Monday, August 16, 2021

Ryan Smith Makes History by Winning First 410 Show in Over a Decade at Clinton County Speedway


Mill Hall – The Clinton County Speedway hosted the 410 Sprint Cars for the first time in over a decade at the 3/8th mile oval.   The Kunkletown Kid, Ryan Lynn topped the field of 34 Sprint Cars to claim the $4,000 payday presented by NAPA and Toner Auto Parts with stores in Mill Hall and Jersey Shore.  AJ Stroup won the Pro Stock feature and Maddox Smith won the 4 Cylinders feature.

Brandon Spithaler of Evans City, PA set a fast time during time trials with a lap of 13.233 seconds.  Heat races were won by Ryan Smith, Joe Kata III of Goshen, NY, Todd Gracey of Glenville and Alex Bright of Collegeville. Adam Carberry of Hilltown won the consi.

Ryan Smith and Billy Dietrich of Aspers, PA were the front row starters for the 35 lap Sprint Car Main event.   Smith took the lead at the drop of the green flag and raced hard with Dietrich through turns one and two.  At the completion of lap number five, Smith continued to lead while Dietrich and Alex Bright battled for second with Darin Gallagher and Brandon Spithaler completing the top five.  On lap number seven, Bright was able to pass Dietrich for the runner up position. 

The first caution of the night occurred on lap number twelve when Tyler Bear spun in turn two.   While under the caution, Spithaler’s brakes caught on fire ending his night of competition.  Smith again performed a flawless restart to pull away from Bright, with Dietrich in third and Mark Smith moved into fourth and Gallagher in fifth.   Smith continued to pace the field, while Bright, Dietrich and Mark Smith were in a contested battle for the second, third and fourth positions.   The caution came back out on lap number 26, when Joe Kata’s car stopped in turns three and four.   Smith was able to maintain the lead while Bright and Dietrich were in a fierce battle for second.  Dietrich would make a pass for the second position in turns one and two, while Bright would make a comeback down the back stretch and reclaim the spot as the duo exited turn number four.   On lap number 31, Dietrich was able to secure the runner up position forcing Bright to battle with Mark Smith.   Two late race cautions bunched the field back up with two laps remaining.   Smith held off Dietrich for the win, over Bright, Mark Smith and Darin Gallagher.  Sixth through tenth were Davie Franke, Ryan Kissinger, Mike Thompson who was the hard charger coming from the 24th position, followed by Derek Locke and Austin Bishop. 

“It’s awesome to be part of this,” said Smith in victory lane.  “The track was excellent; I could run high or low and this was a great event, and we look forward to coming back again.”   The top three finishers in victory lane were appreciative of the large crowd in attendance and appreciated the opportunity to be part of this historical moment at Clinton County. 

In Pro Stock competition, AJ Stroup and Robert Tressler started on the front row for the 15 lap main event.  Stroup led Tressler on the opening lap.  On the second lap three cars tangled to bring out the caution.  Following the restart, fifth place starter Cory Long managed to take the second spot from Tressler.  On lap number 7, Brandon Moser passed Tressler for third, as the top four cars were in a close battle for the lead.  A few laps later Tommy Dawson began to battle Tressler for the fourth spot.  Stroup continued to lead every lap to claim the victory over Long.  Dawson passed Moser on the final circuit to take the third position, Moser was fourth and Tressler completed the top five.   Moser and Stroup won the qualifiers.

Lee Zook and Joey Snook started on the front row of the 4 Cylinder feature event.  On the opening lap Dillan Craft brought out the caution and had to take his car to the pit area.   Upon the restart, two more cars got together to slow the field caused by Dustin Stimely and Zack Rill.  Once the race was restarted Snook took the early lead, by the completion of lap number three, Maddox Smith advanced from eighth to take the front position.  On lap number four, the red flag came out when Gage Wilson rolled his car.  The driver was okay.   Smith was challenged early by Lee Zook.  The ninth place starter, Blake Snyder marched his way up to second by the completion of lap number seven.  Smith, Snyder and Zook held the top three positions.  Keith Haagen passed Skyler Witchley for fourth with two laps remaining.   Smith held on to win his second feature event of the weekend, over Snyder, Zook, Haagen and Witchley.  Sixth through tenth were Andrew Rickets, John Baney, Chris Small, Brain Snook and Kyle Strouse.  Heat race winners were Witchley, Smith and Joey Snook 

The Clinton County Speedway returns this Friday night with racing action.  Leonard’s Landscape and Supply will present the Pro Stocks in a $500 to win summer championship.  In addition, the Limited Late Models, 270 Micros, 600 Micros and 4 Cylinders will be part of the program.   Gates will open at 5Pm, Hot laps are at 7PM and Racing begins at 7:30PM. 

For the latest speedway information follow us on Facebook or our website,


410 Sprint Cars: 1. Ryan Smith, 2. Billy Dietrich 3. Alex Bright 4. Mark Smith 5. Darin Gallagher 6. Davie Franek 7. Ryan Kissinger 8. Mike Thompson 9. Derek Locke 10. Austin Bishop 11. Josh Beamer 12. Joe Kata III 13. Dakota Hamilton 14. Doug Hammaker 15. Drew Ritchey 16. Adam Carberry 17. Dale Schweikart 18. Mike Koehler 19. Johnny Smith 20. Ryan Linder 21. Brandon Spithaler 22. Tyler Bear 23. Jack Sodeman 24. Todd Gracey   DNS: John Walp, Kyle Colwell, Tylor Cochran, Aaron Jacobus, Andrew Jacobus, Mike Lutz, Dwight Leppo, Jesse Pruchnik, Jacob Balliet

Heat Races: R. Smith, J. Kata, T. Gracey, A. Bright Consi: A. Carberry

Pro Stocks: 1. AJ Stroup 2. Cory Long 3. Tommy Dawson 4. Brandon Moser 5. Robert Tressler 6. Noah Jensen 7. Rich Fye 8. AY Schilling 9. Noah Kissinger 10. Rooster Peters 

Heat Races: Stroup and Moser

4 Cylinders: 1. Maddox Smith 2. Blake Snyder 3. Lee Zook 4. Keith Haagen 5. Skyler Witchley 6. Andrew Ricketts 7. John Baney 8. Chris Small 9. Brian Snook 10. Kyle Strouse 11. Tim Muthler 12. Hunter Flook 13. Coty Maines 14. Gage Wilson 15. Dakota Hamilton 16. Dustin Stimely 17. Zach Rill 18. Dillan Craft DNS: Joey Snook, John Stringfellow, Gavin Bilbay

Heat Races: Witchley Smith & J. Snook

Attached Photo: (Speedway Provided) - Ryan Smith of Kunkletown won the PA Sprint Car Shootout at the  Clinton County Speedway.  

No comments: