Tuesday, May 26, 2015

Hodnett Dominates Field In Ray Tilley Classic

SELINSGROVE, Pa. – Greg Hodnett of Spring Grove scored a flag-to-flag victory in Sunday night’s 30-lap Ray Tilley Classic for 410 sprint cars at Selinsgrove Speedway by half of a second over 2013 race winner Brent Marks of Myerstown.

The $5,000 victory was Hodnett’s sixth win in central Pennsylvania and seventh overall this season driving the Heffner Enterprises/ No. 27. It marked Hodnett’s 16th career victory at the speedway.

Members of Ray Tilley’s family were on hand to present Hodnett with a custom crystal cup trophy to commemorate the win in the tribute race, which was run to honor the memory of the late Hall of Famer who clinched four sprint car championships and recorded 69 victories at the track.  

Lucas Wolfe of Mechanicsburg was the Fast Tees Fast Qualifier with a lap time of 16.907.

Scott Geesey of Dillsburg won his first super sportsman race at Selinsgrove Speedway in the division’s 20-lap feature, while Reese Thompson of Petersburg drove to his first-ever victory at the track in the 20-lap 305 sprint car feature.

Selinsgrove Speedway is back in action this Saturday, May 30, with a four division show of 360 sprint cars, super late models, pro stocks, and roadrunners at 7 p.m. The pro stocks will compete in the annual $1,000-to-win Pro Stock 20 championship race. Track gates will open at 5 p.m.
At the start of the Tilley Classic, Greg Hodnett stormed into the lead from his outside front row starting position and led polesitter Aaron Ott for most of the event. By lap five, Hodnett opened a comfortable lead over Ott, sixth-place starter Brock Zearfoss, 10th-place starter Brent Marks, and fourth-place starter Lucas Wolfe.

At the halfway point, Hodnett had stretched his lead to a straightaway over Ott. On the same lap, 14th-place starter Chase Dietz tagged the third turn wall and rolled to a stop in turn four, bringing out the race’s first caution flag.

When the race resumed, Hodnett completed lap 16 before the caution flag unfurled again when Zearfoss hit the second turn wall after his car reportedly had a rear axle break. On the restart, Marks moved into the second position as fifth-place starter TJ Stutts began to show a lot of speed and advanced to third.

The final caution flag waved on lap 22 for debris, setting up an eight-lap chase to the checkered flag. In the closing laps, Marks reeled in Hodnett to put in a bid for the lead but came up just half of a second short at the checkered flag. Hodnett was victorious over Marks, Stutts, Wolfe, and Ott.
In the super sportsman feature, second-place starter Chad Trout led the field to the green flag with third-place starter Paul Miller in pursuit.  The race was slowed on lap seven when Kenny Edkin’s car rolled to a stop on the backstretch.

On the lap eight restart, Trout continued to set the pace with Miller and seventh-place starter Scott Geesey in close pursuit. On another restart, Geesey advanced to the second spot and began to pressure Trout for the lead.

Racing down the backstretch, Miller’s car went up in smoke on the 14th lap and brought out the race’s final caution flag. On the lap 15 restart, Geesey made the winning pass using a slider through the first and second turns. Geesey went on to take the checkered flag by two seconds over Trout, Scott Dellinger, Kevin Nouse, and Doug Dodson.
Reed Thompson started on the pole in the 305 sprint car feature and was chased by third-place starter Jordan Thomas for all 20 laps. Lap after lap, Thomas raced in Thompson’s shadow but never got the opportunity to make a pass for the lead. At the checkered flag, Thompson was victorious by just .92 of a second over Thomas, Bill Jones, Stephanie Stevens, and Erin Statler. 

410 Sprint Cars – 19 Entries
30-Lap Ray Tilley Classic:   1)  27 Greg Hodnett ($5,000) 2) 19M Brent Marks   3) 23 TJ Stutts  4) 1Z Lucas Wolfe  5) 25 Aaron Ott  6) 3 Pat Cannon  7) 21A Kevin Nouse  8) 17B Steve Buckwalter  9) 12 Blane Heimbach  10) 33 Curt Stroup  11) 66 Ryan Kissinger  12) 75 Frankie Herr  13) 19W Colby Womer  14) 31 Jim Campbell  15) 33W Michael Walter II   16) 3Z Brock Zearfoss  17) 44 Chase Dietz  18) 24B Dustin Baney  19) 5B Justin Barger
Heat Winners:  Kevin Nouse, Brock Zearfoss
Time Trials:  1) 1Z Lucas Wolfe 16.907  2) 3 Pat Cannon 16.989  3) 27 Greg Hodnett 17.038  4) 25 Aaron Ott 17.081  5) 23 TJ Stutts 17.088  6) 3Z Brock Zearfoss 17.315  7) 12 Blane Heimbach 17.393  8) 17B Steve Buckwalter 17.497  9) 19M Brent Marks 17.504  10) 33 Curt Stroup 17.527  11) 21A Kevin Nouse 17.613  12) 5B Justin Barger 17.634  13) 75 Frankie Herr 17.904  14) 44 Chase Dietz 18.060  15) 19 Colby Womer 18.130  16) 24B Dustin Baney 18.345  17) 66 Ryan Kissinger 18.396  18) 33W Michael Walter II 18.538  19) 31 Jim Campbell DQ
Super Sportsman – 24 Entries
20-Lap A-Main:  1) 41 Scott Geesey  2) 7C Chad Trout  3) 30 Scott Dellinger  4) 1J Kevin Nouse  5) 54 Doug Dodson  6) 99 Frankie Herr  7) 3B Mike Enders  8) 222 Jay Fannasy  9) 77 Russ Mitten  10) 93 Carmen Perigo Jr.  11) 99C Chad Smith  12) 8 Rich Eichelberger  13) 20W Davie Walsh  14) 7B Timmy Barrick  15) 70D Bill Devine  16) 07 Colby Womer  17) 58 Paul Miller  18) 25 Bob Hockenberry  19) 29W Adam Wray  20) 75 Kenny Edkin  21) 11 Steve Fannasy  22) 7 Todd Leonard  23) 55C Chad Criswell  24) 32 Justin Foster
Heat Winners:  Scott Gessey, Mike Enders, Russ Mitten
305 Sprint Cars – 11 Entries
20-Lap A-Main:   1) 6R Reed Thompson  2) 79 Jordan Thomas  3) 29J Bill Jones Jr.  4) 20 Stephanie Stevens-Dodson  5) 2 Erin Statler  6) 11Z Zach Newlin  7) 67 Ken Duke  8) 57G Geoff Gill  9) 12J Jonathan Jones  10) 19 Tylor Cochran  11) 15 Mike Schuckers
Heat Winners:  Ken Duke

No comments: