Tuesday, August 04, 2020


YORK HAVEN, Pa.: First, it was a mechanical problem. Then, a crash and track conditions during a Super Sportsman Tour race took Kenny Edkin out of contention.           

A three-race losing streak is nothing to most drivers. For Edkin, however, the month-long drought seemed like an eternity.           

Edkin took care of that Saturday night at BAPS Motor Speedway. With rain threatening, the Marysville, Pa., driver made short work of the Super Sportsman field to claim the 25-lap main event. It was his fifth win of the season.           

“The car has had lots of speed despite our finishes,” Edkin said. “July wasn’t that kind to me. A parts failure took me out of contention in the 40. The following week, we junked the car on the initial start, and at Lincoln, the track just wasn’t that conducive to passing. Last week, we had a driveline bind after the heat race that we didn’t catch.           

“I was starting to wonder if I’d make it back to Victory Lane this season. It seemed like we used up our luck at the beginning of the season.”           

Continued Edkin, “We’ve fought the car since the wreck. It hasn’t reacted to changes as well as John’s [Edkin] has been, but sometimes when you have an ignorant car, you have to do ignorant things to it to make it work.”           

There was no problem with the car on this night. Edkin started 10th on the grid and quickly made his way to the front.          

Troy Rhome started on the outside pole and beat Todd Leonard to the lead on the first circuit. One lap later, Timmie Barrick stopped in the first and second corner to set up Edkin’s charge.           

The top four went four-wide on the restart through the second corner. Edkin won the tussle, blasting to the top and surging past Russ Mitten, Tyler Wolford, and Rhome to grab the top spot.           

“The track crew reworked the track prior to the feature, and I wasn’t quite sure what to expect,” Edkin said. “The bottom was slick from being watered. I tried the bottom on the initial start and pushed the nose and banged wheels with another car.           

“So, on the restart, I went to the top, and it was pretty fast. I didn’t realize we were four-wide, but I saw an opening almost big enough to take the lead, so I went for it. With the invert every week, I have to pass cars if I want to win, and the easiest time to pass cars is on the starts and restarts.           

You have to take what you can get. Sometimes, it will work out, sometimes it won’t. I’m just glad we were on the good end of the highlight reel this week.”           

Once out front, the race belonged to Edkin. He led the rest of the race distance and beat the weather, as well as his fellow competitors.           

Frankie Herr came from ninth to second. Jay Fannasy, John Edkin, and Scott Dellinger completed the top five. John Edkin won the King of the Hill Match Race. 

The 305 Sprint Car feature was rescheduled to Aug. 29. The A-Main for the Street Stocks has been moved to Sept. 12. 


BAPS Motor Speedway
York Haven, Pa.
Saturday, August 1, 2020
For Immediate Release



Feature (25 Laps): 1. 75-Kenny Edkin[10]; 2. 70D-Frankie Herr[9]; 3. 360-Jay Fannasy[6]; 4. 35-John Edkin[11]; 5. 30-Scott Dellinger[8]; 6. 77-Russ Mitten[7]; 7. 3B-Mike Enders[14]; 8. 383-Steve Fannasy[15]; 9. 2M-Matt Ondek[19]; 10. 25-Bobby Hockenberry[3]; 11. 318-Todd Leonard[1]; 12. 00-Troy Rhome[2]; 13. 71K-Tyler Wolford[4]; 14. 22-Daniel John[16]; 15. 21R-Jamie Rickert[20]; 16. (DNF) 1A-Chase Gutshall[5]; 17. (DNF) 8-Rich Eichelberger[21]; 18. (DNF) 77W-Tom Wyckoff[18]; 19. (DNF) 99G-Scott Grace[13]; 20. (DNF) 7-Timmie Barrick[17]; 21. (DNF) 8M-Chris Meleason[12]

Lap Leaders: Troy Rhome (1), Kenny Edkin (2-25)

Super Sportsman Heat 1 Finish (10 Laps/All Qualify): 1. 70D-Frankie Herr[7]; 2. 8M-Chris Meleason[2]; 3. 77-Russ Mitten[6]; 4. 360-Jay Fannasy[5]; 5. 99G-Scott Grace[1]; 6. 22-Daniel John[3]; 7. (DNF) 8-Rich Eichelberger[4].

Super Sportsman Heat 2 Finish (10 Laps/All Qualify): 1. 318-Todd Leonard[1]; 2. 00-Troy Rhome[2]; 3. 75-Kenny Edkin[7]; 4. 1A-Chase Gutshall[4]; 5. 3B-Mike Enders[5]; 6. 7-Timmie Barrick[3]; 7. 2M-Matt Ondek[6].

Super Sportsman Heat 3 Finish (10 Laps/All Qualify): 1. 35-John Edkin[5]; 2. 25-Bobby Hockenberry[2]; 3. 30-Scott Dellinger[6]; 4. 71K-Tyler Wolford[3]; 5. 383-Steve Fannasy[4]; 6. 77W-Tom Wyckoff[1]; 7. 21R-Jamie Rickert[7].



Feature: Postponed to Saturday, August 29, 2020

Lap Leaders:

305 Sprint Heat 1 Finish (8 Laps/Top 6 Transfer to A-Main): 1. 3D-Dave Grube[1]; 2. 20-Doug Dodson[9]; 3. 18-Ian Detweiler[2]; 4. 8-Nick Sweigart[4]; 5. M1X-Justin Mills[3]; 6. 87-Austin Graby[7]; 7. 99-Devin Adams[8]; 8. 2-Erin Statler[5]; 9. 17KK-Donavyn Knokey[10]; 10. (DNF) 55-Domenic Melair[6].

305 Sprint Heat 2 Finish (8 Laps/Top 6 Transfer to A-Main): 1. 75-Dylan Shatzer[1]; 2. 79-Ian Cumens[3]; 3. 61-Johnny Scarborough[4]; 4. 25-Dustin Young[2]; 5. 69-Landon Price[6]; 6. 56-Jake Frye[9]; 7. 2H-Derek Hauck[8]; 8. 1-Rowdy Heffner[7]; 9. (DNS) M1-Mike Potts.

305 Sprint Heat 3 Finish (8 Laps/Top 6 Transfer to A-Main): 1. 36-Jaremi Hanson[1]; 2. 95-Garrett Bard[2]; 3. 5-John Walp[3]; 4. 45-Kevin Nagy[8]; 5. 17K-Kyle Keen[4]; 6. 03-Branstin Shue[5]; 7. 19-Kruz Kepner[7]; 8. 23M-Thomas Wise[6]; 9. 54-Mike Melair[9].

305 Sprint Consolation Finish (8 Laps/Top 6 Transfer to A-Main): 1. 99-Devin Adams[1]; 2. 2H-Derek Hauck[2]; 3. 19-Kruz Kepner[3]; 4. 55-Domenic Melair[9]; 5. 2-Erin Statler[4]; 6. 1-Rowdy Heffner[5]; 7. 23M-Thomas Wise[6]; 8. M1-Mike Potts[10]; 9. 17KK-Donavyn Knokey[7]; 10. 54-Mike Melair[8].



Feature: Postponed to a later date.

Lap Leaders:

Modified Heat 1 Finish (8 Laps/All Qualify): 1. 11-Brad Kling[7]; 2. 8-Tim Fedder[3]; 3. 6M-Carl McKinney[6]; 4. 59-Doug Stine[4]; 5. 983-Keith Lamphere[2]; 6. 29-Douglas Ostwald[5]; 7. 55S-Jason Sage[1].

Modified Heat 2 Finish (8 Laps/All Qualify): 1. 95-Michael Altobelli[2]; 2. 7H-Josh Hughes[1]; 3. 95J-Justin Cullum[6]; 4. 33-Randy Stoudt[5]; 5. 1J-Gary Warehime[4]; 6. 07-Jimmy Jesmer[7]; 7. 17-Andy Bosley[3].

Modified Heat 3 Finish (8 Laps/All Qualify): 1. 11W-Beau Aikey[2]; 2. 90-Ray Kable[3]; 3. 44-Nick DiBella[1]; 4. 5-Jerry Foster[4]; 5. 55-Alyssa Rowe[5]; 6. (DNF) 21H-Kyle Lloyd[6].

Modified Heat 4 Finish (8 Laps/All Qualify): 1. 55C-Cody Oliver[3]; 2. 3D-Curt Dunn[5]; 3. 98K-Keith Jack Lamphere[1]; 4. 73*-Amber Mills[2]; 5. 1$-Dale Smith[6]; 6. (DNF) 13G-David Green[4].



Feature: Postponed to Saturday, September 12, 2020

Lap Leaders:

Street Stock Heat 1 Finish (8 Laps/All Qualify): 1. 2W-Brian Walls[2]; 2. 59-Ryan Smith[1]; 3. 64W-Stan Wanner[3]; 4. 14-Kyle Saylor[5]; 5. 214-Kyle Sizemore[7]; 6. 15-Brian Boughter[4]; 7. 37-Jimmy Combs[9]; 8. 72M-Russ Shoop[6]; 9. 5-Niklas Stoudt[8].

Street Stock Heat 2 Finish (8 Laps/All Qualify): 1. 1W-Michelle Walls[1]; 2. 81-Jasen Geesaman[4]; 3. 21W-Will Walls[6]; 4. 80D-Greg Diehl[2]; 5. 7P-Jim Palm[5]; 6. 5W-Bud Witmer[7]; 7. 543-Eric Tripp[8]; 8. 64-Brandon Wanner[9]; 9. 14D-Justin Dashler[3]. 

No comments: