Tuesday, July 27, 2021

Port Royal Speedway Set to Hold 15th Annual Living Legends Dream Race


By- Justin Snyder

Port Royal Speedway- PORT ROYAL, Penn. (July 26, 2020) - Port Royal Speedway returns to its regularly scheduled events on Saturday, July 31, with a two-division show as part of the 15th Annual Living Legends Dream Race presented by River Valley Builders. 

The Weikert’s Livestock 410 Sprint Cars will compete in a pair of features, with the first feature paying $10,000 to win and paying $500 to start. The entire purse on the line for the event will be nearly $35,000 and the annual race serves as one of the largest paying non-sanctioned events on the east coast. 

The first 30-lap event will utilize the Pennsylvania Speedweek format and will serve as a replacement for the cancelled Greg Hodnett Classic from earlier this month. Heat races will pay $227 to win courtesy of RV 4 Wheel Drive & Performance Automotive Inc and quick time in time trials will receive $300 courtesy of Packer's Concessions, LLC.

As a thank you to the fans and drivers who supported the initial event that was rained out, the track will also hold a second 25-lap feature that will pay $5000 to win courtesy of Krill Recycling, LLC. The winner of the first event will pull an invert pill for the second feature to set the lineup. The entire second feature purse will be $21,000.

Logan Wagner enters the weekend as the track points leader with a commanding 270-point advantage over Dylan Cisney. Mike Wagner (-290), Jeff Halligan (-325) and Anthony Macri (-580) make up the rest of the top-five.
Lastly, the River Valley Builders Super Late Models will be on the card, vying for $3000 to win. Heat race winners for the late models will pay $250 to win courtesy of Ted Reitz. The late models will utilize group time trials during warm-ups to help set the lineups for their heat races.

Dylan Yoder enters the weekend with a narrow 25-point advantage over Gary Stuhler in the track standings. Third is Ross Robinson (-35), followed by Colton Flinner (-45) and Jeff Rine (-140).

Traditionally the race honors one or two “Living Legends” from the past of the speedway, however this year will feature a large gathering saluting all the living past champions from both the sprint car and super late model divisions. Nearly 30 drivers are scheduled to return to the track for a large group autograph session occurring prior to the races in the building behind the main grandstands from 4:30-5:30. George Hobaugh Motorsports will also be set up with his car behind the main grandstands representing Krill Recycling signing autographs during this time frame.

The first ever Dream Race was held in 2007, where Sean Michael triumphed in a very popular and emotional win driving for the late Jim Nace in his #6 Sprint Car. Since then, Greg Hodnett (2), Cody Darrah, Chad Layton, Blane Heimbach, Ryan Taylor, Brent Marks, Rick Lafferty, Lance Dewease (2), AJ Flick and most recently Anthony Macri have all won the prize event.

Pricing for the event will be GA- $30, Students- $15, Pits-$40.

For the fans who attended on July 3, 2021, with a valid wrist band provided, they will be able to attend this event at no additional cost (meaning a $5 discount). Their wrist bands will continue to be able to be used for other events based on the normal 30-Day policy as well.

Gates will open at 4pm and racing is set to kick off at 7pm.

Please stay tuned to our various social media outlets as well as our website www.portroyalspeedway.con for updates and please feel free to reach out if interested in supporting this event in any way!

Ad courtesy of Inside Line Promotions

No comments: