Sunday, July 10, 2016

TYLER REESER SCORES SECOND SUSQUEHANNA 305 SPRINT CAR WIN Randy Christine, Jr. Gets First LM win: Road Warrior Finish Unofficial

By Brad Vores for Susquehanna Speedway

Putting yourself into the right position to take advantage is a big part of racing.

Tyler Reeser was in the right place at the right time in Saturday night’s PASS/IMCA 305 Sprint car feature at Susquehanna Speedway and parked his No. 5T sprint car in victory lane.

As the 305 Sprint cars lined up for a last lap restart, leader Dave Brown’s race car did not come up to power as Reeser and two other cars drove by and it was Reeser who was able to bring it under the checkered flag for his second win of the season at the York Haven oval.

Stephanie Dodson led the first lap of the 25-lap 305 Sprint car main before giving way to fellow front row starter Brown. Brown held the point through numerous caution periods and was the leader when the field went under yellow on the 24th lap.

Unfortunately for Brown, the win wasn’t meant to be following the restart as he faded to fourth behind winner Reeser, of Orwigsburg, runner-up John Martin and third place finisher Ken Duke. Kyle Ganoe completed the top five finishers after starting 12th.

Rounding out the top ten were 13th starting Drew Ritchey, John Barnett, one-time winner Jaremi Hanson, Colby Dice and 20th starter Cale Reigle.

Heats for the 31 305 Sprint cars were won by Dave Grube, Hanson and Dice while Scott Lutz was the consolation winner.

Polesitter Dan Zechman led the first 21 laps of the 358 Late Model feature before giving way to Manchester’s Randy Christine, Jr. on lap 22.

Once out front, Christine, who started seventh,  was never seriously challenged as he picked up his first win of the 2016 season over  Zechman, Steve Billet, Travis Mease and Jake Jones as Ralph Morgan, Jr., Dave Latsha, Cameron Benyou, Sam Rial and Daulton Bigler completed the top ten finishers.

Billet, Benyou and Morgan were heat race winners for the 22 cars pitside.

The Road Warrior feature was under review with final results expected to be released on Monday.

The track was hit by a hard rain shower during hot laps, resulting in a one hour delay.

Drivers went through the stands to collect money for injured 305 Sprint car driver Jake Waters and were able to collect $2,056 from the Susquehanna Speedway crowd. Waters was critically burned last weekend at a race at another area speedway and has undergone several skin grafts.

Susquehanna Speedway will  return to action Sunday night, July 17 as the BAPS Auto Paints and Coatings 410  Sprint Series returns for its fourth event of the season on Eichelbergers U-Pull-It Night. The 410 Sprint car event will also be the final leg in the Lincoln/Trailway/Susquehanna Shootout.  Joining the 410 Sprints will be the PASS/IMCA 305 Sprints. Pits open at  4PM with grandstands opening at 5PM and racing beginning at 7PM. There will be No Racing on Saturday, July 16.

Fans are reminded to check out for the latest news and results and follow Susquehanna Speedway on Twitter and Facebook.


1. Tyler Reeser, 2. John Martin, 3. Ken Duke, 4. Dave Brown, 5. Kyle Ganoe, 6. Drew Ritchey, 7. John Barnett, 8. Jaremi Hanson, 9. Colby Dice, 10. Cale Reigle, 11. Dave Grube, 12, Ian Detwiler, 13. Zach Newlin, 14. Billy Ney, 15. Scott Lutz, 16. Jay Krout, 17. Dale Schweikart, 18. Rick Stief, 19. Stephanie Dodson, 20. Cody Hackenberry, 21. Scott Ellerman, 22. Ryan Lynn, 23. Donnie Hendershot, 24. Alex Potosky.
Did Not Qualify: Erin Statler, Kassidy Kreitz, John Boardlemay, Brandon McGough, Brandt Cook, Kyle Lloyd, Randy Kaylor.

1. Randy Christine, Jr., 2. Dan Zechman, 3. Steve Billet, 4. Travis Mease, 5. Jake Jones, 6. Ralph Morgan, Jr., 7. Dave Latsha, 8. Cameron Benyou, 9. Sam Rial, 10. Daulton Bigler, 11. Matt Murphy, 12. Andrew Stotler, 13. Patrick McClane, 14. Zach Kauffman, 15. John Moser, 16. Donnie Broderick, 17. Drew Weisser, 18. Kyle Moser, 19. Randy Stoudt, 20. Shaun Jones, 21. Jake Moser.
Did Not Start: Terry Gingrich.


No comments: