Sunday, June 14, 2015

Sixth Starting Spot Is Charm For Hodnett, Yoder & Miller At Port Royal Saturday


Port Royal – Greg Hodnett ran down and passed Doug Esh to claim the 25-lap 410 sprint car feature at Port Royal Speedway on Saturday night, scoring his third oval win of the season worth $3,200.

In the 22-lap super late model main, Selinsgrove’s Dylan Yoder recorded his first speedway win of the year after garnering a host of podium finishes leading up to the event.

In the 305 sprint main, it was defending track series champion Jeff Miller of Huntingdon scoring the victory while Jason Davis won his second of the year in the xtreme stock division. 

Esh had the outside of the front row for the start of the 410 sprint main and he took the lead at the start over polesitter Brock Zearfoss while sixth starter Hodnett leaned on Mike Wagner for third.

Esh was at the front of the field with four laps down when a stoppage occurred for a crash by Tyler Bear in the third corner. 

The restart saw Hodnett duck under Wagner to take third for good but only that lap was completed before the race pace was slowed again, this time for fifth runner Kyle Reinhardt who spun out. 

Hodnett worked on Zearfoss when action resumed while 11th starter Kevin Nouse worked forward to break into the top five just as Hodnett put a move on Zearfoss for second with eight laps recorded. 

Esh entered the backmarkers on the 11th loop with Hodnett keeping pace when the events final yellow unfurled for a tangle in the first turn that saw Wayne Dadetto spin and Zearfoss make contact, falling out of third place.

Esh had a lapped car as a buffer between he and Hodnett for the restart but Hodnett soon disposed of the car to work directly on Esh.

As Esh circled the high cushion, Hodnett stalked him, loosing some ground upon exiting the turns while gaining upon entry.

But it was that power on entry that gave him the lead on the 19th tour when he blasted across the bottom entering the third turn to complete a clean sweep into control and begin driving off from the field.

Lucas Wolfe powered into third late in the event to finish behind Esh.

Wagner rode home fourth followed by Nouse.

Sixth through 10th went to Steve Buckwalter, Ryan Taylor, Dylan Cisney, Logan Wagner and Rick Lafferty.

Heats for the 27-car field went to Dylan Cisney, Buckwalter and Hodnett with Logan Wagner taking the consolation race.

Justin Kaan of Hesston took the lead over Patrick Bryner at the start of the super late model main with Dylan Yoder starting sixth. 

Yoder was up to third by the seventh tour and was still in the spot on the 11th lap when Matt Parks slowed, regrouping the field for a restart.

Yoder motored under Bryner for second at the new green but then Bryner lost the handle with nine laps to go, spinning out and again slowing the field. 

Kaan looked good holding off Yoder when the race restarted and after fighting of Yoder’s attempts, he began getting away with the lead.

But Yoder changed his lane and ran down the advantage on the 19th tour and just as it seemed he was going to make a charge for the lead, Kaan suddenly dropped off the pace and gave up the race. 

With Yoder in control, Mike Lufper was now up to second and the pair was headed for the checkers when Trent Brenneman came up with mechanical ills in the second turn, falling out of fourth.

Yoder drove away from Lupfer for the win on the final lap following a return to action.

It was Yoder’s sixth career win at the oval, coming over Lupfer, a surging Jason Schmidt, Andy Haus and Mitch Hack.

Sixth through 10th went to Tim Wilson, Waylon Wagner, Tim Smith Jr., Andrew Yoder and Bob Dunn.

Heats went to Bryner and Hack.

Reed Thompson led the first five laps of the 305 sprint main as Jeff Miller worked the field, also from the sixth starting spot, just like the previous two winners on the night.

Miller used a restart on the fourth lap to swoop to the outside of John Martin for second before driving by Thompson on the next lap to take a lead he would not relinquish nor be heeded for.

It was his second win of the year at the track. 

Martin rode home third followed by Tyler Reeser and Cale Reigle.

Heats went to Miller, Johnathan Jones and Reeser. 

Jason Davis started third in the 15-lap xtreme stock feature event and took the lead from Walt Peters on the second lap.

Davis got passed by ninth starter Pete Leister for the lead on the seventh tour and Leister appeared headed for his second win of the season before falling out of the event with four laps to go.

That gave the lead back to Davis who went on to claim his second win of the year in the division. 

Jason Zook rode home second followed by Mike Goodwin, Bill Powell and Travis Horan. 

Race Results:
Feature Finishes

410 sprints, 25 laps: 1. Greg Hodnett, 2. Doug Esh, 3. Lucas Wolfe, 4. Mike Wagner, 5. Kevin Nouse, 6. Steve Buckwalter, 7. Ryan Taylor, 8. Dylan Cisney, 9. Logan Wagner, 10. Rick Lafferty, 11. Dave Ely, 12. Pat Cannon, 13. Curt Stroup, 14. Kyle Reinhardt, 15. Dan Shetler, 16. Rodney Westhafer, 17. Ed Aiken, 18. Joey Hershey, 19. Wayne Dadetto, 20. Brock Zearfoss, 21. Davey Sammons, 22. Dustin Baney, 23. Justin Barger, 24. Tyler Bear

DNQ: Trenton Sheaffer, Daryl Stimeling, Jack Thornton

Late models, 22 laps: 1. Dylan Yoder, 2. Mike Lupfer, 3. Jason Schmidt, 4. Andy Haus, 5. Mitch Hack, 6. Tim Wilson, 7. Waylon Wagner, 8. Tim Smith J r., 9. Andrew Yoder, 10. Bob Dunn, 11. Scott Flickinger, 12. Cole Amsden, 13. Trent Brenneman, 14. Justin Kaan, 15. Patrick Bryner, 16. Lindsay Barton, 17. Matt Parks, 18. Mike Mort

305 sprints, 18 laps: 1. Jeff Miller, 2. Reed Thompson, 3. John Martin, 4. Tyler Reeser, 5. Cale Reigle, 6. Erin Statler, 7. Scott Ellerman, 8. Bill Jones Jr., 9. Drew Ritchey, 10. Ryan Lynn, 11. Ken Duke, 12. Hunter McCracken, 13. Jake Waters., 14. Tom Worrick, 15. Cody Hackenberry, 16. Mike Alleman, 17. Dave Guss Jr., 18. Brent Rumberger, 19. Tylor Cochran, 20. Alan Kumpf, 21. Jonathan Jones, 22. Zach Newlin

DNS: Derrick Bowersox

Xtreme stocks, 15 laps: 1. Jason Davis, 2. Jason Zook, 3. Mike Goodwin, 4. Bill Powell, 5. Travis Horan, 6. Deron Henry, 7. Walt Peters, 8. Tyler Amtower, 9. Joe Hower, 10. Charlie Bryner, 11. Pete Leister, 12. John Palm

PRS 2015 – Racing through a new decade with a new attitude!

Port Royal Speedway

The Only Place To See Super Sprints And Super Lates Every Saturday Night

No comments: