Monday, July 31, 2017


SELINSGROVE, Pa. -- Greg Hodnett added his name to a prominent list of winners of the Mach 1 Chassis National Open for 360 sprint cars Sunday night at Selinsgrove Speedway. Hodnett drew the number one to start from the pole of the 30 lap Sprint Car spectacular.

Hodnett bolted into the race lead and left prelim night winner Mark Smith to battle with Jason Shultz for the runner up spot. Blane Heimbach came from his sixth starting spot to work by Shultz for third and then soon by Smith by the second spot.

By lap 14 Smith and Heimbach battle for second had closed in on Hodnett in lap traffic. A red flag for Nate Snyder stopped the race and gave Hodnett the open race track once again.

On the restart Heimbach was able to pull away from Smith and focus on the race leader. Hodnetts lead began to shrink again when he caught the tail of the field on lap 24. By that time Curt Michael had climbed into the top five as well.

The yellow flag again unfurled on lap 25 ending the race for the lead. Heimbach number 12 had stopped on the home stretch ending his bid for the National Open crown.

With five to go Mark Smith would need to make his move quick on the restart Smith kept the pace of the race leader for the next lap before Hodnett again extended the advantage. Michael was now by Shultz and on Smiths tail for second.

Hodnett closed out the final laps of the 17th annual running of the National Open to take the $6,000 payday.

Smith was second followed on the podium by Michael.

Jason Shutlz and Davie Franek were the rest of the top five finishers. Lucas Wolfe was sixth followed by TJ Stutts, Steve Collins, Chad Layton, and Robbie Stillwagon.

Jeff Stere presented a hard charger award that went to Layton who came from 20th to finish in ninth.

Shutlz, Heimbach, and Billy VanInwegen won heat race for the 360 Sprint Cars while Larry Kelleher took the B-main victory.

The National Open wouldnt have been possible without the help of the United Racing Club and Mach 1 Chassis. Title sponsor Mach 1 Chassis, located at 10 North Frederick Street in Mechanicsburg, engineers and builds race car chassis that are known for safety, strength, durability, and performance.
In addition to chassis fabrication and repair, Mach 1 Chassis also manufactures front and rear bumpers, nerf bars, front axles, wing posts, and
wing trees.

Dave Grube was in a race long battle with Cale Reigle during the 305 Sprint Car main event. Reigle took over the top spot from Grube on lap eight.
Grube then entered into a tight battle with Tyler Resser for the second spot. Resser was able to grab the spot before Grube took it back.

The battle for second proved that much more important when the rear axel broke on Reigels number 99 on lap 14. It was the first and only caution flag of the race.

On the restart Grube had pressure right away from Reeser. Reeser continued
to try to use the momentum of the outside line for the remaining laps to take the race lead away. Grube on the other hand stayed loyal to the inside line.

Although Reeser got very close on the last two laps, he was never able to pass Grube. Grubes checkered flag was his first at the speedway.

Reeser was second with Zach Newlin, Jeremi Hanson, and Austin Bishop rounding out the top five finishers.

Sixth through tenth in the finishing order went to Ken Duke, Nathan Gramley, Jared Zionkowski, Andrew Hake, and Dave Graber.

Newlin and Hake took heat race victory in the 305 Sprint Cars.

The Econo Late Model inversion was a four for the feature event. Tim Krape  picked the inversion and put himself fourth to start the feature in what he called a dismal year of racing. He thought maybe the pill draw was going to just be another part of his bad luck season.

Tim Fedder had a similar idea after taking the race lead from Troy Miller on the opening lap. Fedder continued to lead while Krape worked his way to second.

Krape would close on the race leader and then fall off again over the next  13 laps. When the two to go sign was given Fedder had begun to race in lap traffic.

Fedder tried to be a little more conservative around the slower cars and that allowed Krape to muscle the race lead away on the final lap going down the back stretch. There was not enough time for Fedder to recover and take the race lead back.

Krape lead only one lap of the main event but it was the most important one. Fedder was second followed across the line by Todd Snook, JR Toner, and Shaun Miller.

Andrew Stotler, Andrew Yoder, Troy Miller, Jason Schmidt, and Jason Davis closed out the top ten finishers. Krape and Toner won heat races.

For the latest news, results, and race status, visit or follow us on Twitter and Facebook. The speedway office can also be reached at 570.374.2266.

This coming Saturday, Aug. 5, the Selinsgrove Speedway kicks off the final full month of racing this season with the Sunbury Eagles Club Night and the Eastern Museum of Motor Racing on-hand for the rescheduled Firecracker 30  for the 360 Sprint Cars plus Super Late Models, Pro Stocks, and Econo Late  Models. Racing at 7:30

360 Sprint Cars  28 Entries

30-Lap A-Main 1) 27 Greg Hodnett 2) M1 Mark Smith 3) 5G Curt Michael 4) 29 Jason Shultz
5) 28F Davie Franek 6) 5 Lucas Wolfe 7) 11 TJ Stutts 8) 67 Steve Collins  9) 35 Chad Layton
10) 89 Robbie Stillwaggon 11) 49S Mallie Shuster 12) 33 Michael Walter 13) 56V Billy VanInwegen 14) 66 Ryan Kissinger 15) 19 Colby Womer 16) 76 Larry Kelleher 17) 42E Eddie Strata
18) 22 Troy Betts 19) 73B Brett Michalski 20) 12 Blane Heimbach 21) 56C Chris Coyle
22) 56 Nate Snyder 23) 1W Eric Tomecek 24) C4 Jim Shuster 25) 99K Cody Keller

Heat Winners: Blane Heimbach, Billy VanInwegen, Jason Shultz
B-Main Winner: Larry Kelleher

305 Sprint Cars  19 Entries
20-Lap A-Main 1) 3D Dave Grube 2) 5T Tyler Reeser 3) 11Z Zach Newlin 4)36 Jeremi Hanson 5) 11 Austin Bishop 6) 67 Ken Duke 7) 23 Nathan Gramley 8) 41Z Jared Zionkowski 9) 77 Andrew Hake 10) 51 Dave Graber 11) 137 Ian Cumens 23L Samantha Lieberman 13) 5 John Walp 14) 2 Erin Statler 15) 61J Johnny Scarborough 16) 44K Kristine Hess 17) 88 Fred Arnold 18) 99 Cale Reigle 19) 86 Teddy Thomas

Heat Winners: Zach Newlin, Andrew Hoke

Econo Late Models -11 Entries
15-Lap A-Main: 1) 07 Tim Krape 2) 24 Tim Fedder 3) 23 Todd Snook 4) 11T JR Toner 5) 115S Shaun Miller 6) 50 Andrew Stotler 7) 2 Andrew Yoder 8) 115 Troy Miller 9) 13H Jason Schmidt
10) 7 Jason Davis 11) 30 Andy Snyder

Heat Winners Tim Krape, JR Toner

No comments: