Saturday, April 22, 2017

LEPPO CLAIMS THIRD CAREER TRAIL-WAY WIN IN 358 SPRINTS; Kameron Morral, Eric Johnson, Jason Chronister other Friday night winners

HANOVER, PA (4/21/2017) – Dwight Leppo was in the right place at the right time to win the 358 sprint car feature at Trail-Way Speedway Friday night.

Leppo, who finished second to Steve Owings on opening night, started fourth and was running second when third-starting J.B. Cunningham pulled up lame while leading in turn four of lap 16.  He assumed the lead for the restart and led the rest of the way, crossing 1.25 seconds ahead of fifth-starting and defending track champ David Holbrook at the finish.

“It felt pretty good tonight,” said Leppo upon exiting his family-owned Belmit Engineering Development/Joe Mssinger Home Improvements/Auchey Body Shop #4 in victory lane, “It felt good last week, too, but this week worked out better.  I like lapped traffic, but it was nice to run where you want to for once.”

Owings, who lost a rear end in his qualifying event and lost several spots when he got out of shape and ran through the infield in the feature, came back to finish third and was named the event’s hard charger after starting ninth.  Isaac Sneeringer and Wyatt Hinkle completed the top five.

Sixth through eighth were Joe Trone, Jr., Colt White, and Landon Myers.  They were the only cars that finished the race.

Heats for the 16 sprint cars were won by Sneeringer and Holbrook.

Kameron Morral started on the pole and led every lap of the 20-lap 600cc micro-sprint feature for his second career Trail-Way win.  Jesse Snyder, Tyler Walton, Nash Ely, and Hannah Riser completed the top five.

Qualifiers for the 17 micros were won by Walton and Snyder.

Eric Johnson started on the outside of the front row and led whole way in the 20-lap season opener for the street stocks.  It was Johnson’s fourth career TW win.  Michael Goodwin, Brian Walls, Zach Myers, and G.S.B. Asphalt hard charger Travis Leh (who started ninth) rounded out the top five.

Heats for the 12 street stocks were won by Brian Walls and Jeremy Stremmel.

Jason Chronister held off the late race challenges of Justin Wagaman to claim his 15th career Trail-Way win in the 15-lap limited stock feature.  Chronister’s final margin of victory was a scant .25 seconds.  Terry Hartlaub, Travis Brown, and Justin Oberlin finished third through fifth.

Heats for the 20 limited stocks were won by Wagaman and Chronister.

Next Friday, April 21, 2017, Trail-Way Speedway hosts the Precise Racing Products 358 Late Model Series, along with Mason-Dixon 270 Micro Sprints, Limited Stocks, Vintage Cars and Classic Cars. Gates open at 5:30 p.m. with heats beginning at 7:45 p.m.

For all the latest news and related information from Trail-Way Speedway, fans are reminded to visit the speedway website at The complete story and agate from each race night is posted shortly after the final checkered flag.

Friday, April 21, 2017
Trail-Way Speedway
Hanover, PA
For Immediate Release


FEATURE (25 Laps) – 1. 4-Dwight Leppo[4]; 2. 77-David Holbrook[5]; 3. 35-Steve Owings[11] (Hard Charger); 4. 19Z-Isaac Sneeringer[6]; 5. 19D-Wyatt Hinkle[8]; 6. 99-Joe Trone Jr[2]; 7. 45-Colt White[10]; 8. 19-Landon Myers[7]; 9. (DNF) 39-Jason Cunningham Jr[3]; 10. (DNF) 10T-Brody Treaster[13]; 11. (DNF) 10B-Brandon Noel[12]; 12. (DNF) 66A-Cody Fletcher[1]; 13. (DNF) 13-Ryan Higgins[14]; (DNS) 19G-Todd Gracey; (DNS) 77K-Steven Kisamore; (DNS) 28X-Steve Storrie. No time.

Lap Leaders: Cody Fletcher (1), JB Cunningham Jr. (2-15), Dwight Leppo (16-25)

358 Sprint Heat 1 Finish (10 Laps/All Qualify) – 1. 19Z-Isaac Sneeringer[2]; 2. 4-Dwight Leppo[5]; 3. 99-Joe Trone Jr[3]; 4. 19-Landon Myers[8]; 5. (DNF) 19G-Todd Gracey[7]; 6. (DNF) 35-Steve Owings[6]; (DNS) 77K-Steven Kisamore; (DNS) 28X-Steve Storrie. No time.

358 Sprint Heat 2 Finish (10 Laps/All Qualify) – 1. 77-David Holbrook[6]; 2. 39-Jason Cunningham Jr[2]; 3. 66A-Cody Fletcher[7]; 4. 19D-Wyatt Hinkle[3]; 5. 45-Colt White[5]; 6. 10B-Brandon Noel[8]; 7. 10T-Brody Treaster[1]; (DNS) 13-Ryan Higgins. No time.


FEATURE (20 Laps) – 1. 880-Kameron Morral[1]; 2. 96-Jesse Snyder[8]; 3. 14T-Tyler Walton[7]; 4. 22-Nash Ely[6]; 5. 14K-Hannah Riser[10]; 6. 5-Jason Sechrist[15] (Hard Charger); 7. 7S-Mike Sherman[16]; 8. 71-Tyler Leese[14]; 9. (DNF) 17E-Dylan Norris[2]; 10. (DNF) 17-Bradley Weber[5]; 11. (DNF) 91-Randy Kunkle Jr[13]; 12. (DNF) 4R-Zane Rudisill[3]; 13. (DNF) 1S-Steven Bull[9]; 14. (DNF) 8-Jim Young[4]; 15. (DNF) 56-Jake Frye[11]; 16. (DNF) 00-Christian Reed[12]; (DNS) 11H-Hayden Miller. No time.

Lap Leaders: Kameron Morral (1-20)

600 Micro Sprint Heat 1 Finish (8 Laps/All Qualify) – 1. 96-Jesse Snyder[5]; 2. 22-Nash Ely[1]; 3. 8-Jim Young[3]; 4. 17E-Dylan Norris[7]; 5. 1S-Steven Bull[4]; 6. 56-Jake Frye[6]; 7. 91-Randy Kunkle Jr[8]; 8. 5-Jason Sechrist[9]; 9. 11H-Hayden Miller[2]. Time – 2:06.69

600 Micro Sprint Heat 2 Finish (8 Laps/All Qualify) – 1. 14T-Tyler Walton[2]; 2. 17-Bradley Weber[6]; 3. 4R-Zane Rudisill[3]; 4. 880-Kameron Morral[1]; 5. 14K-Hannah Riser[5]; 6. 00-Christian Reed[8]; 7. 71-Tyler Leese[7]; 8. 7S-Mike Sherman[4]. Time – 2:05.88


FEATURE (20 Laps) – 1. 1J-Eric Johnson[2]; 2. 33-Michael Goodwin[4]; 3. 2W-Brian Walls[5]; 4. 94M-Zach Myers[3]; 5. 25-Travis Leh[9]; 6. 60-Aaron Beard[1]; 7. 94-Dalton Myers[7]; 8. 36-Gary Warehime[11]; 9. 11M-Gene Miller[12]; 10. 11-Branden Staccone[8]; 11. 51-Jeremy Stremmel[6]; 12. 8-John Wright[10]

Lap Leaders: Eric Johnson (1-20)

Street Stocks Heat 1 Finish (8 Laps/All Qualify) – 1. 51-Jeremy Stremmel[5]; 2. 33-Michael Goodwin[3]; 3. 1J-Eric Johnson[4]; 4. 94-Dalton Myers[1]; 5. 25-Travis Leh[6]; (DNS) 11M-Gene Miller. Time – 2:42.90

Street Stocks Heat 2 Finish (8 Laps/All Qualify) –


FEATURE (15 Laps) – 1. 38-Jason Chronister[7]; 2. 30-Justin Wagaman[6]; 3. 92-Terry Hartlaub[5]; 4. 47-Travis Brown[2]; 5. 88-Justin Oberlin[3]; 6. 19R-Roy Denike[10]; 7. 16-Julio Perez[9]; 8. 22-Chad Martin[11]; 9. 6-Matt Worley[13]; 10. 46-Joshua Spangler[14]; 11. 99X-Creden Sponseller Jr[16]; 12. 77-Justin Mong[18]; 13. 8-Roger Rhodes III[17]; 14. (DNF) 69-Robbie Carroll[12]; 15. (DNF) 25-Zachary Baldwin[15]; 16. (DNF) 32-Jeff Foster[20]; 17. (DNF) 64-Charles Millender[4]; 18. (DNF) 99-Cody Klinedinst[1]; 19. (DNF) 2-Chad Weaver[8]; (DNS) 11B-Joseph LaClaire. No time.

Lap Leaders: Cody Klinedinst (1-2), Travis Brown (3-4), Jason Chronister (5-20)

Limited Stocks Heat 1 Finish (6 Laps/All Qualify) – 1. 38-Jason Chronister[9]; 2. 92-Terry Hartlaub[2]; 3. 69-Robbie Carroll[7]; 4. 47-Travis Brown[1]; 5. 2-Chad Weaver[8]; 6. 19R-Roy Denike[5]; 7. 6-Matt Worley[4]; 8. 25-Zachary Baldwin[10]; 9. 8-Roger Rhodes III[3]; (DNS) 32-Jeff Foster. Time – 2:06.16

Limited Stocks Heat 2 Finish (6 Laps/All Qualify) – 1. 14T-Tyler Walton[2]; 2. 17-Bradley Weber[6]; 3. 4R-Zane Rudisill[3]; 4. 880-Kameron Morral[1]; 5. 14K-Hannah Riser[5]; 6. 00-Christian Reed[8]; 7. 71-Tyler Leese[7]; 8. 7S-Mike Sherman[4]. Time – 2:05.47

No comments: