Monday, January 06, 2020

Port Royal Speedway Honors 2019 Champions During Season Engine Banquet

Bill McIntyre photo
By- Justin Snyder/Port Royal Speedway

PORT ROYAL, Pa- Port Royal Speedway officially wrapped up the 2019 racing season Saturday night with their annual awards banquet held at the Lewistown Moose Family Center. Five divisions were represented with track champions and special award winners being recognized along with the top 10 in season ending point standings. Food was provided thanks to Harshbarger’s Sub N Malt.

Logan Wagner picked up the championship award for the Weikert’s Livestock 410 Sprint Car division for the second consecutive season. Behind five victories, 15 top-five finishes and 20 top 10’s, Wagner was the first back-to-back champion at the Speedway since Todd Shaffer in 2008-09.

Wagner’s car owners, John and Pee Wee Zemaitis, were also honored as the car owners of the year for the division as a result of Wagner’s championship.

Second through tenth in season ending standings and also receiving acknowledgment was Dylan Cisney, AJ Flick, TJ Stutts, Jared Esh, Mike Wagner, Tyler Reeser, Blane Heimbach, Anthony Macri and Jeff Miller.

410 Special Awards Winners

Rookie of the Year- Jeff Miller

Greg Hodnett Sportsmanship Award- AJ Flick

Most Improved Driver- Jared Esh

In Super Late Model competition, Dylan Yoder was honored as champion. Yoder picked up three wins in 2019 and at season’s end, held a commanding -445 point lead over his fellow competetors.

Second through tenth for the River Valley Builders Super Late Model Division and also being acknowledged was Andy Haus, Jeff Rine, Tim Smith Jr., Mike Lupfer, Austin Berry, Nick Dickson, Gene Knaub, Dillan Stake and Chad Meyers

Super Late Model Special Award Winners

Rookie of the Year- Dillan Stake

Greg Hodnett Sportsmanship Award- Nick Dickson

Most Improved Driver- Austin Berry

Selinsgrove Ford Limited Late Model champion Andrew Yoder was also honored. Yoder had one of the most dominating seasons in recent memory as he picked up seven victories to go along with one second and two third place finishes.

Second through tenth also received acknowledgment and was Devin Hart, Derrick Garman, Kenny Yoder, Ryan Zook, Todd Snook, Taylor Farling, Jared Fulkroad, Donnie Farling and Devin Frey.

Limited Late Model Special Award Winners

Greg Hodnett Sportsmanship Award- Ryan Zook

In Penns Valley Meat Market PASS/IMCA 305 Sprint Car competition, it was Ken Duke being honored as champion. Duke picked up two victories in 2019 and claimed the championship by only 80 markers.

Second through tenth were Nick Sweigart, Jonathan Jones, Devin Adams, Doug Dodsen, Zach Newlin, Drew Ritchey, Kassidy Kreitz, Jaremi Hanson and Cale Reigle.

305 Sprint Car Special Award Winners

Greg Hodnett Sportsmanship Award- Doug Dodsen

Finally, in what will be the Juniata Junction Xtreme Stocks final season at Port Royal Speedway, Brad Mitch was honored as the 2019 champion. Mitch picked up four victories on the season to go along with two second place finishes and claimed the championship by 205 points at seasons end.

Second through tenth being honored were Walt Peters, Chuck Bryner, Pete Leister, Dustin Hoffman, Bill Cooper, Dustin Snook, Kevin Imes, Craig Imes and Josh Bender.

Xtreme Stocks Special Award Winners

Greg Hodnett Sportsmanship Award- Chuck Bryner

No comments: