Saturday, August 22, 2015

Hodnett And Dietrich Split Williams Grove Sprint Twin 20s


Mechanicsburg – Greg Hodnett and Danny Dietrich scored twin 20-lap features for sprint cars Friday night at Williams Grove Speedway.

Winners took home $2,500 for their victories.

To start out the night, Hodnett set quick time over the field with a lap of 17.247 seconds before going to work in the first feature.

Lucas Wolfe and Lance Dewease framed the front row for the start of the first main event with Wolfe going out front with a strong start. 

Chased by Dewease, Wolfe entered the backmarkers on the eighth tour with fourth starter Hodnett racing third.

But Wolfe’s entire night came to an end with nine laps to go when his motor expired in the second corner, remanding the point to Dewease.

Hodnett took a shot at Dewease on the restart but Dewease used all of the speedway to his advantage to keep Hodnett at bay despite repeated charges by the challenger. 

The race for the lead cooled down with five laps to go before Hodnett mounted his final charge with two laps left.

The Spring Grove driver was able to sweep under Dewease through the third and fourth turns as the pair raced toward the white flag to take control.

But Dewease came back to reclaim the point momentarily with a big swoop in the first corner only to see his car drift to the outside of the second turn, allowing Hodnett to bite fast in the second turn and drive by again, this time to seal the win. 

The victory was Hodnett’s fourth of the season at the track including a win in 360-sprint competition.

Dewease was second followed by Aaron Ott, Danny Dietrich and Rodney Westhafer.

Sixth through 10th went to Cory Haas, Brent Marks, Rico Abreu, Brian Montieth and Mark Smith.

Hodnett pulled an invert of 10 for the second feature, placing Smith and Montieth on the front row for the green flag.

Montieth allowed Smith to lead only the first circuit before taking over.

Dietrich started seventh in the feature and was riding second and gaining on Montieth when the red flag appeared with seven laps to go for a two-car tangle in the fourth corner involving Pat Cannon and Glenndon Forsythe.

Under the stoppage, fifth-place runner Hodnett was forced to pit after coming up with a left front flat tire, ending his bid for a sweep of the night.

It took Dietrich only two laps to rout underneath Montieth and take the lead when action resumed, also with a low move in the third and fourth corners. 

And once at the front, Dietrich pulled away from Montieth to claim his fourth checkers of the season at Williams Grove by 2.014 seconds.

Montieth settled for second followed by Westhafer, Smith and Abreu.

Sixth through 10th went to Marks, Austin Hogue, Ott, Dewease and Alan Krimes.

Twin heats went to Marks and Smith. 

Sean Dawson won the 15-lap street stock feature after starting fourth.

Greg Diehl rode home second followed by Chris Heller, Jeff Haag and Doug Hoffman.

Twin heats went to Kevin Sigler and Craig Morgan.

August 21, 2015 Feature Finishes:

410 sprints, 20 laps, feature No. 1: 1. Greg Hodnett, 2. Lance Deweae, 3. Aaron Ott, 4. Danny Dietrich, 5. Rodney Westhafer, 6. Cory Haas, 7. Brent Marks, 8. Rico Abreu, 9. Brian Montieth, 10. Mark Smith, 11. Austin Hogue, 12. Pat Cannon, 13. Glenndon Forsythe, 14. Nicole Bower, 15. Rick Lafferty, 16. Jim Shuster, 17. Tim Wagaman, 18. Kyle Pruitt, 19. Jordan Givler, 20. Troy Fraker, 21. Alan Krimes, 22. Brock Zearfoss, 23. Lucas Wolfe. 24. Doug Esh
410 sprints, 20 laps, feature No. 2: 1. Dietrich, 2. Montieth, 3. Westhafer, 4. Smith, 5. Abreu, 6. Marks, 7. Hogue, 8. Ott, 9. Dewease, 10. Krimes, 11. Esh, 12. Bower, 13. Lafferty, 14. Pruitt, 15. Hodnett, 16. Givler, 17. Shuster, 18. Wagaman, 19. Fraker, 20. Haas, 21. Cannon, 22. Forsythe
DNS: Zearfoss, Wolfe
Street Stocks, 15 laps: 1. Sean Dawson, 2. Greg Diehl, 3. Chris Heller, 4. Jeff Haag, 5. Doug Hoffman, 6. Mike Buckley, 7. Craig Morgan, 8. Kevin Sigler, 9. Ryan Smith, 10. Kory Sites, 11. Dalton Frye, 12. Eric Tripp, 13. Dan Zechman, 14. Scott Strickler, 15. Richie Dobson, 16. Walt Lemmon, 17. Doug Bennett, 18. Steve Dove, 19. Wayne Dutterer

No comments: