Sunday, August 13, 2017


SELINSGROVE, Pa. --  The Super Late Models were competing in two different championship races on Saturday night at Selinsgrove Speedway.  Drivers were challenging for the Jeff’s Auto Body and Recycling Selinsgrove Speedway title as well as continuing the charge for the Moon Shine Camo Route 35 challenge series. Neither championship was separated by more 25 points in the top three spots going into the night.

Bryan Bernheisel started from the front row and although he was challenged a few times throughout the event, it was a second straight victory for “Kid Lazer”.

Moon Shine Camo Route 35 challenge series point leader Colby Frye worked through lap traffic well gaining a couple spots to second, but never got in a position to challenge the race leader before a caution flag was thrown on lap 14.

The restart allowed Bernheisel to show some strength as he broke away from second place Frye and third place Chad Hollenbeck.

The yellow flag was back out a few laps later and this time Hollenbeck was able to take second from Frye. Bernheisel used that opportunity to pull away again.

The yellow was thrown for the final time on lap 20. Hollenbeck and Frye waged another battle for the second spot, but Frye slid back outside the top three. Bernheisel had set sail to his second win in a row in the 25-lap, $2,500-to-win feature followed by Hollenbeck and Dylan Yoder. Hayes Mattern and Frye crossed the line fourth and fifth.

Tony Adams recovered from an early race accident to run sixth followed by Steve Campbell, Meade Hahn, Kenny Trevitz, and Dave Stamm.

Heat races for the Late Models were won by Bernheisel, Frye, and Adams.

Eric Tomecek started from the pole position and admitted that a good starting spot in the Untied Racing Club’s appearance at Selinsgrove Speedway on Saturday played a part in a victory; however, it was not all an easy drive. A tricky race track pushed Tomecek to his limits as he raced the speedway and cut his way through lap traffic for the $2,500 win.

The battling was behind Tomecek for the second and third spots. Adam Carberry, Cody Keller, and Curt Michael traded the second spot at times over the 25-lap feature before Keller grabbed it for good. Jason Shultz rounded out the top three finishers from his 18th starting spot. Michael and Carberry were fourth and fifth.

Sixth through tenth in the finishing order were Derek Locke, Larry Kelleher, Davie Franek, Chad Layton, and Josh Weller.

Tomecek, Layton, and Nate Snyder won the heat races for the 360 Sprint Cars.

In an effort to take a big step toward his first Selinsgrove Speedway championship, Tommy Slanker was cautiously aggressive on Saturday night. Slanker made the pass of race leader Brandon Moser on lap five.

Slanker led the rest of the way to lock down his sixth win of the season. Moser, Kyle Bachman, Dustin Snook, and Shaun Lawton were the top five finishers.  AJ Hoffman, Cory Long, John Schoch, Johnny Bouse, and Bill Conrad were the top ten finishers.

Bachman and Slanker crossed the line first in heat races on Saturday night.

Keith Bissinger led the early laps of the Roadrunner feature event before Ryan Zook made a late race pass to win his first Roadrunner feature at the track.

Zook had to maneuver around some lap traffic before the checkered flag. Bissinger got close but settled for a second place finish. Brian Johnson closed out the podium finishers.

Bob Bussey and Will Brunson were the top five.

Tom Underwood led the sixth through tenth place finishers. Behind Underwood were Chase Kapner, Tom Brunson, Brian Mabus, and Kyle Kissinger.

Roadrunner heats were won by Brian Johnson and Keith Bissinger.

Saturday night’s racing program was sponsored by Selinsgrove Ford.

Next Saturday, Aug. 19, Selinsgrove Speedway will offer racing from the 360 Sprint Cars, 305 Sprint Cars, Pro Stocks, and the rescheduled Collier Paving and Construction Roadrunner 20. The Penn Mar Vintage Race Cars will also be on hand.

General Admission will be $12 and kids (12-17) $7. 11 and under will be free for the show starting at 7:30.

For the latest news, results, and race status, visit or follow us on Twitter and Facebook. The speedway office can also be reached at 570.374.2266.

360 Sprint Cars – 24 Entries
25-Lap A-Main:  1) 1W Eric Tomecek  2) 99K Cody Keller  3) 29 Jason Shultz  4) 5G Curt Michael  5) 47C Adam Carberry  6) 77 Derek Locke  7) 76 Larry Kelleher  8) 28F Davie Franek  9) 35 Chad Layton  10) 63 Josh Weller  11) 73B Brett Michalski  12) 89 Robbie Stillwaggon  13) 49 Mallie Shuster  14) 67 Justin Whittall  15) 56C Chris Coyle  16) 22M Nyle Berkes  17) 22 Troy Betts  18) 7K Kris Lilick  19) 6 Sean Hosey  20) 33 Michael Walter  21) 66 Ryan Kissinger  22) 56 Nate Snyder  23) 08 Jason Clauss  24) C4 Jim Shuster
Heat Winners:  Nate Snyder, Chad Layton, Eric Tomecek

Late Models – 23 Entries
25-Lap A-Main:  1) 119B Bryan Bernheisel  2) 4Ds Chad Hollenbeck  3) 24 Dylan Yoder  4) 9 Hayes Mattern  5) 0 Coleby Frye  6) 88 Tony Adams  7) 2 Steve Campbell  8) 7M Meade Hahn  9) 61 Kenny Trevitz  10) 10 Dave Stamm  11) 2Y Andrew Yoder  12) 3 Tim Wilson  13) 63 Nathan Long  14) 6 Donnie Schick  15) Z14 Dave Brouse  16) 2J Jeff Rine  17) 06 Mike Lupfer  18) 22 Brett Schadel  19) 21 Dan Stone  20) 6F Jared Fulkroad  21) 77D Dick Houtz  22) 07 Tim Krape  23) 24Y Jim Yoder
Heat Winners:  Bryan Bernheisel, Coleby Frye, Tony Adams

Pro Stocks –15 Entries
15-Lap A-Main:  1) 40 Tommy Slanker  2) 8M Brandon Moser  3) 99B Kyle Bachman  4) 15 Dustin Snook  5) 92 Shaun Lawton  6) 6C  AJ Hoffman  7) 6N Cory Long  8) 89 John Schoch  9) 28J Johnny Bouse  10) 14C Bill Conrad  11) 86 Wayne Shaffer  12) 11B Jake Buck  13) 6 Noah Jensen  14) 40G Nick Gentile  15) 55 Lori Croop
Heat Winners:  Kyle Bachman, Tommy Slanker

Roadrunners – 12 Entries:
12-Lap A-Main: 1) 28 Ryan Zook  2) 11 Keith Bissinger  3) 201 Brian Johnson  4) 76 Bob Bussey  5) 8B Will Brunson  6) 12 Tom Underwood  7) 12K Chase Kepner  8) 3 Tommy Brunson  9) 2 Brian Mabus  10) 7 Kyle Kissinger  11) 44C Corey Collier  12) 31B Brandon Shultz
Heat Winners: Brian Johnson, Keith Bissinger

No comments: