Sunday, October 11, 2015

Miller Caps His Port Royal Season With Blue Collar RaceSaver Win & Track Title


Port Royal – Some 120 race cars packed the Port Royal Speedway pit area Saturday night to contest the 4th annual Blue Collar Classic including the Keystone RaceSaver Challenge for 305 sprint cars.

Huntingdon’s Jeff Miller put an exclamation mark on his 2015 season at the track by claiming the 25-lap Keystone RaceSaver Challenge while also taking the season point title at the oval for the 305 sprint cars.

DJ Myers scored the 20-lap limited late model main over a stellar field of limiteds while Andrew Shoop scored the xtreme stock feature event and Wayne Brenize won the four cylinder feature. 

The Founder’s Cup non-qualifiers race for the 305 sprints was taken by Jordan Thomas. 

The 2013 event champion, Mifflintown’s Jake Waters led the first four laps of the Keystone RaceSaver Challenge for the 305 sprints before Orwigsburg’s Tyler Reeser took over in an effort to record his second win of the season at the track. 

Point leader Jeff Miller started third in the field and took second from Waters on the eighth tour to begin driving down the distance Reeser had opened up. 

The leaders entered the rear of the field with 15 laps to go and Miller then made his first bid for control. 

He drove around Reeser for the lead in the first corner but Reeser used the outside to reclaim the spot as the pair raced down the backchute. 

And just after the pair completed the 11th loop, a caution flag bunched the field and slowed the pace. 

Another caution regrouped the field just a lap later and again with 11 laps to go but on all the restarts Reeser was able to get away from Miller.

While Miller’s advances seemed to stabilized during those mid-stage laps, they picked back up again during the last seven laps as he began cutting into Reeser’s lead.

And then with four laps to go Miller motored around Reeser for the lead and win, which was the sixth of his career at the track. 

It was his first win in the marquee event for the division held at the oval and in Pennsylvania each year since beginning in 2012. 

Reeser settled for second followed by 11th starter Dave Brown Jr. of Aston, Waters and Tim Tanner of Doylestown.

Sixth through 10th went to Scott Frack, Erin Statler, Nathan Gramley, Derrick Bowersox and Colby Dice.

Six heats for the 49 cars in action went to Brown Jr., Waters, Joe Kay, Miller, Statler and Reeser,

Twin consolation races went to Gramley and Scott Ellerman. 

Overall fast time was set by Karl Freyer with a lap of 18.393 seconds.

Ryan Stillwaggon led the first six laps of the 15-lap Founder’s Cup non-qualifiers race for the 305 sprints before Harding’s Jordan Thomas took over for the win, earning himself a guaranteed starting spot in next year’s main event.

John Martin rode home second followed by Stillwaggon, Dalton Hetrick and George Riden.

Travis Stickley led only the first three laps of the limited late model main before fourth starter DJ Myers took over to begin driving away from the field.

After starting eighth, Rick Singleton worked his way through the field to pull into second with nine laps left in the 20-lapper.

Singleton did run down the better part of Myer’s advantage before the finish but Myers still took the victory by 1.992 seconds.

Kyle Lee was third followed by Rance Garlock and Stickley.

Heats for the 34-car field went to Singleton, Randy Christine Jr., Troy Miller and Lee with the consolation going to Jake Jones.

Multiple caution flags hampered the pace in the 20-lap xtreme stock feature but at the helm the entire way was Andrew Shoop who started fourth.

Shoop was chased nearly the entire way by 2015 Port Royal champion Jason Zook but although Zook was able to pull alongside at one point for control, he was never able to fully get command.

Shoop was followed across the line by Zook, Bob Bussey, Walt Peters and Keith Bissinger.

Twin heats went to Jason Davis and Corey Kepner. 

Wayne Brenize won the 15-lap four cylinder main event over Lee Zook, Eric Boozel, Jeff Foster and Tim Osheehan. 

Twin heats went to Ryan Peer and Jeff Foster.

Feature finishes:

305 sprints, 25 laps: 1. Jeff Miller, 2. Tyler Reeser, 3. Dave Brown Jr., 4. Jake Waters, 5. Tim Tanner, 6. Scott Frack, 7. Erin Statler, 8. Nathan Gramley, 9. Derrick Bowersox, 10. Colby Dice, 11. Joe Kay, 12. Karl Freyer, 13. Ken Duke Jr., 14. Zach Newlin, 15. Darren Miller, 16. Drew Ritchie, 17. Scott Ellerman, 18. Samantha Lieberman, 19. Steve Kennawell, 20. Zack Burd, 21. Jeff Geiges, 22. Mike Esposito, 23. Mike Schuckers, 24. Jon Haegele

DNQ: Jordan Thomas, Dalton Hetrick, Stephanie Dodson, George Riden, Alan Kumpf, Daren Bolac, John Barnett, Randy Sterling, Dave Guss Jr., Justin Zap, Vince Snyder, John Bordlemay, Cale Reigle, Ryan Stillwaggon, John Martin, Tom Worrick, Jason Bergstresser, Ryan Lynn, Cody Hackenberry, Tyler Lebo, Nicole Walker, Mike Alleman, Tyler Bear, Eddie Strada, Adam Carberry

Limited late models 20 laps: 1. DJ Myers, 2. Rick Singleton, 3. Kyle Lee, 4. Rance Garlock, 5. Travis Stickley, 6. Troy Swindell, 7. Todd Snook, 8. Andrew Yoder, 9. Randy Christine Jr., 10. Chad Julius, 11. Eric Irvin, 12. Dan Zechman, 13. Nathan Lasalle, 14. Rodney Walls, 15. Jake Jones, 16. Travis Mease, 17. Mike Smith, 18. Larry Neiderer, 19. Kevin Palmer, 20. Garrett Gray, 21. Chase Bowsman, 22. Bernie Beard, 23. Gene Knaub, 24. Troy Miller, 24. Kenny Yoder

DNQ: Jed Latshaw, Dillan Stake, Bruce Kane, John Myers, Brad Myers, Cody Buterbaugh, Brent Adams, Lincoln Ritchey, Sanny Sollers

Xtreme stocks, 20 laps: 1. Andrew Shoop, 2. Jason Zook, 3. Bob Bussey, 4. Walt Peters, 5. Keith Bissinger, 6. Deron Henry, 7. Greg Deihl, 8. Pete Leister, 9. Jared Fulkroad, 10. Pat McClane, 11. Kris Ney, 12. Justin Palm, 13. Johnny Palm, 14. Craig Dodson, 15. Charlie Bryner, 16. Corey Kepner, 17. Joe Hower, 18. Chris Heller, 19. Rob Trego, 20. Jason Davis, 21. Daren Rice, 22. Curtis Lawton

Four cylinders, 15 laps: 1. Wayne Brenize, 2. Lee Zook, 3. Eric Boozel, 4. Jeff Foster, 5. Tim Osheehan, 6. Zach Moist, 7. Andrew Moist, 8. Nick Myers, 9. Sam Creveling, 10. Adam Morgan, 11. Noah Myers, 12. Larry Beachel, 13. Mike Hepler, 14. Ryan Peer, 15. Tyler Gastley

No comments: