Monday, June 21, 2021

Weaver, Tressler and Mother Nature are Victorious at Clinton County Speedway


Mill Hall, PA - Jeffrey Weaver and Robert Tressler, both from Lock Haven were victorious at the Clinton County Speedway on Friday night in the 270 and Pro Stock divisions, respectively.   Mother Nature then claimed the remaining three feature events of the night for the 600 Micro Sprints, RaceSaver Sprints, and the four-cylinder divisions. 

Aidan Adams and Denny Rinehimer lead the full field of 270 Micro Sprints to the green flag of their 15 lap main event.   Rinehimer led the first circuit with sixth place starter Bobby Sanso in second followed by Adams and Dan Wertman. 

Sanso pressured Rinehimer for the lead but was unable to make the pass for the lead.  Meanwhile, Weaver, who started in 10th was charging towards the front of the field.   On lap number 7, the red flag waved when Tom Quiggle rolled his car onto its side.  Quiggle was ok and able to restart the race.   With the restart, Rinehimer led Sanso, Weaver Adams, and Timmy Bittner as the top five competitors.   On lap number ten Weaver made a bid for the runner up position and was able to pass Sanso.  With two laps remaining, Rinehimer appeared to have the stronger car, but misfortune struck as the cars entered turn three.  Something mechanical failed on Rinehimer’s cars causing him to slow coming through turns 3 and 4 which brought out the caution giving Weaver the lead.   On the same lap, Mike Shuckers broke into the top five. 

Weaver went on to lead the final two circuits to claim the victory.  Shuckers used the restart to advance his position, moving from fifth to second in the final two laps.  Sanso finished third, Timmy Bittner was fourth and Brayden Kuhn claimed fifth with a pass on the final lap.  Sixth through tenth were Skeetz Hockenbrock, Mac Wert, Troy Whitesel, Logan Hammaker, and Hunter Zimmerman.  Heat Races were won by Weaver, Wertman and Bittner.  

The Pro Stock feature was given the green flag with Brad Benton and Gary Mellott starting on the front row.   Benton led the opening laps when a caution occurred on lap three involving Rich Fye and Todd Geyer.   On the restart Benton maintained his position in front but had lots of company and several challenges for the lead.  At one moment seven cars were contending for the win, battling two and three wide for several laps.   By the completion of lap number five, Benton edged out Noah Jensen to lead the lap, but with Gary Mellott, AY Schilling, Brandon Moser, Cory Long, AJ Hoffman and Ray Rothfuss all within inches of one another while swapping positions.   Tressler, who started eighth, took over the second spot on lap number eight and made the winning pass on lap number nine.   With eleven laps complete of the 15 lap feature, it started to rain.   The cars were taken off the track and the event was checkered.  Tressler was declared the winner over AY Schilling, Brandon Moser, AJ Hoffman, and Ray Rothfuss.  Sixth through tenth were Cory Long, Noah Jensen, Logan Hile, Rich Fye and Marc Bitler.  Heat races were won by Benton and Moser.  

Due to the time of the shower, it was deemed that the track could not be run before the speedway’s curfew so the remainder of the event was cancelled.   600 Micro Sprint Qualifiers were won by Timmy Bittner and Jeffrey Weaver.  Sprint Car Heats were won by Daven Brenam, Scott Lutz and Garrett Bard.  4 Cylinder Heats were won by Sam Creveling, Blake Snyder, and John Bower. 

The Clinton County Speedway will return on Friday, June 25th with a five division show.  The Limited Late Models will be the feature event with the Pro Stocks, 270 Micro Sprints, the Four Cylinders, and double features for the 600 Micro Sprints.   Gates will open at 5PM and Racing begins at 7:30PM.  For the latest speedway information visit us at  or follow us on Facebook, Instagram, or Twitter.  




270 MICRO SPRINTS:  1. Jeffrey Weaver 2. Mike Shuckers 3. Bobby Sanso 4. Timmy Bittner 5. Jeff Kuhn 6. Skeetz Hockenbrock 7. Mac Wert 8. Troy Whitesel 9. Logan Hammaker 10. Hunter Zimmerman 11. Luke Hess 12. Levi Brungard 13. Tom Quiggle 14. Denny Rinehimer 15. Aidan Adams 16. Ethan Spotts 17. Cory Stabley 18. Dan Wertman 19. Preston Phillips 20. Gary Keister 21. Tyler Clowes 22. Sam Chamberlin 23. Nick Whitesel 24. Buddy Kramer 25. Mitchell Holden  DNS Jerry Palms  Heat Races: Weaver, Wertman, Bittner  

PRO STOCKS: 1. Robert Tressler 2. AY Schilling 3. Brandon Moser 4. AJ Hoffman 5. Ray Rothfuss 6. Cory Long 7. Noah Jensen 8. Logan Hile 9. Rich Fye 10. Marc Bitler 11. Rooster Peters 12. Kris Orwig Sr. 13. Brad Benton 14. Gary Mellott 15. Todd Geyer Heat Races:  Benton, Moser


SPRINT CAR HEATS: Devin Brenam, Scott Lutz, Garrett Bard   

600 MICRO HEATS: Timmy Bittner, Jeffrey Weaver    

4 CYLINDER HEATS: Sam Creveling, Blake Snyder John Bower 

No comments: