Sunday, April 26, 2015

Smith Comes From Mid Pack To Capture 360 Victory

SELINSGROVE, Pa. – Mark Smith of Sunbury started Saturday night’s 25-lap 360 sprint car feature at Selinsgrove Speedway in the 10th position and made a late-race pass by Jason Shultz of Carlisle for his second win of the season at the Snyder County oval.

The $2,000 victory at the wheel of the Mach 1 Chassis house car was Smith’s 13th career at the track in 358-360 sprint car competition.

Dave Zona of Montrose held off a last-ditch effort by two-time winner Jeff Rine of Danville for his first win of the season in the 25-lap super late model feature.

Andrew Shoop of Mifflintown won his second race of the year in the 15-lap pro stock feature, while John Fowler Jr. of Montandon scored his first win of the season in the 12-lap roadrunner race.

Selinsgrove Speedway will present the 35th annual Jack Gunn Memorial for 360 sprint cars sanctioned by the United Racing Club at 7 p.m. Saturday, May 2. The 30-lap tribute race will pay $3,500 to win and will include time trials as part of the qualifying format. The super late models and pro stocks will also be on the racing card. Track gates will open at 5 p.m.

At the start of the sprint car feature, third-place starter Michael Walter got turned sideways in turn four and collected 16th-place starter Mallie Shuster. When the race restarted, original fourth-place starter Jason Shultz drove into the lead with seventh-place starter TJ Stutts in pursuit.

With five laps completed, Shultz and Stutts led second-place starter Derek Locke, polesitter Ryan Kissinger, and sixth-place starter Larry Kelleher in the top five spots. At the lap eight marker, 10th-place starter Mark Smith dueled with Stutts for the runner-up position. Smith eventually secured second on the 12th lap.

In the final laps of the race, Smith caught Shultz in traffic and made the winning pass using the inside lane in turn one on the 20th circuit. Smith stretched his lead as Stutts began to pressure Shultz for the runner-up position. At the checkered flag, Smith was victorious by a mere second over Stutts, Shultz, 15th-place starter Chuck Hebing, and 12th-place starter Davie Franek.

Polesitter Chad Hollenbeck powered into the lead at the start of the late model feature. Hollenbeck was trailed by second-place starter Meade Hahn for the first two laps before third-place starter Dave Zona took over the runner-up position.

Hollenbeck continued to lead the race until the sixth lap when Zona made the winning pass on the backstretch. At the halfway point, Zona was setting the pace in front of sixth-place starter Jim Yoder, ninth-place starter Matt Cochran, 12th-place starter Jeff Rine, and 14th-place starter Kyle Harder.

With nine laps to race, Rine advanced to second and began to reel in Zona in traffic. Dylan Yoder, who started 13th, horsepowered his way into the third spot with five laps remaining. On the final circuit, Zona took the high line around lapped traffic and edged out Rine by just .28 of a second for the victory. D. Yoder, Hardy, and Cochran completed the top five.
Polesitter Matt Hornberger led the first lap of the pro stock feature until fourth-place starter Andrew Shoop made the winning pass in turn two on the second circuit. On the sixth circuit, third-place starter AJ Stroup advanced to second and set his sights on the leader. Despite several caution flags, Shoop kept his racer out in front of the pack and posted a .67 of a second margin of victory over Stroup, Nathan Long, Matt Hornberger, and Kyle Bachman.

Front row starter Ricky Buss escaped injury when his roadrunner went into a series of barrel rolls on the backstretch at the start of the main event. When the race resumed, third-place starter John Fowler Jr. pulled into the lead and held off fifth-place starter and last week’s winner Bob Bussey by .24 of a second for the victory. Dustin Snook, Jeremy Kline, and Brandon Shultz completed the top five.

360 Sprint Cars – 20 Entries
25-Lap A-Main:  1) 1 Mark Smith  2) 23 TJ Stutts  3) 29 Jason Shultz  4) 45 Chuck Hebing  5) 28F Davie Franek  6) 89 Robbie Stillwaggon  7) 5G Curt Michael  8) 19 Colby Womer  9) 76 Larry Kelleher  10) 77 Derek Locke  11) 22 Troy Betts  12) 98 Joe Trenca  13) 39  Eric Parker  14) 3A Kevin Albert  15) 66 Ryan Kissinger  16) 29S Derek Steward   17) 33W Michael Walter II  18) 1W Eric Tomecek  19) 49S Mallie Shuster  20) 99K Cody Keller
Heat Winners:  Derek Locke, Cody Keller, Jason Shultz

Late Models – 27 Entries
25-Lap A-Main:  1) 99Z Dave Zona  2) 2J Jeff Rine  3) 24 Dylan Yoder  4) 99V Kyle Hardy  5) 16 Matt Cochran  6) 2 Steve Campbell  7) 27 Jim Yoder  8) 17 Nick Dickson  9) 3 Tim Wilson  10) 41 Chris Canser  11) 4D Chad Hollenbeck  12) 7M Meade Hahn  13) 26 Jerry Bard  14) 1F Coleby Frye  15) 28 Jason Smith  16) 88 Tony Adams  17) 11 Jason Schmidt  18) 10 Dave Stamm  19) 99 Steve Stitt  20) 88T Ernie Millon  21) M1 Mike Mort  22) 76 Andy Haus  23) 43A Gene Knaub  24) 61 Ken Trevitz
Heat Winners:  Meade Hahn, Dave Zona, Jeff Rine
Consolation Winner:   Allan Brannon

Pro Stocks – 12 Entries
15-Lap A-Main:  1) 8 Andrew Shoop  2) 26 AJ Stroup  3) Nate Long  4) 99 Kyle Bachman  5) 33 Curtis Lawton  6) 14 Dave Brouse Jr.  7) 4 Jim Payne 8) 89 John Schoch  9) 2 Adam Campbell  10) 6 Nate Herman  11) 55 John Troxell  12)   88 Matt Hornberger  
Heat Winners:  Adam Campbell, Andrew Shoop

Roadrunners – 9 Entries
12-Lap A-Main:  1) 02 John Fowler 2) 76 Bob Bussey  3) 15 Dustin Snook  4) 8K Jeremy Kline  5) 31B Brandon Shultz  6) F14 Ed Capper  7) 12 Tom Underwood  8) 7 Butch Shaffer  9) 22 Ricky Buss

No comments: