Tuesday, September 06, 2016

Danny Dietrich Scores Second Port Royal Labor Day Classic Peer and Stough win supports

PORT ROYAL, Pa. ? Danny Dietrich of Gettysburg won the 65th annual Labor Day Classic for sprint cars on Monday afternoon at Port Royal Speedway, taking his second victory in the oval event after taking his first in 2014.

Ironically, both wins came aboard a replica Weikert?s Livestock No. 29 sprint car are his only career victories at the track.

Monday?s win was worth $4,000.

Elsewhere, Ryan Peer won the 15-lap four cylinder main event while Bob Stough took the Central Pa Legends feature.

Port Royal driver Dylan Cisney had the pole for the 25-lap Labor Day Classic for sprints and took the lead on the first lap ahead of Dietrich and defending event winner Brent Marks.

Marks got by Dietrich for second on the second tour and quickly ran down Cisney to make a pass for the lead with four away.

Once in front, Marks began driving away from the field, jetting around the first and second turns using a narrowing topside moisture strip that got a bit too narrow on the 10th tour when he hopped up over it and slammed the outside turn two wall.

That misfortune sidelined him for the rest of the event and handed the lead to Dietrich with Cisney now second and ninth starter Greg Hodnett up to third.

Hodnett got around Cisney for second with 11 laps to go but had to run down Dietrich who had built up over a straightaway lead by that point.

But steadily Hodnett did cut away the advantage to be caught up with the leader with a lap to go.

However a final lap clash never materialized as Dietrich stayed just far enough out of reach to prevent a last ditch, final turn effort by Hodnett to steal the win.

The victory was Dietrich?s seventh overall this season in area action.

Point leader Doug Esh, who started 12th ended up a challenging third followed by Ryan Smith and Brock Zearfoss.

Sixth through 10th went to Lucas Wolfe, Aaron Ott, Cisney, TJ Stutts and Joey Hershey.

Heats went to Marks, Dietrich and Smith.

Some 38 four cylinder pure stocks entered competition and 36 of them started the 15-lap feature with Ryan Peer, who started 37th, taking the lead with four laps to go to seal the win.

Second went to Chris Anderson followed by Tom Brady, Justin Williamson and Darren Howsare.

Heats went to Robert Wellman, Anderson and Jeff Foster.

Bob Stough won the legends feature over Harold Leppo and Chad Earnst.

Demolition derby wins went to Alex Keaton and John Miller.

Feature finishes:

410 sprints, 25 laps: 1. Danny Dietrich, 2. Greg Hodnett, 3. Doug Esh, 4. Ryan Smith, 5. Brock Zearfoss, 6. Lucas Wolfe, 7. Aaron Ott, 8. Dylan Cisney, 9. TJ Stutts, 10. Joey Hershey, 11. Daryl Stimeling, 12. Steve Buckwalter, 13. Curt Stroup, 14. Mike Wagner, 15. Vince Snyder, 16. Cale Grubb, 17. George Streaker, 18. Troy Fraker, 19. Karl Baker, 20. Carl Bowser, 21. Blane Heimbach, 22. Brent Marks, 23. AJ Flick, 24. Kody Lehman

Four cylinder pure stocks, 15 laps: 1. Ryan Peer, 2. Chris Anderson, 3. Tom Brady, 4. Justin Williamson, 5. Darren Howsare, 6. Wayne Brenize, 7. Lee Zook, 8. Jeff Foster, 9. Travis Brown, 10. Michael Lucas, 11. Andrew Moist, 12. Justin Oberlin, 13. Colton Wagner, 14. Bruce Betres, 15. Nick Myers, 16. Tim O?Sheehan, 17. Mike Koppenhader, 18. Terry Hartlaub, 19. Brandon Hedstrom, 20. Jeff Sverndsen, 21. Kennedy Pouter, 22. Zach Moist, 23. Robert Wellman, 24. Sam Creveling, 25. Stephanie  Lucas, 26. Robbie Carroll, 27. Rcky Weaver Jr., 28. Cody Stober, 29. Kent Leonard, 30. Zach Wright

Central Pa legends, 15 laps: 1. Bob Stough, 2. Harold Leppo, 3. Chad Earnst, 4. Travis Perry, 5. Scott Haudeshell, 6. Greg Burd, 7. John Knoti, 8. Robert Shaw

No comments: