Saturday, April 25, 2015

Cunningham wins at Trail Way Speedway

HANOVER, PA (4/24/2015) – The 19 cars finished at the front again Friday night at Trail-Way Speedway. 

But this time, it was J.B. Cunningham standing in victory lane. 

“I sold all my stuff last year, and if I wouldn’t have, I wouldn’t be here,” said Cunningham upon exiting the Your Auto Source/Bricker’s Famous French Fries/NAPA Auto Parts #19 in victory lane, “I want to thank Don Garrett for believing in me and his sponsorship support.”
After finishing second in their first race as a team last week, Cunningham was running only his second race since 2013.
 “I’m worn out,” said Cunningham, “I need to get back in shape!”
 “I should have won last week,” continued Cunningham, “Isaac (Sneeringer) if fast here.”
 For his part, winner of the first two races Sneeringer started ninth out of ten cars and methodically worked his way through the field to pass 2014 Central PA rookie of-the-year Wyatt Hinkle for second on lap 14. 
 By then, Cunningham was a half-lap ahead.  The only caution of the event came out on lap 16.  A lapped car between the #19 and #19z gave Cunningham the room he needed to driver to a 2.44-second win. 
 Third through fifth were Jeff Halligan in his first appearance of the year, Cody Fletcher, and Bill Stine.

Heats for the 10 “358” sprint cars were won by Tyler Esh and Stine.

Once he got by front row starter Brian Marriott for the lead on lap six, Cory Myers dominated the 20-lap 270cc micro-sprint feature, crossing 9.75 seconds in front of second-place Steven Cox, who came from the back after an early-race incident. 
 Marriott ran second until dropping off the pace on the final lap and crossing sixth. 

Billy Laughman, Tim McClelland, and Joe Long, Jr. rounded out the top five.
 Heats for the 18 micros were won by Cox and Myers.

Dan Furman raced to his first win of the year in the 20-lap street stock feature.  Furman crossed one car length  in front of teammate Craig Wagaman, with Michael Goodwin, Jeremy Stremmel and Aaron Beard completing the top five.  Wagaman was challenging Furman for the lead on lap 13 when he was struck from behind by third-place Stremmel.  Stremmel was sent to the rear with Wagaman and came back through  the field to finish fourth.

The lone qualifier for the ten street stocks was also won by Furman.
Shannon Weaver ended a multi-year dry spell by crossing first in a wild 15-lap limited stock feature that saw the whole top five in contention until the very end.  Kyle Rohrbaugh crossed a half car length behind in second, with Robbie Carroll, Kenny Startzman, and Robert Nicklow finishing third through fifth. 
Robert Wellman led the first nine laps before polesitter Robbie Carroll took the lead.  Weaver caught Carroll for the front spot on lap 14, and held off Kyle Rohrbaugh at the end.  Rohrbaugh passed Carroll on the last lap. 

Heats for the 14 limited stocks were won by Rohrbaugh and Terry Hartlaub.
Next Friday night, May 1st, the Limited Late Models will make their long-awaited return to the famed 1/3rd mile oval on the farm.  Although the 358 Sprints will be taking the night off, the Limited Stocks, Central PA Legends, Sidewinders and Penn-Mar Vintage Cars will all be on the schedule. Gates open at 5:30 p.m. and heats begin at 7:45 p.m.
The following Friday, May 8th, the Hoosier Tire Mid-Atlantic 358 Sprints will be back in action along with the Limited Stocks, Street Stocks and 600cc Micro Sprints. It will also be “York County Racing Club Night.” All card holding club members will receive $2 off the admission fee. Gates open at 5:30 p.m. and heats begin at 7:45 p.m.

Friday April 24, 2015
Trail-Way Speedway
Hanover, PA
For Immediate Release


FEATURE (25 Laps) – 1. 19-JB Cunningham, Jr.; 2. 19Z-Isaac Sneeringer; 3. 45H-Jeff Halligan; 4. 66A-Cody Fletcher; 5. 71M-Bill Stine; 6. 19D-Wyatt Hinkle; 7. 10-Zach Euculano; 8. 35-Tyler Esh; 9. 64-Randy Whisler (DNF); 10. 77-David Holbrook (DNF). No time.

Lap Leaders: JB Cunningham, Jr. (1-25)

358 Sprint Heat 1 Finish (10 Laps/All Qualify) – 1. 35-Tyler Esh; 2. 19D-Wyatt Hinkle; 3. 66A-Cody Fletcher (DNF); 4. 64-Randy Whisler (DNF); 5. 10-Zach Euculano (DNF). Time – 2:29.78

358 Sprint Heat 2 Finish (10 Laps/All Qualify) – 1. 71M-Bill Stine; 2. 19Z-Isaac Sneeringer; 3. 19-JB Cunningham, Jr.; 4. 45H-Jeff Halligan; 5. 77-David Holbrook (DNS). Time – 2:28.72

 FEATURE (15 Laps) – 1. 5-Shannon Weaver; 2. 12-Kyle Rohrbaugh; 3. 69-Robbie Carroll; 4. 94-Kenny Startzman; 5. 18-Robert Nicklow; 6. 39-Shane Miller; 7. 92-Terry Hartlaub; 8. 96-Sarah Redmond; 9. 41-Robert Wellman; 10. 99-Cody Klinedinst; 11. 81-Matt Chronister (DNF); 12. 16-Julio Perez (DNF); 13. 32-Jeff Foster (DNS); 14. 38-Jason Chronister (DNS).

Lap Leaders: Robert Wellman (1-9), Robbie Carroll (10-13), Shannon Weaver (14-15)

Limited Stock Heat 1 Finish (6 Laps/All Qualify) – 1. 12-Kyle Rohrbaugh; 2. 41-Robert Wellman; 3. 94-Kenny Startzman; 4. 69-Robbie Carroll; 5. 81-Matt Chronister; 6. 16-Julio Perez; 7. 38-Jason Chronister (DNS). Time – 2:13.35

Limited Stock Heat 2 Finish (6 Laps/All Qualify) – 1. 92-Terry Hartlaub; 2. 18-Robert Nicklow; 3. 5-Shannon Weaver; 4. 99-Cody Klinedinst; 5. 39-Shane Miller; 6. 96-Sarah Redmond; 7. 32-Jeff Foster. Time – 2:15.31

 FEATURE (20 Laps) – 1. 5M-Dan Furman; 2. 7M-Craig Wagaman; 3. 33-Michael Goodwin; 4. 51-Jeremy Stremmel; 5. 60-Aaron Beard; 6. 1J-Eric Johnson; 7. 28-Kelly Seal III (DNF); 8. 17-Brian Blank, Jr. (DNF); 9. 40K-David Johnson (DNS); 10. 94-Dalton Myers (DNS). No time.
 Lap Leaders: Dan Furman (1-20)

Street Stock Heat 1 Finish (8 Laps/All Qualify) – 1. 5M-Dan Furman; 2. 7M-Craig Wagaman; 3. 51-Jeremy Stremmel; 4. 33-Michael Goodwin; 5. 17-Brian Blank, Jr.; 6. 28-Kelly Seal III; 7. 60-Aaron Beard; 8. 40K-David Johnson; 9. 94-Dalton Myers; 10. 1J-Eric Johnson (DNF). No time
 FEATURE (20 Laps) – 1. 20-Cory Myers; 2. 58-Steven Cox; 3. 2-Billy Laughman; 4. 6C-Tim McClelland; 5. 4T4-Joe Long, Jr.; 6. 18-Brian Marriott; 7. 22-Michael Boer; 8. 8-Jim Still; 9. 29C-Jeff Arigo; 10. 12-Dayne Koontz; 11. 44-Richard Crunkilton; 12. 23-Tyler Cool (DNF); 13. 82-David Gillpatrick (DNF); 14. 21-Zachery Cool (DNF); 15. 99-Joe Trone, Jr. (DNF); 16. 1B-Brent Bull (DNF); 17. 43-Brandon McMillion (DNS); 18. 1D-Steve Bull (DNS). No time.

Lap Leaders:Brian Marriott (1-5), Cory Myers (6-20)

270 Micro Sprint Heat 1 Finish (8 Laps/All Qualify) – 1. 58-Steven Cox; 2. 1B-Brent Bull; 3. 18-Brian Marriott; 4. 8-Jim Still; 5. 99-Joe Trone, Jr.; 6. 22-Mike Boer; 7. 43-Brandon McMillion (DNF); 8. 2-Billy Laughman (DNS); 9. 23-Tyler Cool (DNS). Time – 2:14.

270 Micro Sprint Heat 2 Finish (8 Laps/All Qualify) – 1. 20-Cory Myers; 2. 4T4-Joe Long, Jr.; 3. 6C-Tim McClelland; 4. 29C-Jeff Arigo; 5. 21-Zachery Cool; 6. 12-Dayne Koontz; 7. 44-Richard Crunkilton; 8. 82-David Gillpatrick (DNF); 9. 1D-Steve Bull (DNS). Time – 2:14.56

No comments: