Saturday, May 28, 2016

Wolfe Wins Williams Grove Diamond Series 4K, Reeser Scores 305 Sprints


Mechanicsburg – Mechanicsburg’s Lucas Wolfe wired the field from the pole to take the $4,000 victory in Friday night’s Diamond Series event for sprint cars at Williams Grove Speedway.

The victory was the 14th of Wolfe’s career at the historic speedway, coming by 1.183 seconds over Brian Montieth.

In the 305-sprint main, Orwigsburg’s Tyler Reeser drove to victory, holding off Colby Dice for the win.

Wolfe was flanked by Ryan Smith on the front row for the start of the 25-lap sprint car main but third starter Brian Montieth motored into second on the start and would give chase of the leader the entire distance.

Wolfe entered the backmarkers on the sixth tour with Montieth in pursuit but it took until lap 11 for Montieth to even get close enough to even begin to think about making a move for control.

The leader worked traffic with relative ease aboard the Zemco No. 1 sprinter and was able to hold Montieth at a safe distance for the majority of the event.

The only caution flag of the event unfurled with five laps to go, wiping out a 1.082 second advantage that Wolfe had over the field at the time.

And the restart would prove to be Montieth’s only opportunity to grab the win as the Phoenixville flyer drove to Wolfe’s inside deep in the first corner with a bid only to fall short as the pair exited the second turn.

From there Wolfe cruised to the checkers, his first of the season at Williams Grove.

Smith ran third the entire distance to finish with the spot followed by fifth starter Greg Hodnett and Stevie Smith.

Sixth through 10th went to Pat Cannon, Doug Esh, Danny Dietrich, Austin Hogue and Brock Zearfoss.

Heats went to Esh, Dietrich and Cannon.  Stevie Smith set quick time in qualifications with a lap of 16.363 seconds.

Donnie Hendershot led the first lap of the 305 sprint main before Tyler Reeser took over after a close race back to the line.

Reeser had just seen Colby Dice drive into second when the red flag appeared on the fourth lap for a second turn flip by Zach Newlin.

Dice challenged Reeser briefly when action resumed but Reeser was up to the challenge, opening up a near straightaway advantage at points to pick up the win.

Dice rode home second followed by Jaremi Hanson, Ken Duke and John Martin.

Sixth through 10th went to Stephanie Dodson, Kyle Ganoe, John Barnett, Cale Reigle and Scott Lutz.

John Barnett was the Wee Bee Audio and Video Hard Charger in the event, finishing eighth after starting 22nd in the feature.

Heats went to Reeser, Hendershot and Hanson.

The entire racing program was delayed in starting over an hour thanks to poorly timed light showers that persisted during the early evening.

May 27, 2016 Feature Finishes:

410 sprints, 25 laps: 1. Lucas Wolfe, 2. Brian Montieth, 3. Ryan Smith, 4. Greg Hodnett, 5. Stevie Smith, 6. Pat Cannon, 7. Doug Esh, 8. Danny Dietrich, 9. Austin Hogue, 10. Brock Zearfoss, 11. TJ Stutts, 12. Cory Haas, 13. Rodney Westhafer, 14. Matt Campbell, 15. Daryl Stimeling, 16. Chad Trout, 17. Frankie Herr, 18. Troy Fraker, 19. Steve Buckwalter, 20. Todd Allen, 21. Alan Krimes, 22. Jim Shuster, 23. Freddie Rahmer

DNS: Aaron Ott

305 sprints, 20 laps: 1. Tyler Reeser, 2. Colby Dice, 3. Jaremi Hanson, 4. Ken Duke, 5. John Martin, 6. Stephanie Dodson, 7. Kyle Ganoe, 8. John Barnett, 9. Cale Reigle, 10. Scott Lutz, 11. Drew Ritchie, 12. Scott Ellerman, 13. Dave Grube, 14. Geoff Gill, 15. Dave Brown, 16. Ian Detweiller, 17. Mike Alleman, 18. Kirsten Hess, 19. John Haegele, 20. Donnie Hendershot, 21. Erin Statler, 22. John Fiore, 23. John Bordlemay, 24. Zach Newlin,

DNS: Alex Schanz

No comments: