Sunday, July 30, 2017


Coleby Frye wins first of Port season in super lates

Speedway Offers $10 Admission & $2,000 To Win/25-laps For Late Models Aug. 5

Port Royal – Rick Lafferty dominated the Port Royal Speedway Living Legends Dream Race for 410 sprint cars on Saturday night to record the biggest win of his career, worth a combined total of $12,510 including posted payout and lap moneys.

Lafferty not only won the 35-lap Dream A Main but he also scored a $2,000 win in a 16-lap semi feature to set himself up for the main event. Danny Dietrich won the other semi feature contested.

In the 25-lap super late model main, it was Coleby Frye taking his first Port Royal checkers of the year, worth $2,000.

Lafferty started second in the Dream Race main event and outraced polesitter Greg Hodnett through the first corner to take the lead.

The first caution flag of the race unfurled on just the second lap, bunching the field, with Dietrich restarting third and Lance Dewease racing fourth.

Lafferty entered the backmarkers with Hodnett and Dewease giving chase on the 10th lap and that’s when Hodnett got another shot at the lead.

It was on the 13th tour that Hodnett squeezed by Lafferty for the lead as the pair entered the first turn but Lafferty proved up to the challenge and pulled back around Hodnett onto the backstretch to reclaim command.

A lap later Dietrich slowed on the track, forcing another caution flag.

Lafferty was stout on restarts the entire night, in both his semi main and the feature event, pacing the field slowly to the stripe before dropping the hammer and jetting away when the green appeared.

Another caution flag with 17 away proved the same result and Lafferty again entered traffic with 10 laps to go.

But a blown right rear tire on Cory Haas’ machine necessitated another yellow flag that turned red for refueling moments later.

Lafferty again drove away on the restart to take the victory, the 11th of his career at Port Royal, with a margin of victory of 1.136 seconds.

Dewease raced with Hodnett for second on the final lap and secured the spot in the final turns, taking home some $6,090 on the night including lap and purse moneys.

Hodnett ended up third in the A, taking home a combined total of $3,510.

Lucas Wolfe finished third, pocketing a combined $2,860 and Dale Blaney rode home fifth, accumulating a total of $2,200 on the night.

Sixth through 10th in the feature went to James McFadden, TJ Stutts, Blane Heimbach, Freddie Rahmer and Brock Zearfoss.

Fast times over the 35-car field were set by Blaney and Stutts with laps of 15.864 and 15.942, respectively.

Mike Wagner earned the fan-voted 25th starting position.

Kody Lehman won a complete set of Penske Shocks for having entered the most 2017 Port Royal events out of all the non-qualifiers at the conclusion of the B Main.

Chad Hollenbeck started second and led the first 13 laps of the 25-lap super late model main before seventh starter Coleby Frye took over to run to the win over a stout 32-car field.

Frye worked into third on the 11th lap, getting around Jason Covert for the spot before driving by Matt Cosner for second on lap 13.

It then took Frye just one more circuit to work by Hollenbeck for the victory.

Jason Covert came to second, getting by Cosner for the spot on the 17th loop but failed to gain on Frye for the win.

Covert finished second, 1.055 seconds behind the winner, followed by Cosner, Brian Tavenner and Kyle Hardy.

Sixth through 10th went to Mike Lupfer, Jason Miller, Chad Hollenbeck, Jim Yoder and Jamie Lathroum.

Heats went to Covert, Tavenner, Chris Casner and Cosner with Trent Brenneman scoring the consolation race.

Speedway officials announced that the August 5 show will be Fan Appreciation Night, offering $10 adult general admission for a racing program of 410 sprints, super late models, 305 sprints and xtreme stocks.

It was also announced that the super late models will race in a $2,000 to win, $200 to start, increased purse, 25-lap main in the August 5 show.

It will also be free military night, when past or present members of the military, with proper id, receive free general admission.

Stay up to date with all the latest Port Royal news and information by visiting the oval’s official website at or by following the track on Facebook or Twitter.

Feature Finishes


410 sprints, 25 laps: 1. Rick Lafferty, 2. Lance Dewease, 3. Greg Hodnett, 4. Lucas Wolfe, 5. Dale Blaney, 6. James McFadden, 7. TJ Stutts, 8. Blane Heimbach, 9. Freddie Rahmer, 10. Brock Zearfoss, 11. Danny Dietrich, 12. Cole Duncan, 13. Anthony Macri, 14. AJ Flick, 15. Logan Wagner, 16. Robbie Kendall, 17. Joey Hershey, 18. Cale Grubb, 19. Tyler Bear, 20. Cory Haas, 21. Nicole Bower, 22. Trenton Sheaffer, 23. Steve Buckwalter, 24. Mike Wagner, 25. Dylan Cisney

DNQ: Carl Bowser, Kody Lehman, Curt Stroup, Daryl Stimeling, Troy Fraker, George Streaker, Jared Esh, Tyler Walker, Kyle Reinhardt, Ryan Taylor

Super late models, 25 laps: 1. Coleby Frye, 2. Jason Covert, 3. Matt Cosner, 4. Brian Tavenner, 5. Kyle Hardy, 6. Mike Lupfer, 7. Jason Miller, 8. Chad Hollenbeck, 9. Jim Yoder, 10. Jamie Lathroum, 11. Jason Schmidt, 12. Dave Brouse Jr., 13. Trent Brenneman, 14. Tim Smith Jr., 15. Tim Krape, 16. Tim Wilson, 17. Jeff Miller, 18. Austin Berry, 19. Matt Parks, 20. Chris Casner, 21. Rick Singleton, 22. Andy Haus, 23. Nick Dickson, 24. Rodney Walls

DNQ: Dylan Yoder, Scott Flickinger, Andrew Yoder, Chad Myers, Kirk Baker, Jerry Bard, Kevin Palmer, Chuck Haydt Jr.

No comments: