Sunday, August 15, 2021

Zionkowski Claims 3rd Career Victory at Clinton County Speedway


Mill Hall – Jared Zionkowski from Wyalusing, PA claimed the Race Saver Sprint Car feature event Friday night for the first of two nights of racing at the Clinton County Speedway.  The win was the third of his career at the 3/8th mile oval.   Brandon Moser claimed the Pro Stock victory, Derek Swartz of Jersey Shore won the 600 Micro Sprints, Timmy Bittner of Beech Creek won the 270 Micros and Renovo’s Maddox Smith won the 4 Cylinder main event. 

Jarrett Cavalet and Jeffrey Weaver started on the front row for the 25 lap Race Saver Sprint Car main event.   Weaver took command of the field and by lap five led Cavalet, Kyle Colwell, Mike Lutz, and Austin Greenland.  On lap number 6, Lutz and Greenland brought out the caution flag for an incident in turn number four.   On the restart, Weaver opened up a three car length advantage over Cavalet.   On lap number 8, Colwell was in a battle for the runner up position and brought out the red flag when his car rolled onto its side and also collected Dakota.   Both drivers were okay and able to rejoin the race.   Jared Zionkowski, who started eighth moved into the top five on lap number 8 and secured the runner up position by lap number 10.   Zionkowski used the high side of the speedway and began to reel in Weaver as the leaders began to encounter lapped traffic.

At the halfway mark of the race Weaver had Zionkowski glued to his rear bumper followed by Cavalet, Dylan Proctor and Ryan Lynn.   Weaver and Zionkowski continued to battle through lapped traffic.  After completing lap number 18, Weaver attempted to dive under a lapped car.  The two cars touched, and Weaver’s car flipped at the end of the front stretch.  Weaver was okay.   Zionkowski inherited the lead with Cavalet, Lynn, Proctor and Josh Beamer restarting in the top five.     Lynn took the runner up position with two laps remaining.   Zionkowski claimed the victory over Lynn, Cavalet, Josh Beamer and Dylan .  Garret Bard, who started 19th rallied to finish sixth, Tylor Cochran, Dustin Prettyleaf, Matt Tebbs and Corey Brungard completed the top ten.  Heat races were won by Reed Thompson and Dakota Schweikart.

Bradley Benton led the first lap of the Pro Stock feature event.   By lap number two AY Schilling took the lead.  Two laps later, Brandon Moser raced this way to the front of the field.   By lap seven, it was a four car battle between Moser, Schilling, Robert Tressler and Noah Jensen.   On lap number ten, Corey Long entered the top five.  Moser held off the challenges of Schilling for the win.  Tressler was third, Long fourth and Jensen completed the top five.  Heats were won by Schilling and Tressler. 

Mac Wert and Hayden Walizer brought the field of 270 Micro Sprints to the start of the feature event.   A first lap caution occurred as the field exited turn number four involving six cars.  All drivers were okay.   With a complete restart, Timmy Bittner took the lead heading down the back straightaway.   By the completion of lap number five, Bittner led Hayden Walizer, Jeffrey Weaver, Hunter Zimmerman and Skeetz Hockenbrock.  On lap nine, Hockenbrock and Shawn Musser passed Zimmerman to take over fourth and fifth positions.  The top five remained unchanged in the race to the checkered flag, with Bittner winning over Walizer, Weaver, Hockenbrock, and Musser.  Sixth through tenth were Kyler Stahl, Levi Brungard, Brad Snyder, Hunter Zimmerman, and Cory Stabley.  Heats were won by Weaver and Walizer. 

Derek Swartz started on the pole position for the 600 Micro Sprint Feature.  Swartz battled with Jeff Gyuina for the first three laps.  Timmy Bittner took the runner up position on lap four.  On lap number nine, Johnny Smith moved into third, making it a three car battle for the lead.  With two laps to go, Smith passed Bittner but was unable to catch Swartz.  The event went nonstop with Swartz winning his second feature of the year over Smith Bittner, Gyuina and Weaver.  Heats were won by Swartz and Smith.

Coty Maines led the opening laps of the four cylinder feature.  By lap number seven Larry Beecher took the lead.  Two laps later Chris Small took the lead.   Meanwhile Maddox Smith continued to work his way up through the field from his eleventh starting spot and took the lead with two laps to go.  Smith claimed the win over Small, Blake Snyder, Hunter Flook and Larry Beecher.  Heats were won by Small, Keith Haagen and Beecher.

The Clinton County Speedway races again on Saturday as part of its two day show.  The 410 Sprint Cars return to Clinton County for the first time in more than a decade.  NAPA and Toner Auto Parts will present a $4,000-to-win event for the 410 Sprint Cars.  In addition, the Pro Stocks and 4 Cylinders will be on the program.  Gates will open at 4PM, Hot laps at 6:30PM and Racing begins at 7PM.

For the latest speedway information follow us on Facebook or our website,



RaceSaver Sprint Cars: 1. Jared Zionkowski 2. Ryan Lynn 3. Jarrett Cavalet 4. Josh Beamer 5. Dylan Proctor 6. Garrett Bard 7. Tylor Cochran 8. Dustin Prettyleaf 9. Matt Tebbs 10. Corey Brungard 11. Dakota Schweikart 12. Dale Schweikart 13. Reed Thompson 14. Dave Guss Jr. 15. Mariah Romig 16. Jeffrey Weaver 17. Kyle Colwell 18. Scott Lutz 19. Austin Greenland

 Pro Stocks: 1. Brandon Moser 2. AY Schilling 3. Robert Tressler 4. Cory Long 5. Noah Jensen 6. Rich Fye 7. Rooster Peters 8. Gary Mellott 9. Bradley Benton 10. Marc Bitler

270 Micros: 1. Timmy Bittner 2. Haden Walizer 3. Jeffrey Weaver 4. Skeetz Hockenbrock 5. Shaun Musser 6. Kyler Stahl 7. Levi Brungard 8. Brad Snyder 9. Hunter Zimmerman 10. Cory Stabley 11. Aidan Adams 12. Mitchell Holden 13. Mathew Dixon 14. Mac Wert 15. Logan Hammaker 16. Mac Wert 17. Logan Hammaker 18. Bobby Sanso 19. James Bilger DNS Rich Damore, James Bilger

600 Micros: 1. Derek Swartz 2. Johnny Smith 3. Timmy Bittner 4. Jeff Gyuina 5. Jeffrey Weaver 6. Dustin Roberts 7. Ethan Spotts 8. Mitchell Holden 9. Dan Tripoli DNS Dan Tripoli

Four Cylinders: 1 Maddow Smith 2. Chris Small 3. Blake Snyder 4. Hunter Flook 5. Larry Beecher 6. Chloe Smith 7. John Stringfellow 8. John Baney 9. Coty Maines 10. John Bower 11. Andrew Ricketts 12. Brent Taylor 13. Nick Snook 14. Zack Rill 15. Kyle Strouse 16. Emily Brouse 17. Gage Wilson 18. Joey Snook 19. Bryan Hackenberg 20. Tim Muthler 21. Dillan Craft 22. Keith Haagen 23. Skyler Witchley DNS Andy Margosiak

No comments: