Monday, August 20, 2018

Scott Dellinger pick up lucky number 7 in rain shortened feature at BAPS Motor Speedway

YORK HAVEN, Pa.: Rain nor a shortened Super Sportsman feature can keep Scott Dellinger out of Victory Lane.
The Lewisberry standout charged to the front in a hurry and collected his seventh Super Sportsman victory of the season at BAPS Motor Speedway. The event was scheduled for a 25-lap distance but was called after 13 circuits due to rain.

But Dellinger made the most of those 13 laps. He started ninth on the grid and surged into the top five in the first few laps, following eighth-place starter Frankie Herr past the competition.
Herr took the lead from Bruce Buckwalter Jr. on the eighth circuit. Dellingered also slipped past Buckwalter and tracked down the leader.
Dellinger stalked Herr and made his move on Lap 12. The defending track champion and current point leader went to the outside of Herr coming out of the fourth corner and had the lead at the stripe.

After Chad Criswell rolled to a stop to bring out the second caution of the event, rain hit the speedway. Dellinger was declared the winner, because the main event was past the halfway point.

Herr finished second, followed by Buckwalter and Todd Leonard. David Walsh completed the top five. Chase Gutshall stormed from 18th to sixth and earned ArtWerks Hard Charger. Mike Enders was named the Sledgecraft Hard Luck winner.

Steve Fannasy, Chris Meleason, and Dellinger were heat winners for the 29-car field. Lanny Hake won the consolations.

The PASS/MASS 305 Sprint main event will be run on Aug. 26 as part of the Justin Snyder Salute to the Troops presented by Dover International event. Tony Stewart’s Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions will also be part of the event.

Austin Bishop, Johnny Scarborough, Kyle Smith, and Darren Miller were heat winners for the 36-car field. Rick Stief and Tim Tanner Jr. won the twin consolations.

The Central Pa. Legends series will also make up their main event on a date to be determined. Scott Smith had quick time with a lap of 22.883. Heat winners for the 37-car field were Scott Smith, Greg Burd, Harlon Leppo, and Zac Smith. Jorge Sweger won the consolation.

Super Sportsman Feature Finish: 1. Scott Dellinger; 2. Frankie Herr; 3. Bruce Buckwalter Jr.; 4. Todd Leonard; 5. Davey Walsh; 6. Chase Gutshall; 7 Jay Fannasy; 8. Scott Grace; 9. Adam Wray; 10. Russ Mitten; 11. Garrett Williamson; 12. Steve Fannasy; 13. Kenny Edkin; 14. Paul Miller; 15. Chris Meleason; 16. Justin Foster; 17. Matt Ondek; 18. Tyler Wolford; 19. Mike Potts; 20. Chad Criswell; 21. Mike Enders; 22. Tom Wychoff; 23. Lanny Hake; 24. John Edkin.

No comments: