano (who started 15th), and Dan Richcreek.

Qualifiers for the 15 sprint cars were won by Leppo and Halligan.

Lady driver Hannah Riser started on the pole and led all 20 laps of the 600cc micro-sprint feature.  It was her first Trail-Way win of the year and the third of her TW career.  Brad Weber crossed second, followed by Danny Jones, Jim Still, and Nash Ely.

Heats for the 14 600’s were won by Still and Travis Scott, who was among four drivers involved in a backstretch melee on lap 13 and was done for the night.  Zane Rudisill, Jake Frye, and Hayden Miller were the other cars involved.  Frye received medical attention from track EMTs after complaining of neck pain after the crash.

Joe Long, Jr. claimed his first Trail-Way win since June of 2000 in the 20-lap Mason/Dixon 270cc micro-sprint feature.  Long’s 4T4 started on the outside pole and led every lap.  Polesitter Levi Peck crossed second, followed by 12th starting Cory Myers, 17th starting Bill Laughman, and 15th starting Chad Myers.

 Heats for the 25 270’s were won by Tim McClelland, Steven Cox, and Jim Young.

Mike Goodwin started sixth and raced to his first win of the year in the 20-lap street stock feature.  It
was Goodwin’s eighth career win at Trail-Way.  Aaron Beard led the first lap from his second starting spot before Goodwin took over.  Goodwin was unchallenged the rest of the way, with Matt Wampler crossing 1.43 seconds behind.  Third through fifth were Dalton Myers, Marshall McMullen, and 12th-starting Alex Updegraff.

Qualifiers for the 14 street stocks were won by McMullen and Goodwin.

 Tomorrow, Saturday, July 2nd, Trail-Way hosts the first of two Junk Car Demolitions of the 2016 season. Joining the “Kings of Crash” Junk Car Demo, will be the Figure 8 and Powder Puff classes. The Limited Stocks will participate in the Trail-Way/Susquehanna Shootout. Gates open at 4:00 p.m., with heats beginning at 6:00 p.m.

The following Friday night, July 8th, Trail-Way Speedway will be dark in preparation for the Sunday, July 10th Armin Hostetter Memorial, the finale of a three-track Shootout with Lincoln and Susquehanna Speedways. Joining the 410 Sprints will be the 600 Micro Sprints, who will be racing the second leg of the Trail-Way/Linda’s/Path Valley Shootout.

For all the latest news and related information from Trail-Way Speedway, fans are reminded to visit the speedway website at The complete story and agate from each race night is posted shortly after the final checkered flag.


FEATURE (25 Laps) – 1. 4R-Tyler Walton; 2. 30-Seth Kearchner; 3. 66-Doug Hammaker; 4. 77-David Holbrook; 5. 41-Jeff Halligan; 6. 39-JB Cunningham, Jr.; 7. 4-Dwight Leppo; 8. 28-Austin Kirby; 9. 10-Zach Euculano (Big Mike’s Crabhouse Hard Charger); 10. 80M-Dan Richcreek; 11. 10T-Brody Treaster; 12. 64-Randy Whisler (DNF); 13. 10B-Brandon Noel (DNF); 14. 12-Mike Bittinger (DNS); 15. 19D-Wyatt Hinkle (DNS).

Lap Leaders: Tyler Walton (1-25)

358 Sprint Heat 1 Finish (10 Laps/All Qualify) – 1. 4-Dwight Leppo; 2. 77-David Holbrook; 3. 30-Seth Kearchner; 4. 4R-Tyler Walton; 5. 80M-Dan Richcreek; 6. 10B-Brandon Noel; 7. 64-Randy Whisler; 8. 19D-Wyatt Hinkle (DNF). No time.

358 Sprint Heat 2 Finish (10 Laps/All Qualify) – 1. 41-Jeff Halligan; 2. 66-Doug Hammaker; 3. 39-JB Cunningham, Jr.; 4. 28-Austin Kirby; 5. 10T-Brody Treaster; 6. 12-Mike Bittinger (DNF); 7. 10-Zach Euculano (DNS). No time.


FEATURE (20 Laps) – 1. 4T4-Joe Long, Jr.; 2. 64-Levi Peck; 3. 20-Cory Myers; 4. 2-Bill Laughman; 5. 32-Chad Myers; 6. 58-Steven Cox; 7. 6-Tim McClelland; 8. 99-Joe Trone, Jr.; 9. 84-Zachary Glass; 10. 1B-Brent Bull; 11. 29C-Jeff Arigo; 12. 43M-Brandon McMillion; 13. 16-Keera Dupler; 14. 11G-Cheyenne Robicheaux; 15. 08-Ron Ford; 16. 22-Michael Boer (DNF); 17. 8D-Charles Ford (DNF); 18. 48-Bryan Moose (DNF); 19. 13-Bo Gordon, Jr (DNF); 20. 44X-Robert Miles (DNF); 21. 21-Tyler Cool (DNF); 22. 8-Jim Still (DNF); 23. 21G-Luis Gonzalez, Jr. (DNF); 24. 32M-Shaun McIntyre (DNF). No time.

Lap Leaders: Joe Long, Jr. (1-20)

270 Micro Heat 1 Finish (8 Laps/6 to Qualify) – 1. 6-Tim McClelland; 2. 84-Zachary Glass; 3. 13-Brad Gossert; 4. 11G-Cheyenne Robicheaux; 5. 44X-Robert Miles; 6. 48-Bryan Moose; 7. 21G-Luis Gonzalez, Jr. (DNF); 8. 21-Tyler Cool (DNF); 9. 1B-Brent Bull (DNS). No time.

270 Micro Heat 2 Finish (8 Laps/6 to Qualify) – 1. 58-Steven Cox; 2. 4T4-Joe Long, Jr.; 3. 29C-Jeff Arigo; 4. 16-Keera Dupler; 5. 43-Brandon McMillion (penalized 1 spot for jump on start); 6. 2-Bill Laughman (DNF); 7. 73-Robert Maxwell, Jr. (DNF); 8. 22-Mike Boer (DNF); 9. 8D-Charles Ford (DNF). No time.

270 Micro Heat 3 Finish (8 Laps/6 to Qualify) – 1. 8-Jim Still; 2. 64-Levi Peck; 3. 99-Joe Trone, Jr.; 4. 20-Cory Myers; 5. 32-Chad Myers; 6. 32M-Shaun McIntyre; 7. 08-Ron Ford; 8. 17J-Jarrett Imler (DNS). No time.


FEATURE (20 Laps) – 1. 14K-Hannah Riser; 2. 17-Brad Weber; 3. 1-Danny Jones; 4. 8-Jim Still; 5. 22-Nash Ely; 6. 17E-Dylan Norris; 7. 91-Randy Kunkle, Jr.; 8. 4R-Zane Rudisill; 9. 71-Tyler Leese; 10. 13-Bo Gordon, Jr. (DNF); 11. 07-Robert Stough (DNF); 12. 11H-Hayden Miller (DNF); 13. 56-Jake Frye (DNF); 14. 39-Anthony Macri (DNF). No time.

Lap Leaders: Hannah Riser (1-20)

600 Micro Heat 1 Finish (8 Laps/All Qualify) – 1. 8-Jim Young; 2. 11H-Hayden Miller; 3. 17-Brad Weber; 4. 13-Bo Gordon, Jr.; 5. 39-Anthony Macri; 6. 56-Jake Frye; 7. 17E-Dylan Norris. Time – 2:05.22

600 Micro Heat 2 Finish (8 Laps/All Qualify) – 1. 07-Travis Scott; 2. 1-Danny Jones; 3. 4R-Zane Rudisill; 4. 14K-Hannah Riser; 5. 22-Nash Ely; 6. 91-Randy Kunkle, Jr.; 7. 71-Tyler Leese (DNF). No time.


FEATURE (20 Laps) – 1. 33-Michael Goodwin; 2. 100-Matt Wampler; 3. 94-Dalton Myers; 4. 81F-Marshall McMullen; 5. 1-Alex Updegraff; 6. 51-Jeremy Stremmel; 7. 60-Aaron Beard; 8. 94M-Zach Myers (DNF); 9. 45-Howard Williams (DNF); 10. 5M-Dan Furman (DNF); 11. 77M-Doug Bennett (DNF); 12. 1M-Brian Walls (DNF); 13. 1J-Eric Johnson (DNS); 14. 6M-Cody Souders (DNS). No time.

Lap Leaders: Aaron Beard (1); Michael Goodwin (2-20)

Street Stock Heat 1 Finish (8 Laps/All Qualify) – 1. 81F-Marshall McMullen; 2. 60-Aaron Beard; 3. 1-Alex Updegraff; 4. 94M-Zach Myers; 5. 94-Dalton Myers; 6. 45-Howard Williams; 7. 51-Jeremy Stremmel. Time – 2:40.94

Street Stock Heat 2 Finish (8 Laps/All Qualify) – 1. 33-Michael Goodwin; 2. 1M-Brian Walls; 3. 5M-Dan Furman; 4. 77M-Doug Bennett; 5. 100-Matt Wampler; 6. 1J-Eric Johnson (DNS); 7. 6M-Cody Souders (DNS). Time – 2:38.62

No comments: