Thursday, December 05, 2019

Port Royal Speedway to Once Again Play Host to All Star Circuit of Champions in 2020, To Include Weikert Memorial and Tuscarora 50

Bill McIntyre photo
By- Justin Snyder/Port Royal Speedway

PORT ROYAL, Pa- As with anything, the only thing constant about racing is change. With a busy offseason in full swing, many sights and sounds are changing at the Port Royal Speedway for the 2020 racing season.

This is just another step into the future as the Port Royal Speedway continues its rapid ascent as one of the premier racing facilities in all the country.

However, while change is necessary and a welcome addition for fans and drivers alike, the Speedway continues to embrace its roots and past.

Continuing a tradition that began in 1981, when Lynn Paxton won the first ever All Star Circuit of Champions sanctioned  event at the Juniata County oval, the Port Royal Speedway is proud to once again host the Ollie’s Bargain Outlets All Star Circuit of Champions presented by Mobil 1 Sprint Car Series during the 2020 race season.

The series will visit the Speedway three times in 2020 for a total of five nights of racing action.

Formed in 1970 as the first ‘Outlaw’ Sprint Car organization of the modern era, the series has been a staple in the Central Pa. region for decades past. In its current form, the series is owned by motorsports legend Tony Stewart (since 2015) and plays host to some of the best drivers in winged sprint car action that the sport has to offer.

As customary, the series first visit to the Speedway will occur April 18th with the Fifth Annual Keith Kauffman Classic paying $6000 to win for the Sprint Cars. This event honors Kauffman, a 24-time All Star winner and the Port Royal Speedway all-time leading feature winner.

All Star competitor Dale Blaney picked up the first ever event checkered flag in 2016, but since then Lance Dewease has had a stranglehold on the event, as he has won three in-a-row for the Pennsylvania Posse. He will be looking to make it four in 2020.

This will also serve as the first of eight two-day weekends in 2020, as the following night the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series will invade the Speedway for the ‘Rumble By The River’.

A little over a month later, the All Stars will return as they will serve as the host for the annual Weikert Memorial. The two-day event will occur May 23-24 and will once again pay $10,000 to win for the Sprint Cars. It will also include the Super Late Models racing for $5000 each night.

The annual red, white and blue event has been held since 2003 and is a Memorial Day weekend staple that honors the legendary car owner, Bob Weikert. The event first moved to a two-day format in 2016 and the coveted ‘Steer Head’ trophy is one of the most sought-after trophies for drivers yearly. This will be a return to the event for the All Stars, which most recently sanctioned the event in 2015, and it should only ad to what has become one of the premier events at the Speedway.

Last year Danny Dietrich and Logan Wagner picked up victories in the event and they will be looking to ensure the trophy and money stay local against the traveling All Stars. Fred Rahmer (2), Todd Shaffer, Lance Dewease, Greg Hodnett (6), Jeff Shepard, Stevie Smith, Doug Esh, Cody Darrah and Lucas Wolfe (2) are also past winners.

Finally, the crown jewel event of the season, the 53rd Annual Tuscarora 50 will once again be All Star sanctioned and will be held Friday and Saturday, September 11-12. Friday night’s Night Before the 50 will pay $6000 to win with Saturday night’s finale paying $53,000 to win. Saturday night’s event is the highest paying event for the series all season.

Last year Trey Starks swooped in to pick up the Friday night opener and 2-time defending series champion Aaron Reutzel etched his name in the record books as he claimed the Saturday night finale to become the 25th ever victor in the historic event.

Other past winners of the event are Mitch Smith (3), Smokey Snellbaker (2), Lynn Paxton (3), Kenny Weld, Steve Smith, Jim Nace, Gary Howsare, Keith Kauffman (2), George Ferguson Jr., Bobby Allen (2), Dave Blaney, Doug Wolfgang (4), Stevie Smith (2), Todd Shaffer (3), Len Krautheim III, Don Kreitz Jr. (3), Lance Dewease (6), Fred Rahmer (4), Greg Hodnett (4), Doug Esh (2), Mike Erdley, Brian Montieth, Brent Marks and Donny Schatz.

Stay tuned to our various social media outlets and visit our website for more information regarding the events and look for a full schedule to released shortly. Thank you for supporting us and we look forward to seeing you at the track in 2020.

No comments: