Monday, December 09, 2019

Drivers, Owners, and Teams honored at the 2019 URC Awards Banquet

2019 Capitol Renegade United Racing Club Champion "Bad" Chad Layton
Bill McIntyre
BREINIGSVILLE, PA – The Capitol Renegade United Racing Club came together on Saturday, December 7, 2019 to reflect upon the 2019 season, and honor the drivers, owners and teams who competed throughout the year. Many awards were given out including point payouts, most improved driver, determination award, rookie of the year, and of course, the 2019 championship award.

The night opened with a welcome by the master of ceremonies for the night, Casey Robicheau, followed promptly by dinner being served. The Kutztown Pub catered the event and featured salad, BBQ baked beans, mac and cheese, ziti, pulled pork and beef brisket with several different types of barbeque sauces to choose from. The food was delicious, and when everyone was done eating the 2019 president, Rick Weller, said a few words. Weller reflected upon the changes the club made during the 2019 season including having a more prevalent social media presence, providing interviews with drivers, updates throughout the night, and instantaneous results posted to both social media and the website. However, Weller said he is looking forward to “traveling more, teaching the grandkids, and turning some wrenches next season,” and with that he introduced the new president of the United Racing Club in 2020, Ryan Stillwaggon.

Stillwaggon spoke about his excitement for taking over the club, as president, and how preparations for the 2020 season have already begun. He eluded to the long history of URC, and how he plans to make next season the best one yet.

Soon after statistics were read from the 2019 season and then, awards began. When each driver was called up their owner was invited up with them to accept their award, and check for their place in the owner’s standings. Troy Betts was the recipient of the Most Improved Driver award after he cracked into the top 5 two times in 2019, something he was unable to do in 2018. Ryan Quackenbush received the Determination Award for his never give up attitude, as he is always determined to learn something from each race he competes in.

Fred Kennedy of Fred’s Trailer Parts sponsored a New Jersey mini-series for the club in 2019, honoring the top 5 drivers who accumulated the most points across the four races held in the Garden State. These drivers included Tyler Ross, Steve Buckwalter, Curt Michael, Chad Layton, and the 2019 Fred’s Trailer Parts New Jersey series champion, Josh Weller. The United Racing Club thanks Fred Kennedy for his continued support of the United Racing Club, and looks forward to partnering with him again in 2020.

Austin Bishop picked up fourth in the driver’s points standings, securing himself as the 2019 Rookie of the year. Bishop scored his first ever URC victory at only the fifth race of the season and had several strong runs proving that he will be someone to watch in the coming seasons.

Finally, the 2019 URC championship owner and driver were honored to round out the night. Chad Layton made an appearance early in the night but had to leave to go support his son in the PA High School State Football Championship game at the Hersheypark Arena, but Kirk Ritter was able to accept the awards and say a few words for the number 35 team. Ritter talked about how they truly felt that the URC was a family and appreciated the fact that in their time of need after suffering engine issues in the middle of the year, many people offered to help them. They are excited to see what 2020 brings and they hope that they will be able to run more with URC in the future, potentially being able to run for another championship.

The 2019 season is in the books for the United Racing Club, and the 3 year title sponsor contract with Capitol Renegade has also come to an end. The United Racing club would like to sincerely thank Wayne Quackenbush, and the entire Capitol Renegade business for a great three years. The partnership was mutually beneficial for the club as well as the trailer company as many members of the club were able to purchase rigs catapulting Capitol Renegade to the top of the sprint car hauler world. Capitol Renegade has decided to take their business to other markets within the motorsports industry and the United Racing Club wishes them much success in the future endeavors.

With that being said, as preparations for the new year begin, the club is actively looking for a new title sponsor for the 2020 season. Changes have already begun, as Stillwaggon looks to make his first trip as President out to PRI this weekend, with the Motorsports show soon after. 2020 is looking bright for the United Racing Club with many talented drivers returning for action along with new talents emerging from other series looking to run with the club at both new and old tracks.

Photo credit: Chad Warner


Driver’s Championship: CHAMPION – CHAD LAYTON; 2. Josh Weller; 3. Curt Michael; 4. Austin Bishop; 5. Ryan Quackenbush; 6. Troy Betts; 7. Jason Shultz; 8. Adam Carberry; 9. Ryan Stillwaggon; 10. Ed Aikin; 11. Tyler Ross; 12. Steve Buckwalter

Owner’s Championship: CHAMPION – KIRK RITTER; 2. Josh Weller; 3. Bill Gallagher; 4. Parke Bishop; 5. Rae Quackenbush; 6. Dave Betts; 7. Ed Aikin; 8. Jason Horst; 9. Adam Carberry; 10. Bob Lillick; 11. Bob Stillwaggon; 12. Sam Ross

No comments: