Saturday, July 13, 2019

Sodeman Jr. Tops Sprints; Ferree and McPherson win thrillers; Shingledecker Cruises to Second Win

Sarver, PA (June 13, 2019) Underneath clear skies and surrounded by chamber of commerce type weather, the Fab4 Revved up with Marburger Farm Dairy returned for the first time in nearly a month, and they didn’t disappoint.  Surprise winners and intrigue surrounded the four main events as unexpected equipment failures, late race cautions and dramatic charges to the front could be found in every main event.  Point battles tightened up in all four divisions, setting the stage for a five race run to the championships in the second half of the season.

In the Peoples Gas DIRTcar Sprints, AJ Flick looked to be locked for yet another feature victory until misfortune struck, opening the door for his closest pursuer to climb closer to him in the standings.  Jim Morris and Leyton Wagner led the field to the green flag but before one lap could find its way in the books, Jared McFarland and two time feature winner Sye Lynch made contact in turns three and four sending McFarland to the pits and Lynch to the tail of the field.

Following another caution, the race finally got underway and when it did, Morris bolted out to the early lead showing a good amount of speed. Flick managed to take the lead from Morris following a lap five restart and seemingly had the field solved as he stretched out a sizable advantage over Jack Sodeman Jr., Brandon Spithaler, and Carl Bowser.  Flick looked to be in command until he slowed on lap 17 with a broken rear end. Sodeman inherited the lead and never looked back en route to his second victory of the season while Bowser and Spithaler underwent a hotly contested battle for the second position which Bowser earned by taking the last slide job on the final lap. Lynch rallied from the tail of the field to fourth place.

Meanwhile, in a wild Precise Racing Products Late Model main event, Alex Ferree moved forward from his 13th starting spot with authority and put himself in position to take his first win since 2017.  How he got there was interesting indeed as Kenny Schaltenbrand was in command early and looked impressive early on. Schaltenbrand led Tomy Beck, Mike Pegher Jr., Tyler Dietz and Ferree early until a caution for a Jared Miley spin on lap seven reset the field.  Schaltenbrand kept the lead until Pegher got close enough to make a strong bid for the top spot on lap nine. The two drivers came together and made contact coming off of turn four and down the front stretch and stayed glued together until both cars came to a stop near turn one.  Ferree inherited the lead and survived several restarts before Colton Flinner made his presence felt after moving from sixth to second on a late race caution which set the stage for a dramatic ending that saw Ferree lose the lead to Flinner and then get it back on the final lap to seal the victory.

Rick Regalski and Steve Feder led the Diehl Automotive Big Block Modifieds to the green flag where Regalski quickly established himself as the early leader. Behind him, Garrett Krummert and Rex King Sr began making their presence felt as they both were in hot pursuit of the top spot. Krummert would take the lead with a pass underneath Regalski on lap six while Jeremiah Shingledecker was moving forward with authority from his eighth starting spot.

After a pair of cautions, King Sr made his way around Krummert to take the lead, but Shingledecker was seemingly getting faster with each lap and made his way topside where he rocketed around King Sr. on lap 15.  Shingledecker never looked back and cruised to his second win of the season at Lernerville while Rex King Sr took the runner up spot and Rex King Jr. rallied for a third place finish after having to start at the tail of the field due to a battery malfunction before his heat race.

Corey McPherson was putting on a typical performance in the Millerstown Pic-A-Part DIRTcar/RUSH Pro Stocks. The multi-time champion was on the top side of the speedway with a healthy lead over the field over Tyler Dietz, Joey Zambotti and Ryan Moyer.  However, Dietz was able to find some speed in the second half of the race and erased McPherson’s margin each lap until three laps remained. Dietz made a bid for the lead but was slightly hung up on lapped traffic causing him to split two lapped cars in thrilling fashion with two laps to go.  However, his last attempt came up just short as McPherson held on for his second victory of the year.

Peoples Natural Gas DIRTcar 410 Sprint Feature: (25 Laps)

1. (23jr) Jack Sodeman Jr.
2. (11) Carl Bowser
3. (22) Brandon Spithaler
4. (42) Sye Lynch
5. (12) Darrin Gallagher
6. (23s) Russ Sansosti
7. (38) Leyton Wagner
8. (18j) R. J. Jacobs
9. (76) Davey Jones
10. (91) Sadie Siegel
11. (44) Pete Landrum
12. (14) Jeremy Hill
13. (56) Ralph Spithaler
14. (4N) Jimmy Morris
15. (4K) Bill Kiley
16. (2) AJ Flick
17. (11x) George Englert
18. (00) Alan Free
19. (154) Shamus O’Donnell
20. (250) Jared McFarland

Precise Racing Products DIRTcar Late Models Feature: (25 Laps)

1. (4) Alex Ferree
2. (48) Colton Flinner
3. (29) Ken Schaltenbrand
4. (1c) Mike Pegher Jr.
5. (77) Tyler Dietz
6. (9) Clayton Kennedy
7. (15*) Kelvin Kohan
8. (92) Jayme Beck
9. (B1D) Brandon Groters
10. (91T) Tommy Beck
11. (10K) Zachary Kane
12. (23) Tony Burke
13. (55) Chris Schneider
14. (10) Jared Miley
15. (81) Chuck Sarver
16. (84) Andrew Wylie
17. (14R) Clay Ruffo
18. (28c) Clate Copeman

Diehl Automotive DIRTcar Northeast Big Block Modified Feature: (25 Laps)

1. (37md) Jeremiah Shingledecker
2. (65) Rex King Sr.
3. (165) Rex King Jr.
4. (83) Brian Swartzlander
5. (4J) John Mollick
6. (29) Garrett Krummert
7. (61) Dave Murdick
8. (18) Colton Walters
9. (13) Rick Regalski
10. (25) Chris Rudolph
11. (A51) Bill Barr
12. (5) Brian Sadler
13. (75) Jeff Miller
14. (45) Steve Feder

Millerstown Pic-A-Part RUSH/DIRTcar Pro Stocks Feature: (20 Laps)

1. (c33) Corey McPherson
2. (27) Tyler Dietz
3. (948) Joey Zambotti
4. (13x) Ryan Moyer
5. (28Y) Terry Young
6. (66) Joe Kelley
7. (25) Brett McDonald
8. (35b) Jake Dietz
9. (17) Sam Eichelberger
10. (26) Mike Bordt
11. (29B) Scott Byers
12. (29B) Scott Byers
13. (310) Dale Tuche
14. (22jr) Chase Lambert
15. (32) Mark Sanders

No comments: