Saturday, May 09, 2015

Montieth Wins Second In A Row In Williams Grove Outlaw Tune Up

Hershey Wins Second Career In 358s
Mechanicsburg – Brian Montieth of Phoenixville won the Williams Grove Speedway 410 sprint car feature for the second week in a row on Friday night in what was a tune-up event for next week’s invasion by the World of Outlaws. In the 20-lap 358 sprint main it was lady racer Brie Hershey that took the win after surviving a furious charge to steal the lead on a restart with two laps to go.

Don Kreitz Jr. and Montieth shared the front row for the start of the 410 sprint main and Kreitz took the lead immediately as the field raced out of the fourth corner to the green flag.
Kreitz was never able to shake Montieth in the early going and as he entered the backmarkers by lap five the man they call “The Edge” was living up to his name, tearing around the high cushion in pursuit of Kreitz.
The pair of leaders was nose to tail as they crossed the stripe to score lap six and the next time around the roles were reversed with Montieth ahead at the line.

Through heavy traffic the pair played a high-speed game of cat and mouse with Kreitz leading again as the eighth lap was scored. Montieth settled back for a lap or two before mounting his final challenge and again the pair was racing nose to tail, working the backmarkers on the slickening track.

Montieth finally got the lead for good from Kreitz on the 11th tour and then he began pulling away in what was a non-stop event. During the later stages Kreitz fell off the winning pace but did finish second while Montieth took the $4,000, 25-lap payday.

Brent Marks rode home third followed by Danny Dietrich and Jim Siegel.
Sixth through 10th went to Greg Hodnett, Tim Glatfelter, Kyle Reinhart, Cory Haas and fast timer Brock Zearfoss.

Heats went to Montieth, Reinhart and Kreitz who also earned the pole by winning the dash.
Austin Hogue took the B Main and Zearfoss set quick time over the 31 cars with a time of 17.445 seconds.

Hershey led all 20 laps of the 358 sprint main after the first and second rows were swapped after a failed initial start.
Hershey took the green that held from the second spot and saw Chase Dietz race into second on the third circuit. It seemed Hershey was home free until a final caution flag with two laps to go regrouped the field, placing Dietz tight on her bumper with Amy Ott restarting third.

And when green reappeared Hershey had Dietz wedged to her inside while Ott blasted to the outside as the trio bolted into the first corner.

But Hershey proved unshakable and kept her line to hold off the challenges and pick up her second career Williams Grove Speedway limited sprint win.
Dietz ended up second followed by Matt Campbell, Adrian Shaffer and Ott, who slipped backward after her attempt at the win.
Heats went to Dietz, Matt Campbell and Adrian Shaffer.

May 8, 2015 Feature Finishes:
410 sprints, 25 laps: 1. Brian Montieth, 2. Don Kreitz Jr., 3. Brent Marks, 4. Danny Dietrich, 5. Jim Siegel, 6. Greg Hodnett, 7. Tim Glatfelter, 8. Kyle Reinhart, 9. Cory Haas, 10. Brock Zearfoss, 11. Lucas Wolfe, 12. Lance Dewease, 13. Steve Buckwalter, 14. Ryan Smith, 15. Mark Smith, 16. Austin Hogue, 17. Pat Cannon, 18. Alan Krimes, 19. Stevie Smith, 20. Gerard McIntyre Jr., 21. Rodney Westhafer, 22. Rick Lafferty, 23. Glenndon Forsythe, 24. Aaron Ott
DNQ: Robbie Kendall, Daryl Stimeling, Jay Galloway, Troy Fraker, Jim Shuster, Nicole Bower, Jay Reichard

358 sprints, 20 laps: 1. Brie Hershey, 2. Chase Dietz, 3. Matt Campbell, 4. Adrian Shaffer, 5. Amy Ott, 6. Kevin Nouse, 7. Doug Hammaker, 8. Kody Lehman, 9. CJ Quirk, 10. Ryan Kissinger, 11. Scott Fisher, 12. Matt Findley, 13. Chris Arnold, 14. Leah Starner, 15. DJ Montgomery, 16. Russell Hammaker, 17. Tyler Esh, 18. John Braim, 19. Adam Lyman, 20. Chandler Leiby, 21. Jordan Givler, 22. Bill Stine, 23. Phil Walter, 24. Cody Fairchok
DNQ: Brad McClelland

No comments: