Sunday, July 02, 2017

KENNY EDKIN DOMINATES FIRECRACKER 40 Rodriguez and Smith Get First Wins of Season

By Brad Vores for Susquehanna Speedway

Kenny Edkin’s dream season continued Saturday night at Susquehanna Speedway as he dominated the Credit Connection Auto Sales Dellinger Auto Body Firecracker 40 presented by Sutliff Chevrolet for Super Sportsman.

Edkin’s win was his division-leading third of the season, backing up his first career win back in April and last month’s Bud Bricker Nationals win.

The Marysville driver dominated the Firecracker 40, winning the dash to earn the pole starting spot and racing off from the field throughout the distance.

Despite a red flag on lap 22, Edkin went unchallenged to the win, taking the checkered flag 5.534 seconds ahead of runner-up Steve Fannasy.

The win was worth $2,000 to Edkin and also strengthened his track point lead aboard his Edkins Towing, Marysville Motorcars, Carlisle Auto Salvage, King Spin Pizza, Rich Valley Black Walnuts No. 75.

Fifteenth starter Scott Dellinger finished third trailed by Devin Beidel and 18th starter Russ Mitten with Chase Gutshall, Frankie Herr, Jay Fannasy, 23rd starter and ArtWerks Hard Charger Rich Eichelberger and Paul Miller completing the top ten finishers.

Gregg Foster paced the 30-car field in time trials with a lap of 17.506 while heats were won by Gutshall, Beidel and Edkin. Chris Meleason was the Consolation and Edkin was the Dash winner.

Dover’s JR Rodriguez took the lead from Cameron Benyou on lap six and drove to his first win of the year in the 25-lap Bernheisel Race Cars 358 Late Model feature.

Rodriguez pulled away from the field about his Superior Homes No. 97 to become the sixth different late model winner this season. He took the win over  Sean Merkel, Benyou, Sam Rial and last week’s winner Matt Murphy.

Rounding out the top ten were Ben Whitaker, DJ Groft, John Moser, Terry Gingerich and Justin Ehrhart.

Heats for the 13 car field went to Benyou and Rodriguez.

Ryan Smith kept the streak alive in the super competitive Morgan Paving/Aqua Fun Pools Street Stocks as he became the ninth winner in nine events this season.

Starting on the pole, Smith led all 20 laps in dominating fashion to score his first win of the year over Jim Palm, last week’s winner Kory Sites, Matt Adams and 14th starter Craig Morgan with 19th starting and Hard Charger Eric Tripp coming home sixth over Doug Barber, Jimmy Combs, Kevin Sigler and Scott Thunberg.

Mike Potts and Smith were heat winners for the 19 street stocks.

Susquehanna Speedway returns to action Saturday night, July 8 on Pleasantville Construction Night featuring the Credit Connection Auto Sales Super Sportsman, Freedmont® Mortgage Lending PASS IMCA Sprints, Bernheisel Race Cars 358 Late Models, Superior Homes Extreme Stocks and the ServiceMaster Clean Central PA Legends. Racing begins at 7PM.

There will be a Test N’ Tune at the speedway on Wednesday, July 5 from 6-9PM.


Dellingers Auto Body Firecracker 40 presented by Sutliff Chevrolet (40 Laps):
1) 75 Kenny Edkin, 2) 11 Steve Fannasy, 3) 30 Scott Dellinger, 4) 19 Devin Beidel, 5) 77 Russ Mitten, 6) 1A Chase Gutshall, 7) 70D Frankie Herr, 8) 222 Jay Fannasy, 9) 8 Rich Eichelberger, 10) 58 Paul Miller, 11) 84 Chad Criswell, 12) 99 Chad Smith, 13) 14 Nate Young, 14) 2M Matt Ondek, 15) 27 Troy Hockenberry, 16) 32 Gregg Foster, 17) 7 Timmie Barrick, 18) 54 Doug Dodson, 19) 17J Tony Jackson, 20) 23 Justin Foster, 21) 318 Chris Meleason, 22) 3B Mike Enders, 23) 56 Jake Miller, 24) 20w Davey Walsh,
Did Not Qualify: 44 Russ Lebo, 5D Luke Deatrick, 77w Tom Wyckoff, 83 Bruce Buckwalter Jr., 24 Justin Williams, 91 Lanny Hake

1) 97 JR Rodriquez, 2) 118 Sean Merkel, 3) 3B Cameron Benyou, 4) 55 Sam Rial, 5) 21M Matt Murphy, 6) 13x Ben Whitaker, 7) 8 DJ Groft, 8) 4 John Moser, 9) 54 Terry Gingerich, 10) 69 Justin Ehrhart, 11) 5 Jake Moser, 12) 74 Randy Christine, Jr.
Did Not Start: 4M Kyle Moser

1) 59 Ryan Smith, 2) 7P Jim Palm, 3) 21K Kory Sites, 4) 9 Matt Adams, 5) 11 Craig Morgan, 6) 43 Eric Tripp, 7) 63 Doug Barber, 8) 37 Jimmy Combs, 9) 7s Kevin Sigler, 10) 12 Scott Thunberg, 11) 91 Dalton Frye, 12) 64 Brandon Wanner, 13) 71 Sean Todd, 14) 86 Kyle Saylor, 15) M1 Mike Potts, 16) 07 Eric McClane, 17) 54J Mark Hutchison, 18) 9x Les Scrivens, 19) 65 Bill Wentz

No comments: