Tuesday, May 30, 2017

Hodnett Takes Weikert Memorial URC Portion, Michael Takes Dash for Cash

Photo courtesy of Jason McConnell
 Greg Hodnett and his Trone Outdoor, Heffner Racing Enterprises, Eagle Steel, C&B Mushroom #27 used a late race pass of Aaron Ott to take home the $2,000 Capitol Renegade United Racing Club’s portion of the Port Royal Speedways Weikert Memorial Race.

With 36 cars signed into the pits on Sunday night, the 4th and final heat race was just firing off when mother nature decided to open the skies and let loose postponing the nights action until Monday night. With three heat races already in the books, the decision was made to pick up on Monday where the program had left off. The Capitol Renegade United Racing Club had heat race #4 along with the B-Main and the 25 lap A-Main paying $2,000 to win still remaining on the schedule.

When the drivers meeting was called on Monday afternoon, only 26 360 sprint cars had returned to the pit area. The most notable missing was the #7 of Ed Aikin who finished 2nd in his heat race and was qualified for the redraw. Aikin reported that a lack of pit help kept him home for the evening. With 26 cars returning to the pits, the Port Royal Speedway management made the announcement that there would be 26 starting cars for the feature event. The management team lead by Steve O’Neil reported that if the drivers are going to come back and support the track on a Monday afternoon he was going to reward them as well. And reward him they did. Not only did he kick in the extra $400 for the two additional starters but also made the announcement that after the 360 feature, the top 12 finishers would be qualified for a Dash for Cash paying $1,000 to the winner. Port Royal Speedway kicked in an astonishing $5,400 in extra money on Monday afternoon for the 360 drivers.

With the first three heat races going to the driver of the A1 Auto Sales and Service #33 of Michael Walter, the driver of the Franek Auto Sales, Escape RV #28f of Davie Franek and the Don Ott Engines #25 of Aaron Ott. The fourth and final heat race which was run on Monday afternoon was won by Greg Hodnett. With 6 cars starting the B-Main, the 8 lap event was used mostly as a test session since all the drivers qualified. The B-Main was won by the driver of the Dellingers Auto Body, Bartell Chiropractic #77 of Derek Locke. Derek has been experiencing much success on the 2017 URC tour claiming a 2nd place on Saturday night at the Selinsgrove Speedway.

With all 26 cars now qualified for the feature event, the driver of the Shearer’s Audi and VW #63 of Josh Weller and regular 410 driver Doug Esh brought the field to the green flag. At the drop of the green the 25 of Aaron capitalized on his 4th place starting position and settled in behind the #49 of Doug Esh. Ott made his move just 3 laps later throwing a side job on Esh entering turn 1 and overtaking the lead. While Ott and Esh were out front, the Cobra Chuck Hebing was very much the car on the move, advancing from his 10th starting position and into the top 5 by lap 4 and then up into the top 3.

The lone caution flag flew on lap 19 for a slowing Jared Esh in turns 1-2. This brought the field to the rear bumper on front runner Aaron Ott. During the double file restart, Greg Hodnett coming from his 7th place starting position saw his opportunity and took it, taking the lead for Ott. Hodnett would go on and cruise to his first Capitol Renegade United Racing Club victory of the year. Following Hodnett to the line was Hebing, Ott, Esh and defending United Racing Club Champion Davie Franek.
Photo courtesy of Jason McConnell
With the #8 pill pulled in victory lane but race winner Greg Hodnett, the front row of the $1,000 to win Dash for Cash was made up of 9 Time URC Champion Curt Michael and top 358 talent Doug Hammaker.

At the drop of the green, it was all green as Michael jumped out to the early lead followed by Hammaker who was in close pursuit. Michael held off all challengers in route to the 15 lap win and the $1,000 top prize. Michael was followed to the line by Hammaker, Hebing, Hodnett and Ott.
The Capitol Renegade United Racing Club will now head to Williams Grove Speedway on Friday night June 2nd and then will return to the Selinsgrove Speedway just one night later on Saturday June 3rd.

URC A-Main: 1) #27 Greg Hodnett, 2) #45 Chuck Hebing, 3) #25 Aaron Ott, 4) #49E Doug Esh, 5) #28F Davie Franek, 6) #5W Lucas Wolfe, 7) #5G Curt Michael, 8) #66H Doug Hammaker, 9) #56 Nate Snyder, 10) #77L Derek Locke, 11) #63 Josh Weller, 12) #11 TJ Stutts, 13) #67W Justin Whittall, 14) #33 Mike Walter, 15) #35 Chad Layton, 16) #22M Nyle Berkes, 17) #119 Chandler Leiby, 18) #33B Bill Unglert, 19) #39 Eric Parker, 20) #22B Troy Betts, 21) #4 Jeff Halligan, 22) #19 Todd Gracey, 23) #12 Brent Shearer, 24) #73F Brett Michalski, 25) #30 Jared Esh, 26) #7 Ed Aikin

URC Dash for Cash: 1) #5G Curt Michael, 2) #66H Doug Hammaker, 3) #45 Chuck Hebing, 4) #27 Greg Hodnett, 5) #25 Aaron Ott, 6) #5W Lucas Wolfe, 7) #11 TJ Stutts, 8) #28F Davie Franek, 9) #63 Josh Weller, 10) #77L Derek Locke, 11) #67W Justin Whittall, 12) #56 Nate Snyder

DNQ: #56C Chris Coyle, #22 Bryn Gohn, #42E Ed Stada, #C4 Jim Shuster, #59T Tim Stallings, #29 Jason Shultz, #76 Larry Kelleher, #8 Kyle Lick, #15 Ryan Higgins, #7o6 Mark Sasso, #49 Mallie Shuster

No comments: