Sunday, August 14, 2016

J.J. GRASSO EDGES 12TH-STARTING MONTIETH IN FALLEN FIREFIGHTERS NIGHT AT LINCOLN SPEEDWAY Troy Wagaman, Jr. scores first career win in “358” sprints; Fred Cullum makes late-race pass to win All-American Outlaws

ABBOTTSTOWN, PA 8/13/2016 –J.J. Grasso started on the front row and held off 12th-starting Brian Montieth at the end to score his third career Lincoln win in Saturday night’s 33-lap National Fallen Firefighters feature event in memory of Brandon Little.

Grasso dominated most of the race from the pole, leading by as much as a straightaway with five laps to go. But Montieth fought his way through lapped traffic to close onto Grasso’s bumper on the final lap, crossing just 11-hundreths of a second behind the Middletown, DE winner. The two cars nearly touched at the finish line as they crossed with a lapped car.

“I thought Brian was going to get me sooner,” said Grasso after claiming the $5,000 top prize in his family-owned BK Trucking/Betts Garage #37, “I was running as hard as I could and was trying not to get over a lapped car or do anything stupid. That rain delay helped. I had a little problem and was able to fix the front end during that delay. I’m just glad Brian Montieth didn’t get by.”

The event actually began with a first-lap flip by Cory Haas just before the rains came, resulting in an hour and-a-half delay. Haas was able to make repairs during the delay and restart at the rear, coming back through to finish 13th.

“I’m having a little trouble catching my breath and I’m a little emotional,” said Grasso, “This one is for Bryan Clauson and Kramer Williamson. Those guys taught everyone so much, and they were such good racers. It feels so good to be here. I guess I’m a little out of shape after going 33 laps non-stop.”

Montieth made Grasso work hard over the final five laps as he closed the gap dramatically, setting up the final front stretch thriller to the checkered.

Third through fifth were points leader Alan Krimes, Tyler Ross, and Kyle Moody. Rounding out the top ten were Billy Dietrich, Jim Siegel, Austin Hogue, Adam Wilt, and Robbie Kendall.
Heats for the 24 410 Sprints were won by Tim Glatfelter, Dietrich, and Montieth.

Hanover’s Troy Wagaman, Jr. took the lead at the outset and led them all in the 20-lap “358” sprint car feature. But the last seven laps were tough, as tenth-starting Jeff Halligan moved into the runner-up spot, closed on Wagaman, and took the lead from Wagaman with a slider in turn two late in the race, only to have Wagaman race back by Halligan down the backstretch.

Halligan settled for second, with 12th-starting Matt Campbell, point leader Chandler Leiby, and Jeff Rohrbaugh completing the top five.

Heats for the 28 358 sprints were won by Nick Palmerino, Adrian Shaffer, and Tyler Walton.

Fred Cullum took the lead from polesitter and race-long leader Randy Doty with two laps to go and scored the win in the 20-lap All-American Outlaw feature.

Doty, Bryan Green, Fred’s son Justin Cullum, and Gary Moreland, Sr. crossed second through fifth.

Heats for the 11 All American Outlaws were won by Fred Cullum and Green.

Lincoln Speedway swings back into action this Wednesday night, August 17th, with a special mid-week show featuring the USAC DIRT MIDGET SERIES (co-sanctioned by ARDC) plus an EMMR Exhibition. Gates will open at 5:30 PM, and time trials getting underway at 7:30 PM.

Then next Saturday night, August 20th, it will be Pepsi Night along with York County Racing Club (YCRC) Night as the ALL-STAR CIRCUIT OF CHAMPIONS come to Lincoln Speedway to take on the Pennsylvania Posse. Central PA Legends will round out the night’s racing action. Gates will open at 5:30 PM, followed by time trials at 7:30 PM.

To get all the latest news, results, schedule changes and rule changes, visit Lincoln Speedway's website at to stay up-to-date on all the action or pending weather conditions at Central Pennsylvania's "Premier" Saturday night race track - The Fabulous Lincoln Speedway.
Saturday, August 13, 2016
Abbottstown, PA
410 Sprint Feature Finish (33 Laps) – 1. 37-JJ Grasso ($5,000); 2. 21-Brian Montieth; 3. 87-Alan Krimes; 4. 5-Tyler Ross; 5. 99M-Kyle Moody; 6. 8-Billy Dietrich; 7. 59-Jim Siegel; 8. 52-Austin Hogue; 9. 15-Adam Wilt; 10. 55K-Robbie Kendall; 11. 2Z-Brock Zearfoss; 12. 16-Gerard McIntyre, Jr.; 13. 11C-Cory Haas; 14. 35-Steve Owings; 15. 69-Tim Glatfelter; 16. 1*-Tim Wagaman; 17. 2D-Chase Dietz; 18. 45-Kevin Nagy; 19. 10K-Joe Kata, III; 20. 3B-Randy Baughman; 21. 2W-Glenndon Forsythe (DNF); 22. 75-Nicole Bower (DNF); DNS – 74-Dwayne Gutshall. Time – 8:59.699

Lap Leaders – JJ Grasso (1-33)

410 Sprint Heat One Finish (10 laps/6 to qualify) - 1. 69-Tim Glatfelter; 2. 59-Jim Siegel; 3. 5-Tyler Ross; 4. 52-Austin Hogue; 5. 35-Steve Owings; 6. 10K-Joe Kata, III; 7. 74-Dwayne Gutshall (DNF); 8. 91-David Quackenbush. No Time

410 Sprint Heat Two Finish (10 laps/6 to qualify) - 1. 8D-Billy Dietrich; 2. 15-Adam Wilt; 3. 87-Alan Krimes; 4. 55K-Robbie Kendall; 5. 16-Gerard McIntyre, Jr.; 6. 3Z-Brock Zearfoss; 7. 75-Nicole Bower; 8. 1*-Tim Wagaman. Time – 2:26.930

410 Sprint Heat Three Finish (10 laps/6 to qualify) - 1. 21-Brian Montieth; 2. 37-JJ Grasso; 3. 11C-Cory Haas; 4. 99M-Kyle Moody; 5. 2D-Chase Dietz; 6. 2W-Glenndon Forsythe; 7. 3B-Randy Baughman; 8. 45-Kevin Nagy. Time – 2:30.540

358 Sprint Feature Finish (20 Laps) - 1. 19-Troy Wagaman, Jr.; 2. 41-Jeff Halligan; 3. 16-Matt Campbell; 4. 119-Chandler Leiby; 5. 45-Jeff Rohrbaugh; 6. 12-Brent Shearer; 7. 35-Tyler Esh; 8. 30-Jared Esh; 9. 5A-Brian Allman; 10. 27S-Adrian Shaffer; 11. 23-Chris Arnold; 12. 89-Ashley Cappetta; 13. 9-Dalton Dietrich; 14. 4R-Tyler Walton; 15. 7-Trey Hivner; 16. 19D-Wyatt Hinkle; 17. 38-Mark Strickler; 18. 28-Matt Findley; 19. 15S-Shai Morris; 20. 21X-Kyle Abrahims; 21. 22-Nathan Prezenicia (DNF); 22. 51N-Nick Palmerino (DNF); 23. 91-Brie Hershey (DNF); DNS – 8-Kenny Kuhn. No Time

Lap Leaders – Troy Wagaman, Jr. (1-20)

358 Sprint Heat One Finish (10 laps/6 to qualify) - 1. 51N-Nick Palmerino; 2. 45-Jeff Rohrbaugh; 3. 12-Brent Shearer; 4. 9-Dalton Dietrich; 5. 30-Jared Esh; 6. 19D-Wyatt Hinkle; 7. 15S-Shai Morris; 8. 8-Kenny Kuhn (DNF); 9. 28-Matt Findley (DNF); DNS – 11D-Kody Hartlaub. No Time

358 Sprint Heat Two Finish (10 laps/6 to qualify) - 1. 27S-Adrian Shaffer; 2. 16-Matt Campbell; 3. 19-Troy Wagaman, Jr.; 4. 41-Jeff Halligan; 5. 89-Ashley Cappetta; 6. 38-Mark Strickler; 7. 23-Chris Arnold; 8. 66A-Cody Fletcher (DNF); 9. 35-Tyler Esh (DNF). No Time

358 Sprint Heat Three Finish (10 laps/6 to qualify) - 1. 4R-Tyler Walton; 2. 119-Chandler Leiby; 3. 91-Brie Hershey; 4. 5A-Brian Allman; 5. 7-Trey Hivner; 6. 21X-Kyle Abrahims; 7. 22-Nathan Provencia (DNF); 8. 13S-Jon Stewart (DNF); 9. 5-Phil Walter. Time – 2:33.28

All American Outlaw Feature Finish (20 Laps) – 1. 59-Fred Cullum; 2. 6-Randy Doty; 3. 99G-Bryan Green; 4. 95-Justin Cullum; 5. 13-Gary Moreland; 6. 23-Danny Holmes; 7. 100-Tim Fake; 8. 8-Jeff McCaulley; 9. 01-Daryl Winkler; 10. 6S-Shaun Miller; 11. 53-Tony Jorda. No Time

Lap Leaders – Randy Doty (1-18), Fred Cullum (19-20)

All American Outlaw Heat One Finish (6 laps) - 1. 59-Fred Cullum; 2. 6-Randy Doty; 3. 95-Justin Cullum; 4. 100-Tim Fake; 5. 8-Jeff McCaulley; 6. 53-Tony Jorda. Time – 2:01.25

All American Outlaw Heat Two Finish (6 laps) - 1. 99G-Bryan Green; 2. 13M-Gary Moreland, Sr.; 3. 23-Danny Holmes; 4. 01-Daryl Winkler; 5. 6S-Shawn Miller. Time – 2:02.18

No comments: