Sunday, June 19, 2016

ANOTHER 410 SPRINT CAR THRILLER AT LINCOLN; HOGUE IN VICTORY LANE THIS TIME Shaffer ninth winner in 10 races in 358 sprint cars; Enders tracks down Criswell for super sportsman win

ABBOTTSTOWN, PA 6/18/2016 – Dover’s Austin Hogue caught race-long leader Tyler Ross as the two leaders were crossing under the white flag to score his first win of the year in the 25-lap 410 sprint car feature at Lincoln Speedway Saturday night.

“I didn’t want to have to work that hard!” said Hogue upon exiting his BAPS Auto Paints and Supply/Livingston Lawn Care/Abe Service Company #52 in victory lane, “Tyler ran me clean and it was an awesome race. You feel bad taking ‘em on the last lap…I don’t know what to say I’m so excited because it’s been one of those years.”

“Fast cars, but just not able to get it accomplished here,” added Hogue after scoring his second Lincoln win, “It’s a huge weight off my shoulders. We’ve been on and off. This consistency thing has been a struggle for us, but luckily we got it done here tonight and I can’t thank the guys enough.”

Hogue, who started third, passed Gerard McIntyre, Jr. for second on a sixth-lap restart and chased outside front row starter Ross for the next 18 laps. The race-winning move came as the two leaders raced through lapped traffic exiting turn four of lap 24.

“I wasn’t catching him on the top and I knew Gerard was down there,” said Hogue, “It was worth the shot and I was hoping the rubber would come in. It did at the very end, and luckily it came in just in time.”

A disappointed Ross finished second, with McIntyre, ninth-starting Brian Montieth, and points leader Alan Krimes rounding out the top five. Sixth through tenth were Cory Haas, Jim Siegel, 14th-starting Chad Trout, Mike Bittinger, and Brandon Rahmer.

Heats for the 26 410 Sprints were won by Montieth, Freddie Rahmer, and Haas.

Adrian Shaffer came from eighth starting spot to score his first Lincoln win of the year in the 20-lap 358 sprint car feature. Shaffer was already in the top five by the end of the first lap and was running third by the end of lap three. He passed Tyler Esh for second on lap 11 and drove around Brie Hershey for the race lead on lap 15.

That was the last of four lead changes of the event. Friday night Williams Grove winner Brie Hershey led the first lap from her outside front row starting spot before fourth-starting Esh took over. He they led for the next five laps before Hershey reclaimed the lead on lap eight.

Tenth-starting Matt Campbell came on late to pressure Shaffer for the lead in lapped traffic over the final four laps of the non-stop event, timed at 5 minutes, 44.6 seconds. He settled for second, with Hershey, Doug Hammaker, and 12th-starting Jeff Halligan rounding out the top five.

Heats for the 28 358 Sprints were won by Dwight Leppo, Jeff Rohrbaugh, and Hammaker, with Chandler Leiby winning the consolation.

Mike Enders caught race-long leader Chad Criswell on lap 17 and drove away to his third career Lincoln win in the 25-lap super sportsman feature event. Criswell crossed second .62 seconds behind the winner, with polesitter Scott Dellinger, Paul Miller, and Timmie Barrick completing the top five.

Heats for the 18 Super Sportsman were won by Criswell and Doug Dodson, who dropped from the feature field while running third.

Lincoln swings back into action next Saturday night, June 25th the Annual Pennsylvania Speedweek 17th Annual Kevin Gobrecht Memorial for 410 sprints ($7,000 to win) plus Central PA Legends. Time trials get underway at 7:30 PM, with gates opening at 5:30 PM.

Saturday, June 18, 2016
Abbottstown, PA
Lawrence Chevrolet 410 Sprints:
410 Sprint Feature Finish (25 Laps) – 1. 52-Austin Hogue; 2. 5-Tyler Ross; 3. 16-Gerard McIntyre, Jr.; 4. 21-Brian Montieth; 5. 87-Alan Krimes; 6. 11C-Cory Haas; 7. 59-Jim Siegel; 8. 1X-Chad Trout; 9. 12-Mike Bittinger; 10. 88-Brandon Rahmer; 11. 2W-Glenndon Forsythe; 12. 19-Colby Womer; 13. 99M-Kyle Moody; 14. 39-Anthony Macri; 15. 21T-Scott Fisher; 16. 10K-Joe Kata, III; 17. 74-Dwayne Gutshall; 18. 4-John Rudisill; 19. 3B-Randy Baughman (DNF); 20. 51-Freddie Rahmer (DNF); 21. 91-David Quackenbush (DNF); 22. 75-Frankie Herr (DNF); 23. 83-Cody Fairchok (DNF); DNS – 12B-Brad Franks. No Time

Lap Leaders – Tyler Ross (1-23), Austin Hogue (24-25)

410 Sprint Heat One Finish (10 laps/6 to qualify) - 1. 21-Brian Montieth; 2. 16-Gerard McIntyre, Jr.; 3. 5-Tyler Ross; 4. 52-Austin Hogue; 5. 12-Mike Bittinger; 6. 21T-Scott Fisher; 7. 39-Anthony Macri; 8. 3B-Randy Baughman; 9. 83-Cody Fairchok. No Time

410 Sprint Heat Two Finish (10 laps/6 to qualify) - 1. 51-Freddie Rahmer; 2. 87-Alan Krimes; 3. 59-Jim Siegel; 4. 99M-Kyle Moody; 5. 1X-Chad Trout; 6. 91-David Quackenbush; 7. 74-Dwayne Gutshall (DNF); 8. 15M-Bobby Mazingo (DNF); 9. 8-Billy Dietrich (DNF). No Time

410 Sprint Heat Three Finish (10 laps/6 to qualify) - 1. 11C-Cory Haas; 2. 75-Frankie Herr; 3. 88-Brandon Rahmer; 4. 19-Colby Womer; 5. 10K-Joe Kata, III; 6. 4-John Rudisill; 7. 12B-Brad Franks; 8. 2W-Glenndon Forsythe. No Time

Keizer Aluminum Wheels 358 Sprints:
Feature (20 Laps) – 1. 27S-Adrian Shaffer; 2. 16-Matt Campbell; 3. 97-Brie Hershey; 4. 66-Doug Hammaker; 5. 41-Jeff Halligan; 6. 35-Tyler Esh; 7. 66A-Cody Fletcher; 8. 45-Jeff Rohrbaugh; 9. 4-Dwight Leppo; 10. 12-Brent Shearer; 11. 19S-Steve Drevicki; 12. 23-Chris Arnold; 13. 7-Trey Hivner; 14. 119-Chandler Leiby; 15. 9-Dalton Dietrich; 16. 4R-Tyler Walton; 17. 5A-Brian Allman; 18. 89-Ashley Cappetta; 19. 28-Matt Findley; 20. 23J-Jake Eldreth; 21. 38D-Kyle Denmyer; 22. 64-Randy Whisler; 23. 21X-Kyle Abrahims (DNF); 24. 19-Troy Wagaman, Jr. (DNF). Time – 5:44.66

Lap Leaders – Brie Hershey (1), Tyler Esh (2-7), Brie Hershey (8-14), Adrian Shaffer (15-20)

358 Sprint Heat One Finish (10 laps/6 to qualify) - 1. 4-Dwight Leppo; 2. 41-Jeff Halligan; 3. 12-Brent Shearer; 4. 64-Randy Whisler; 5. 19-Steve Drevicki; 6. 5A-Brian Allman; 7. 19-Troy Wagaman, Jr.; 8. 21X-Kyle Abrahims; 9. 38D-Kyle Denmyer (DNF); DNS – 19D-Wyatt Hinkle. Time – 2:30.38

358 Sprint Heat Two Finish (10 laps/6 to qualify) - 1. 45-Jeff Rohrbaugh; 2. 35-Tyler Esh; 3. 16-Matt Campbell; 4. 9-Dalton Dietrich; 5. 23-Chris Arnold; 6. 89-Ashley Cappetta; 7. 119-Chandler Leiby; 8. 28-Matt Findley; DNS – 13-Ryan Higgins. No Time

358 Sprint Heat Three Finish (10 laps/6 to qualify) - 1. 66-Doug Hammaker; 2. 27S-Adrian Shaffer; 3. 97-Brie Hershey; 4. 66A-Cody Fletcher; 5. 7-Trey Hivner; 6. 4R-Tyler Walton; 7. 23J-Jake Eldreth; 8. 38-Mark Strickler; 9. 22-Nathan Prezenica. No Time

358 Sprint Consi Finish (10 Laps/6 to qualify) - 1. 119-Chandler Leiby; 2. 19-Troy Wagaman, Jr.; 3. 23J-Jake Eldreth; 4. 28-Matt Findley; 5. 38D-Kyle Denmyer; 6. 21X-Kyle Abrahims; 7. 38-Mark Strickler; 8. 22-Nathan Prezenica (DNF). No Time
Super Sportsman:
Sportsman Feature (25 Laps) – 1. 3B-Mike Enders; 2. 55C-Chad Criswell; 3. 30-Scott Dellinger; 4. 58-Paul Miller; 5. 7B-Timmie Barrick; 6. 75-Kenny Edkin; 7. 77-Russ Mitten; 8. 32-Gregg Foster; 9. 318-Teddy Thomas; 10. 29-Adam Wray; 11. 11-Steve Fannasy; 12. 20W-Davie Walsh; 13. 14-Nate Young; 14. 11S-John Stoll, Jr.; 15. 20-Dave Lightner; 16. 8-Rich Eichelberger (DNF); 17. 54-Doug Dodson (DNF); 18. 91-Lanny Hake (DNF). No Time

Lap Leaders – Chad Criswell (1-16), Mike Enders (17-25)

Sportsman Heat One Finish (10 laps) - 1. 55-Chad Criswell; 2. 77-Russ Mitten; 3. 30-Scott Dellinger; 4. 58-Paul Miller; 5.
29-Adam Wray; 6. 7B-Timmie Barrick; 7. 14-Nate Young; 8. 20-Dave Lightner; 9. 91-Lanny Hake (DNF). No Time

Sportsman Heat Two Finish (10 laps) - 1. 54-Doug Dodson; 2. 75-Kenny Edkin; 3. 32-Gregg Foster; 4. 3B-Mike Enders; 5. 11-Steve Fannasy; 6. 8-Rich Eichelberger; 7. 20W-Davey Walsh; 8. 318-Teddy Thomas; 9. 11S-John Stoll, Jr. Time – 2:50.25

© Copyright 2016 by Sel-Wil, Inc.

No comments: