Monday, September 20, 2021

Zionkowski Preps for Nittany 40 with Victory at Clinton County Speedway


Mill Hall, PA – Jared Zionkowski used Friday night’s race as the final preparation race for the Nittany 40 coming up in two weeks at Clinton County.  “If the track is tacky like tonight for the big race, that would be great,” said Zionkowski in Victory Lane.  It was his second win of the season.   Other winners of the night included Brandon Moser in the Pro Stocks, Dexter Strawser in the 600 Micro Sprints, Jeffrey Weaver in the 270s and Joey Snook in the Four Cylinders.  


Dustin Prettyleaf and Jarret Cavalet led the field of sprint cars to the green flag.  Prettyleaf led the first lap with fourth place starter, Zionkowski in second Matt Tebbs in third followed by Reed Thompson and Cavalet.   The leaders began to encounter lapped traffic by lap number six with Prettyleaf in the lead and Zionkowski within striking distance.   On lap number seven, Zionkowski used the high lane of the speedway to pass Prettyleaf and a lapped car to take the lead.  

Zionkowski weaved his way through lapped traffic like a seasoned veteran, utilizing the high and low sides of the speedway.  Prettyleaf maintained second with Matt Tebbs running in third.   Seventh place starter Dylan Proctor and tenth place starter Josh Beamer started to make a charge towards the front of the field.  

On lap number 19, the red flag waved, when Hayden Walizer caught the wheel of another sprinter and flipped in turns three and four.  Walizer was ok.   Following the restart, Zionkowski brought the field up to speed, with Prettyleaf, Tebbs, Proctor, and Cavalet in the top five.  The final six laps went caution free, as Zionkowski raced to his second win of the season.  Prettyleaf was second, Tebbs third, Proctor finished fourth and Cavalet completed the top five.   Sixth through tenth were Beamer, Scott Lutz, Matt Cochran, Dakota Schweikart, and Craig Dobrosky.  Heat races were won by Prettyleaf, Cochran and Zionkowski.

Todd Geyer and Gary Mellott started on the front row of the Pro Stock feature event.   Mellott battled with Geyer and led the first several laps.  By the completion of lap number five, Mellott was leading sixth place starter Brandon Moser, Geyer, AJ Stroup, and Jason Smith.   Moser made a pass for the lead on lap number seven.   The caution flag waved as the field came to complete lap number eight, when Cory Long spun in turn four.   Following the restart, AJ Stroup took the runner up position away from Geyer and tried to chase down the race leader.    On lap number eleven, the caution flag waved again for Long and Rich Fye who got together while battling for position   On the restart Moser led, Stroup, Geyer, Mellott and Robert Tressler.   With two laps remaining, Stroup slowed and took his car to the pits, allowing Geyer to take back the runner up position.  At the checkered flag, Moser was the winner over Geyer, Tressler, Mellott and Long.   Sixth through tenth were Noah Kissinger, Chris Orwig Sr, Rooster Peters, Smith, and Stroup.  Heat races were won by Moser and Mellott.

Dustin Roberts advanced from the outside of the front row to take the lead in the 600 Micro Sprint feature event.   The caution came out on lap number two when Timmy Bittner slowed on the front stretch.   Roberts continued to show the way with Dexter Strawser, Jeff Gyuina, Jeffrey Weaver and Mitchell Holden in pursuit.  Roberts would continue to hold off Strawser until lap number 12.  Strawser took the lead and would lead the final four laps for the win over Roberts, Gyurina, Holden, and Chase Rousey.  The heat was won by Bitner.

James Bilger started on the pole of the 270 Micro Sprint feature event and took the early lead.  Tenth place starter Jeffrey Weaver took the top spot by the completion of lap number four.   The caution flag waved on lap number seven, with four cars involved in a turn four accident.   By lap number nine, Denny Rinehimer moved into the second spot.  Skeetz Hockenbrock moved into the top five by lap number ten.  Weaver continued to lead the remaining laps to claim his 44th career feature win, tying him for 4th on the all time career win list.   Crossing the line second was Rinehimer, Bilger, Hockenbrock, and Shawn Musser.  As of press time, the 270 results remain unofficial pending a tech review.  Heats were won by Weaver and Levi Brungard.

Joey Snook started on the outside of the front row in the 4 Cylinder main event.   Snook took the lead over pole sitter Donald Wynn.  The field slowed on lap number two when a caution was needed for Shane Wager who stopped on the speedway.  Upon the restart Snook maintained the lead over Wynn, Dillan Craft, and Larry Beecher.  The leaders begin to encounter lapped traffic on lap number nine.    Snook cruised to his first career win over Dillan Craft, Larry Beecher, Maddox Smith, and Cody Stover.  Sixth through tenth were Blake Snyder, Chris Small, Jimmy Moyer, Keith Haagen and Dustin Miller.   Heat races were won by Jimmy Moyer, Craft, Stover, and Hunter Flook.  The b-main  was won by Brad Boyd.

The next event at the Clinton County Speedway will be on Saturday, October 2nd.  Gates will open at 1PM and Racing will begin at 4:30. The RaceSaver Sprints will compete in the Nittany 40 presented by Bill Happy Camper Sales and Service of Mill Hall.   Sprint cars will use time trials and heat races to determine the starting lineup for the biggest race of the season for the Sprint Cars.  The Pro Stocks will also compete in their biggest race of the year, the CW Smith Memorial paying $1,800 to win for their 50 lap main event.  In addition, the 270 Micros, the 600 Micros and the four cylinders will be in competition.  For the latest speedway information, visit the speedway website at or follow us on Facebook.


Sprint Cars: 1. Jared Zionkowski 2. Dustin Prettyleaf 3. Matt Tebbs 4. Dylan Proctor 5. Jarrett Cavalet 6. Josh Beamer 7. Scott Lutz 8. Tylor Cochran 9. Dakota Schweikart 10. Greg Dobrosky 11. Austin Greenland 12. Chris Kreider 13. Josh Fox 14. Ryan Lynn 15. Todd Lynn 16. Reed Thompson 17. Kruz Kepner 18. Hayden Walizer 19. Dave Guss Jr. 20. Dale Schweikart 21. Jeffrey Weaver 22. Mariah Romig DNS Erick Knopp

Pro Stocks: 1. Brandon Moser 2. Todd Geyer 3. Robert Tressler 4. Gary Mellott 5. Cory Long 6. Noah Kissinger 7. Kris Orwig Sr. 8. Rooster Peters 9. Jason Smith 10. AJ Stroup 11. Rich Fye 12. Mike Gray

600 Micro Sprints: 1. Dexter Strawser 2. Dustin Roberts 3. Jeff Gyuina 4. Mitchell Holden 5. Chase Rousey 6. Jeffrey Weaver 7. Dan Tripoli 8. Timmy Bittner 9. Stone Keller


270 Micros (unofficial) 1. Jeffrey Weaver 2. Denny Rinehimer 3. James Bilger 4. Skeetz Hockenbrock 5. Shawn Musser 6. Cory Stabley 7. Mitchell Holden 8. Aidan Adams 9. Levi Brungard 10. Dan Wertman 11. Jillian Maurer 12. Frank Gentile 13. Mathew Dixon 14. Tom Quiggle 15. Brad Snyder 16 Mac Wert 17. Timmy Bittner 18. Logan Hammaker 19. Wyatt Walizer 20. Evan Dickey

Four Cylinders: 1. Joey Snook 2. Dillan Craft 3. Larry Beecher Jr 4. Maddox Smith 5. Cody Stover 6. Blake Snyder 7. Chris Small 8. Jimmy Moyer 9. Keith Haagen 10. Dustin Miller 11. Anthony Potter 12. Dillan Hoover 13. Gaige Wilson 14. Andrew Ricketts 15. Mike Hepler 16. Bryan Hackenberg 17. Jon Stringfellow 18. Tim Tentek 19. Donald Wynn 20. Donnie Wagner 21. Hunter Flook 22. Coty Maines 23. Shane Wager 24. Brad Boyd DNS: Paul Young, John Baney, Tim Muthler, Nick Snook, Dustin Kinser, Brett Shirk, Roger Fagen, Damon Hand, Katelynn Sementelli and Toby Stahl

No comments: