Sunday, July 03, 2016

Wolfe Runs Middle Lane For Port Royal Speedweek Win, Dietrich Hold Series Lead Jeff Rine Wins Moon Shine Camo Rt. 35 Series Late Models, takes second of series Mike Goodwin claims xtreme stocks


 Lucas Wolfe used the middle groove to drive by leader Tim Shaffer and claim the PA Speedweek feature at Port Royal Speedway on Saturday night, worth $5,000.

In the Moon Shine Camo Rt. 35 Dirt Late Model Challenge Series, Jeff Rine motored to his second win in a row in the series after taking a series event last week at Selinsgrove Speedway.

The victory was the 13th of Rine?s career at Port Royal.

Mike Goodwin won the xtreme stock feature to close out the night.

Four-time All Star titlist Tim Shaffer of Aliquippa jumped into the lead at the start of the non-stop 30-lap PA Speedweek feature over polesitter James McFadden.

Third starter Stevie Smith drove by McFadden for second on the fourth tour with fourth starter Wolfe following suit a lap later.

Shaffer approached the rear of the field by lap seven and at the same time Wolfe began slicing down the advantage that Smith had for second.

He muscled around Smith for the spot with 11 laps completed and quickly closed in on Shaffer and rather easily drove into the lead while pounding the middle lane through the first and second turns.

After getting the point in the event, no one could get close enough to challenge Wolfe for control.

Smith overtook Shaffer for second at the halfway point while eighth starter Brent Marks entered the picture at the front of the field simultaneously.

Marks took third at the same time Smith raced into second with Greg Hodnett up to fourth with 12 laps to go.

Blistering around the extreme top of the speedway, Marks was able to get by Smith for second with 10 laps to go but that?s as far as he would go in his advance.

Hodnett got by Smith for third with seven laps left but he too would advance no further at the front.

Wolfe took the checkers with a 1.373 second lead over Marks and Hodnett followed by Stevie Smith and Ryan Smith.

Sixth through 10th went to Danny Dietrich, Aaron Ott, James McFadden, Tim Shaffer and Doug Esh.

Dietrich left the event as the speedweek point leader with a 13 point lead over Hodnett for the title with just one event remaining.

Heats went to Dietrich, Marks and Hodnett with Steve Buckwalter taking the consolation.

Wolfe set quick time in time trials with a lap of 15.919 seconds.

Two-time Port Royal winner Chad Hollenbeck powered into the lead over Jeff Rine at the start of the 25-lap Moon Shine Camo Rt. 35 Dirt Late Model Challenge Series feature event.

But Hollenbeck?s pace was slowed just two laps into the race due to a spun car in the fourth turn.

Rine, Mason Ziegler, Andy Haus and Danny Snyder chased the leader on the restart.

Hollenbeck simply pulled away from Rine when action resumed and by lap nine Hollenbeck had built a 2.2 second lead over Rine as he neared the backmarkers.

With traffic in his path, Rine was able to close in on Hollenbeck on the 13th tour and just as  Rine moved underneath to challenge for the lead, Hollenbeck?s motor expired, handing control to Rine.

And from that point on Rine was in control despite a brief challenge from Zeigler on the restart.

Zeigler got under Rine in the second turn and raced him onto the backchute but Rine jetted ahead into the third corner.

The pace was slowed a final time with 11 laps to go, putting Zeigler and now Dylan Yoder on the leader?s tail.

Yoder pushed by Zeigler on the restart and tried to run down Rine but some brushes with the outside wall cost Yoder late in the event as Rine took the win by 2.843 seconds over Zeigler.

Andy Haus finished third followed by Tim Wilson and Danny Snyder.

Sixth through 10th went to Dylan Yoder, Billy Wampler, Tim Smith Jr., Gary Stuhler and Hayes Mattern.

Heats went to Rine, Hollenbeck and Zeigler with Scott Flickinger claiming the consolation race.

Mike Goodwin took the lead from Pete Leister on the third lap to drive to the xtreme stock victory going.

Leister held on for second followed by Jason Zook, Corey Kepner and Bill Powell.

Stay up to date with all the latest Port Royal news and information by visiting the oval?s official website at or by following the track on Facebook or Twitter.

Feature finishes:

410 sprints, 30 laps: 1. Lucas Wolfe, 2. Brent Marks, 3. Greg Hodnett, 4. Stevie Smith, 5. Ryan Smith, 6. Danny Dietrich,7. Aaron Ott, 8. James McFadden, 9. Tim Shaffer, 10. Doug Esh, 11. Ryan Taylor, 12. Dave Blaney, 13. Bryan Clauson, 14. Kyle Reinhardt, 15. Wayne Dadetto, 16. Dylan Cisney, 17. Mike Wagner, 18. Blane Heimbach, 19. Mike Erdley, 20. Brock Zearfoss, 21. Steve Buckwalter, 22. TJ Stutts, 23. Kody Lehman, 24. Curt Stroup

DNQ: Trenton Schaeffer, Joey Hershey, Dustin Baney, James Pryde, Tyler Bear, Cale Grubb

Late models, 25 laps: 1. Jeff Rine, 2. Mason Zeigler, 3. Andy  Haus, 4. Tim Wilson, 5. Danny Snyder, 6. Dylan Yoder, 7. Billy Wampler, 8. Tim Smith Jr., 9. Gary Stuhler, 10. Hayes Mattern, 11. Mike Lupfer, 12. Chad Myers, 13. Jeff Miller, 14. Andrew Yoder, 15. Scott Flickinger, 16. Dave Brouse Jr., 17. Austin Berry, 18. Donnie Schick, 19. Patrick Bryner, 20. Jerry Bard, 21. Trent Brenneman, 22. Steve Bailor, 23. Tim Fedder, 24. Chad Hollenbeck

DNQ: Dave Stamm, Tim Gray, Jim Yoder,

Xtreme Stocks, 15 laps: 1. Mike Goodwin, 2. Pete Leister, 3. Jason Zook, 4. Corey Kepner, 5. Bill Powell, 6. Charlie Bryner, 7. Austin Johnson, 8. Ryan Zook, 9. Deron Henry, 10. Dustin Snook, 11. Kevin Imes, 12. Brian Strawser, 13. Kirby Sites, 14. Walt Peters, 15. Tyler Amtower, 16. Keith Garman

PRS 2016 ? Racing through a new decade with a new attitude!
Port Royal Speedway

The Only Place To See Super Sprints And Super Lates Every Saturday Night

No comments: