Saturday, June 27, 2020

Port Royal Speedway Set for Two Race Week as Part of 30th Annual Pennsylvania Speedweek

By- Justin Snyder

Port Royal Speedway- PORT ROYAL, Penn. (June 26, 2020)- Port Royal Speedway is set to return to racing Wednesday, July 1st and Saturday, July 4th as part of the 30th Annual Pennsylvania Speedweek presented by Red Robin. This year’s nine-race schedule will visit six different speedways in Pennsylvania and Maryland and features an increased point fund for drivers who support all nine events.

The point fund will pay out a total of $17,500; 1. $5000 2, $3000 3. $2000 4. $1500 5. $1200 and $1000 for the next 5 competitors. This is all on top of the nightly purses

Specific to the Port Royal Speedway, Wednesday’s time trial event will pay $7000 to the winner of the Weikert’s Livestock 410 Sprint car feature and the URC 360 Sprint Cars will also be on the schedule racing for $2000.

Anthony Macri has won the last three feature events at the Speedway and he will be looking to make it four in-a-row Wednesday night. Defending track champion Logan Wagner enters the week as the points leader with his father, Mike Wagner, trailing by a mere -25 points. Dylan Cisney (-105), AJ Flick (-170) and TJ Stutts (-180) round out the top five.

Ryan Smith picked last year’s URC feature win and he will be looking to defend it this year. Steve Buckwalter, Lucas Wolfe, Greg Hodnett (2), Mark Smith, Randy West, Ryan Wilson, Earl Halaquist and Hank Rogers Sr. are also past winners at the Speedway.

Gates open at 4:00 pm EST and racing is set to kick off at 7:00pm EST.

General Admission- $20, Students- $10, Pits- $35

Saturday’s event will once again honor the late Greg Hodnett for the second consecutive season as it will be the Greg Hodnett Classic paying $10,027 to the winner. Not only is this the second highest paying event on the nine-day schedule, but it also serves as the finale of the series and will feature the crowning of the 2020 Speedweek champion.

Also, on the card for the night will be the River Valley Builders Super Late Models racing for $2500. Gregg Satterlee has won the last two Super Late Model events and will be looking to make it three straight triumphs in front of a packed house. Trevor Feathers currently leads the standings by 75 points over Ross Robinson with Mike Lupfer (-95), Colton Flinner (-100) and Scott Flickinger (-135) rounding out the top five.

The event will once again be an all-day affair as several activities are planned to honor Hodnett and to benefit to Greg Hodnett Foundation, which was established to honor the memory of Hodnett and benefits the families of drivers who may pass away racing.

Activities will kick off at 9:00am EST with the 2nd Annual Greg Hodnett Foundation 5k run/walk. Race-day registration is at 8:00am and there is a $30 registration fee or $25 pre-registration at Prizes will be awarded to the top three male and female winners per age group and the top overall male and female.

In addition to the 5k, there will be a Cornhole tournament presented by Mid-Penn Cornhole to benefit the foundation and the cost/person to register is $15. Partners will be random selection and registration starts at 10:30am, with the tournament schedule to begin at 11:45am. Cash prizes will be handed out to the top three teams and thanks to sponsors, features at least $300 in payouts. For more information, check out

Finally, there will also be an auction featuring several pieces of memorabilia and various donated items to benefit the foundation. Hodnett’s car owner, Mike Heffner, will host the auction and they are continuing to accept donations up until the day of the event. There will also be a table with merchandise for sale to include the brand-new Greg Hodnett National Sprint Car Hall of Fame shirts.

Saturday- Gates Open at 4:00 with Racing Set to Begin at 7:00 pm.

General Admission- $25, Students- $10, Pits $35

Pennsylvania Speedweek has been a yearly tradition at the Junita County Speedway dating back to 1998, where Jeff Shepard picked up the first victory. Other winners include Lance Dewease (4), Don Kreitz Jr., Keith Kauffman (4), Mark Smith, Todd Shaffer, Fred Rahmer, Cody Darrah, Greg Hodnett (3), Justin Henderson, Tyler Walker, Blaine Heimbach, Lucas Wolfe (4), Steve Buckwalter and Danny Dietrich.

Lucas Wolfe enters the week as the defending speedweek champion, and he will be looking for his fifth overall triumph in the series. Other past champions include Fred Rahmer (12), Greg Hodnett (5), Dewease (3), Kauffman, Steve Smith, Stevie Smith and Dietrich.

The Speedway continues to operate under CDC guidelines, and it is recommended that fans wear masks, though they are not required. A limited amount will be available for purchase at the Speedway novelty stand.All social distancing guidelines apply and hand sanitizer stations will be stationed throughout the facility.

Speedway concession stands will once again be open for use, along with Packer’s Concessions and Lauver’s Concessions, via their trailers positioned behind the main grandstands.

Please continue to stay tuned to our website and our various social media outlets for all updated information throughout the week.

No comments: