Sunday, July 10, 2016

FANS PACK THE TRACK, CODEMAN PACKS NONSTOP VICTORY Stutts & Smith Give Chase, Settle For Podium Finishes

SELINSGROVE, Pa. -- Cody Keller of Selinsgrove has had a roller coaster of a season in the Newville Family of Companies 360 Sprint Cars. Keller won the season opener at Selinsgrove Speedway in April, but has been plagued with mechanical issues since that victory.

Keller changed all that Saturday night and took advantage of his fifth-place starting spot to get to second in a hurry at the start of the 25-lap feature at the wheel of the Keller’s Auto Body No. 99.

Colby Womer had driven to a two second lead in the time it took Keller to get to second.  Womer, who was running a 358 engine in search of the 358 bonus money led until lap 13 when Keller was able to make the winning pass.

 Keller immediately began to pull away from what quickly developed into a battle for second between Womer and TJ Stutts. Stutts and Mark Smith moved into podium positions as lap 20 went onto the board. Both began to reel in the race leader Keller.

 Keller started to catch lap traffic on lap 22 and Stutts drove almost to his rear bumper. Both were clear of the traffic on the start of lap 24 when the white flag was in the air. Stutts made one last run deep into turn three, but Keller used the momentum off the high side of the race track to take the win in the non-stop feature event.  

Stutts was second followed by the point leader Mark Smith. Womer was the highest finishing 358 Sprint in fourth with Troy Betts rounding out the top five. Jason Shultz was sixth followed by Michael Walter, Derek Locke, Davie Franek, and Ryan Kissinger. Colby Womer, Michael Walter, and Mallie Shuster were all first time heat winners for the 2016 season for the 360 Sprinters. The night’s IBEW Local 1319 Electrical Union hard charger was Smith.

Hayes Mattern looked to be a lock for the win in the Jeff's Auto Body and Recycling Center 25-lap Late Model feature as he had a five second lead on lap 20. Mattern got into the second turn wall and his race ended on lap 21 handing the race lead over to Derrick Casner.

Casner was in search of his first win in the Late Models while the new runner up Jeff Rine looked for his 101st victory at the speedway. Casner run the inside line for all its worth on the remaining laps but opened the door for Rine off of turn four coming to the white flag.

Rine grabbed the first spot and held it for the final trip leading only one full lap the entire race. Rine took the win over Luke Hoffner, Chad Hollenbeck, Jason Smith, and Steve Campbell. Danny Snyder was sixth

followed by Donnie Schick, Matt Cochran, Tim Wilson, and Austin Berry. Danny Snyder, Tony Adams, and Jeff Rine all claimed heat race wins.

Bill Conrad took the lead early in the A&A Auto Stores Pro Stock feature race. Conrad led until Andrew Shoop snuck by out of turn four to take the race lead for good. Two-time winner AJ Hoffman worked his way into the runner up spot but never caught the race leader and eventual winner Shoop of Mifflintown.

 Tommy Slanker took over third on lap nine and stayed there until the checkered flag. Brad Mitch and John Troxell rounded out the top five finishers. Sixth through tenth went to Conrad, Nate Stroup, Matt Wilson, Brandon Moser, and Matt Hornberger.  Heat race wins were taken by Slanker, Mitch, and Hoffman.

Keith Bissinger of Orangeville returned to victory lane at Selinsgrove Speedway in the A&A Auto Stores Roadrunners. It was Bissinger's first win of the season while point leader and two-time winner Dustin Snook kept him honest coming to the checkered flag.

Snook dove under Bissinger in the final corner coming to the checkered flag. Bissinger had just enough to hold off Snook who finished in second. Brian Johnson was third and right on the leader's heels coming to the checkered flag. Tom Underwood and Butch Shaffer finished inside the top five as well.

 Selinsgrove Speedway will present the annual Jeff’s Auto Body & Recycling Center Driver & Fan Appreciation Night at 7:30 Saturday, July 16, featuring the 360 sprint cars, super late models, pro stocks, and roadrunners. Track gates will open at 5:30 p.m. The roadrunners will also run the makeup feature from June 4.


360 Sprint Cars – 20 Entries25-Lap A-Main:  1) 99K Cody Keller 2) 23 TJ Stutts 3) 1 Mark Smith  4) 19 Colby Womer  5) 22 Troy Betts  6) 29 Jason Shultz  7) 33 Michael Walter  8) 77 Derek Locke  9) 28F Davie Franek  10) 66 Ryan Kissinger  11) 1W Eric Tomecek  12) 5G Curt Michael  13) 39 Eric Parker  14) 00 Chris Frank  15) C4 Jim Shuster  16) 83 Cody Fairchok  17) 2T Michael Thomas  18) 706 Mark Sasso  19) 19 Mallie Shuster  20) 76 Larry Kelleher  Heat Winners:  Colby Womer, Michael Walter, Mallie Shuster

Late Models – 23 Entries 25 -Lap A-Main:  1) 2J Jeff Rine 2) 15 Luke Hoffner 3) 4D Chad Hollenbeck  4) 28 Jason Smith  5) 2C Steve Campbell  6) 4S Danny Snyder  7) 6 Donnie Schick  8) 16 Matt Cochran  9) 3 Tim Wilson  10) 86 Austin Berry  11) 33C Chris Casner  12) 33 Derrick Casner  13) 9 Hayes Mattern  14) 7M Meade Hahn  15) 119B Bryan Bernheisel  16) 88 Tony Adams  17) 27 Jim Yoder  18) D77 Dick Houtz  19) 1 Gene Knaub  20) 99 Steve Stitt 21) 63 Nathan Long  22) 24J Jon Rohacevich  23) 10 Dave StammHeat Winners:  Danny Snyder, Jeff Rine, Tony Adams

Pro Stocks – 20 Entries15-Lap A-Main:  1) S8 Andrew Shoop 2) 6C AJ Hoffman 3) 40 Tommy Slanker  4) 10M Brad Mitch  5) 55T John Troxell  6) 14C Bill Conrad  7) 26 Nate Stroup  8) 83 Matt Wilson  9) 8M Brandon Moser  10) 88 Matt Hornberger  11) 71 Kurt Wray  12) 99 Peanut Heintzelman  13) 4 Jim Payne  14) 89 John Schoch  15) 28J Jeff Ceballo    16) 55 Lori Croop  17) 8K Jeremy Kline  18) 28C Dan Condo  19) 33 Curtis Lawton  20) 11 Jake BuckHeat Winners:  Tommy Slanker, Brad Mitch, AJ Hoffman

Roadrunners – 7 Entries12-Lap A-Main:  1) 11B Keith Bissinger 2) 15 Dustin Snook  3) 201 Brian Johnson  4) 12 Tom Underwood  5) 7 Butch Shaffer  6) 1 Smith Cope  7) 28 Miranda Minium

No comments: