Sunday, September 06, 2015


HANOVER, PA (9/4/2015) – Brad McClelland won both ends of the “358” sprint car feature at Trail-Way Speedway Friday night.

With a one-hour, forty minute rain delay half-way through the event, Brad McClelland started on the pole and led every lap for his division-leading 48th career win at Trail-Way. 

After dodging the wet stuff earlier in the evening, Trail-Way was hit with heavy rain during a 14th lap caution involving five cars in turn two.  As the cars were lining up for a restart, a sudden heavy shower forced the cars to outer pit area.

“It didn’t matter to me if they called it,” said McClelland upon exiting the Steve Rucker Littlestown Auto Care Center/Arter Graphics/Rucker Computer Solutions #6R, “But I’m glad they stuck it out.”

“I was too loose at the beginning of the race and I was getting worried,” said McClelland, “But the car worked better after the rain.”

Cody Fletcher was running second when the rains came, but spun racing through lapped traffic in turns three and four of lap 23, damaging front suspension parts and ending his night.  Dwight Leppo assumed second for the restart and held off Jeff Rohrbaugh over the final two laps.  Mike Bittinger and Doug Hammaker completed the top five.

Qualifiers for the 18 “358” sprinters were won by Rohrbaugh and Trail-Way points leader Isaac Sneeringer, who was hung up in the five-car lap 14 crash and finished tenth.

Craley’s Bill Diehl came from fifth starting spot to catch outside front row starter Rick Hartwig on lap six and score his fourth win of the year in the 20-lap Central PA Legends feature.  Travis McClelland pressured Diehl over the second half of the race, but settled for a well-earned runner-up finish.  Chris Transeau, Chris McKinney, and Travis Perry crossed third through fifth.

Heats for the 17 Legends were won by McKinney and Chad Earnst.

Eric Johnson raced to his third win of the year and third career win in the 20-lap street stock feature.  Johnson, who was helped by the rain delay in getting enough time change a rear end, crossed 1.5 seconds ahead of Will Walls, who was subsequently disqualified for using illegal heads.

Walls’ disqualification moved Brian Walls up to second, with Mike Fletcher, Michael Goodwin; and Jim Jacobs credited with third through fifth.

Michael Kolodiej Jr. started on the pole and held off several challengers during the course of the 15-lap event to claim his first career Friday night Trail-Way win in the limited stock feature.  Lady driver  Sarah Redmond crossed .4 seconds behind Kolodiej in second, with Chad Martin, Matt Chronister, and Keith Dorsey II rounding out the top five.

Qualifiers for the 16 limited stocks were won by Chad Martin and Redmond.

Friday September 11th, Trail-Way hosts the “Trone Outdoor Championship” for 358 sprint cars paying $2,000 to win! The Mason-Dixon 270 Micro Sprints, Street Stocks and Limited Stocks will also be in action. Gates open at 5:30 p.m., with heats scheduled to begin at 7:45 p.m.

The following day, Saturday September 12th, Trail-Way swings back into action with the AMA Motorcycle Short Track. Gates open at 3:00 p.m. with racing beginning at 6:00 p.m.

Friday September 4, 2015
Trail-Way Speedway
Hanover, PA
For Immediate Release


FEATURE (25 Laps) – 1. 6R-Brad McClelland; 2. 4-Dwight Leppo; 3. 45-Jeff Rohrbaugh; 4. 12-Mike Bittinger; 5. 66-Doug Hammaker; 6. 71M-Bill Stine; 7. 45H-Jeff Halligan; 8. 77-David Holbrook; 9. 13-Ryan Higgins; 10. 19Z-Isaac Sneeringer; 11. 5A-Brian Allman; 12. 15-Lucas Montgomery; 13. 10-Zach Euculano; 14. 00X-Chris Frank; 15. 19D-Wyatt Hinkle; 16. 10B-Brandon Noel; 17. 66A-Cody Fletcher (DNF); 18. 83-Cody Fairchok (DNF). No time.

Lap Leaders: Brad McClelland (1-25)

358 Sprint Heat 1 Finish (10 Laps/All Qualify) – 1. 45-Jeff Rohrbaugh; 2. 12-Mike Bittinger; 3. 6R-Brad McClelland; 4. 4-Dwight Leppo; 5. 66-Doug Hammaker; 6. 71M-Bill Stine; 7. 00X-Chris Frank; 8. 77-David Holbrook; 9. 5A-Brian Allman. Time – 2:28.19

358 Sprint Heat 2 Finish (10 Laps/All Qualify) – 1. 19Z-Isaac Sneeringer; 2. 10-Zach Euculano; 3. 15-Lucas Montgomery; 4. 45-Jeff Halligan; 5. 66A-Cody Fletcher; 6. 13-Ryan Higgins; 7. 19D-Wyatt Hinkle; 8. 83-Cody Fairchok; 9. 10B-Brandon Noel. Time – 2:26.05


FEATURE (15 Laps) – 1. 11-Michael Kolodiej Jr.; 2. 1-Sarah Redmond; 3. 22-Chad Martin; 4. 81-Matt Chronister; 5. 25-Keith Dorsey II; 6. 5-Shannon Weaver; 7. 94-Kenny Startzman; 8. 12-Kyle Rohrbaugh; 9. 16-Julio Perez; 10. 01-Chelsea Weaver; 11. 32-Jeff Foster; 12. 88-Travis Brown; 13. 41-Robert Wellman; 14. 38-Jason Chronister (DNF); 15. 30-Justin Wagaman (DNF); 16. 39-Shane Miller (DNS).

Lap Leaders: Michael Kolodiej Jr. (1-15)

Limited Stocks Heat 1 Finish (6 Laps/All Qualify) – 1. 22-Chad Martin; 2. 5-Shannon Weaver; 3. 38-Jason Chronister; 4. 81-Matt Chronister; 5. 94-Kenny Startzman; 6. 16-Julio Perez; 7. 01-Chelsea Weaver; 8. 32-Jeff Foster. Time – 2:08.83

Limited Stocks Heat 2 Finish (6 Laps/All Qualify) – 1. 1-Sarah Redmond; 2. 11-Michael Kolodiej, Jr.; 3. 12-Kyle Rohrbaugh; 4. 25-Keith Dorsey II; 5. 39-Shane Miller; 6. 30-Justin Wagaman; 7. 88-Travis Brown; 8. 41-Robert Wellman. No time.


FEATURE (20 Laps) – 1. 53-Bill Diehl; 2. 93-Travis McClelland; 3. 18-Chris Transeau; 4. 3M-Chris McKinney; 5. 19-Travis Perry; 6. 85-Chad Earnst; 7. 91-Justin Mitchell; 8. X-Justice Forbes; 9. 82-Bryan Hayberger; 10. 8CR-Mason Chaney; 11. 43-Tony Mrakovich; 12. 35-Keith Haring; 13. 8-Robert Shaw; 14. 41-Matt Miller (DNF); 15. 9-Rick Hartwig (DNF); 16. 70-Robert Stough (DNF); 17. 56-Mike Gable (DNF). No time.

Lap Leaders: Keith Haring (1), Rick Hartwig (2-5), Bill Diehl (6-20)

Legend Heat 1 Finish (8 Laps/All Qualify) – 1. 3M-Chris McKinney; 2. 18-Chris Transeau; 3. 70-Robert Stough; 4. 19-Travis Perry; 5. 9-Rick Hartwig; 6. 82-Bryan Hayberger; 7. X-Justice Forbes; 8. 43-Tony Mrakovich; 9. 41-Matt Miller. No time.

Legend Heat 2 Finish (8 Laps/All Qualify) – 1. 85-Chad Earnst; 2. 93-Travis McClelland; 3. 53-Bill Diehl; 4. 8CR-Mason Chaney; 5. 35-Keith Haring; 6. 91-Justin Mitchell; 7. 56-Mike Gable; 8. 8-Robert Shaw. Time – 2:42.29


FEATURE (20 Laps) – 1. 1J-Eric Johnson; 2. 1M-Brian Walls; 3. 5-Mike Fletcher; 4. 33-Michael Goodwin; 5. 4J-Jim Jacobs; 6. 5M-Dan Furman; 7. 94M-Zach Myers; 8. 28-Kelly Seal III (DNF); 9. 51-Jeremy Stremmel (DNF); 10. 17-Brian Blank, Jr. (DNF); 11. 60-Aaron Beard (DNF); 12. 94-Dalton Myers (DNF); 13. 6M-Cody Souders (DNS). DQ:  Will Walls (illegal heads).  No time.

Lap Leaders: Kelly Seal III (1-6), Eric Johnson (7-20)

Street Stock Heat 1 Finish (8 Laps/All Qualify) – 1. 1J-Eric Johnson; 2. 4J-Jim Jacobs; 3. 28-Kelly Seal III; 4. 17-Brian Blank, Jr.; 5. 94-Dalton Myers; 6. 5M-Dan Furman (DNF); 7. 5-Mike Fletcher (DNF). No time.

Street Stock Heat 2 Finish (8 Laps/All Qualify) – 1. 1-Will Walls; 2. 1M-Brian Walls; 3. 33-Michael Goodwin; 4. 94M-Zach Myers; 5. 60-Aaron Beard; 6. 51-Jeremy Stremmel; 7. 6M-Cody Souders. No time.

No comments: