Saturday, August 06, 2016

HOLBROOK TAKES POINTS LEAD WITH SECOND TRAIL-WAY WIN OF THE YEAR; Weber, Wampler break into victory lane in 600 micros, street stocks; Carroll takes limited stocks

HANOVER, PA (8/5/2016) – David Holbrook took over the season-long points lead by scoring his second win of the year in the 25-lap “358” sprint car feature at Trail-Way Speedway Friday night.

“This feels really good after last week,” said Holbrook upon exiting the Mike Parris-owned Turning Stone Resort & Casino/Baird Heating & Cooling/SCC Trucking #77 in victory lane.

Holbrook spun while racing with the leaders in last Friday’s feature.  But there was no such bad luck this week, as Holbrook started fifth and took the lead from Mike Bittinger in turns three and four of lap ten.

Holbrook was the third leader of the race.  Outside front row starter Kody Hartlaub took the lead from polesitter Isaac Sneeringer at the start and led the first six laps before he got sideways and collected Sneeringer in turn two of the seventh lap.  Bittinger was running third at the time and assumed the lead for the restart.  He led the next two laps before Holbrook made the race-winning pass.

“I don’t know what happened to Mike coming off turn two,” said Holbrook.  On the final lap, Bittinger hit the wall and suffered a flat tire, bringing out the checkered and caution simultaneously.  He was scored 13th at the end.

“We’re taking a lot of notes and getting better,” said Holbrook, “These Steve Rucker motors (which have won for the third week in a row) have been working great, and I want to thank the crew.”

Holbrook’s win vaulted him into the points lead by ten points over Seth Kearchner and 26 points over the absent Doug Hammaker.

Second through fifth were eighth-starting Dwight Leppo, tenth-starting Jeff Halligan, 12th-starting and hard charger Steve Owings (who has two wins and a fourth in his three TW races this year), and Kearchner.  Sixth through tenth were Tyler Walton, Rick Horn, Zach Euculano, Brandon Noel, and J.B. Cunningham.

Qualifiers for the 17 “358” sprinters were won by Sneeringer and Hartlaub.

Brad Weber scored his first win of the year and ninth or his Trail-Way career in the 20-lap 600cc micro-sprint feature, crossing 3.32 seconds ahead of Jake Frye.  Hannah Riser, Garrett Bard, and Christian Reed completed the top five.

 Heats for the 13 micros were won by points leader Jim Young and Frye.

Matt Wampler was the winner of a wild 20-lap street stock feature that saw six cars finish the 18-car event.  Wampler was pressured by Marshall McMullen for several laps before McMullen got out of shape trying to make the race-winning pass on the final t[urn.  McMullen crossed .94 seconds behind the winner, with Brian Walls, Jeremy Stremmel, and Will Walls finishing third through fifth.

McMullen and Wampler were heat winners.

Robbie Carroll raced to his second win of the year in the 15-lap limited stock feature.  Matt Chronister, Justin Wagaman, Justin Oberlin and Travis Brown rounded out the top five.

Julio Perez and Carroll were heat winners for the 18 limited stocks.

Next Friday, August 12th, Trail-Way hosts a jam-packed schedule featuring the Precise Racing Products 358 Late Model Series along with the Limited Stocks and ServiceMaster Clean Central PA Legends. The Street Stocks will participate in the second leg of the Susquehanna/Trail-Way Street Stock/Xtreme Stock Shootout. The Large Tire Street Stocks will make their first appearance since 2013 at Trail-Way in a 25-lap, $600 to win Showdown, featuring racecars from Susquehanna, Big Diamond, Hagerstown and Winchester Speedways. Gates open at 5:30 p.m. with heats beginning at 7:45 p.m.

For all the latest news and related information from Trail-Way Speedway, fans are reminded to visit the speedway website at The complete story and agate from each race night is posted shortly after the final checkered flag.

Friday August 5, 2016
Trail-Way Speedway
Hanover, PA
For Immediate Release


FEATURE (25 Laps) – 1. 77-David Holbrook; 2. 4-Dwight Leppo; 3. 41-Jeff Halligan; 4. 35-Steve Owings (Hard Charger); 5. 30-Seth Kearchner; 6. 4R-Tyler Walton; 7. 01-Rick Horn; 8. 10-Zach Euculano; 9. 10B-Brandon Noel; 10. 39-JB Cunningham, Jr.; 11. 12-Mike Bittinger (DNF); 12. ;14C-Dave Carlberg (1 lap down) 13. 77K-Steven Kisamore (1 lap down); 14. 64-Randy Whisler (DNF); 15. 10T-Brody Treaster (DNF); 16. 11D-Kody Hartlaub (DNF); 17. 19Z-Isaac Sneeringer (DNF). No time.

Lap Leaders: Kody Hartlaub (1-7); David Holbrook (8-25)

358 Sprint Heat 1 Finish (10 Laps/All Qualify) – 1. 19Z-Isaac Sneeringer; 2. 12-Mike Bittinger; 3. 01-Rick Horn; 4. 30-Seth Kearchner; 5. 4-Dwight Leppo; 6. 41-Jeff Halligan; 7. 4R-Tyler Walton; 8. 10B-Brandon Noel; 9. 77K-Steven Kisamore. No time.

358 Sprint Heat 2 Finish (10 Laps/All Qualify) – 1. 11D-Kody Hartlaub; 2. 35-Steve Owings; 3. 77-David Holbrook; 4. 14C-Dave Carlberg; 5. 39-JB Cunningham, Jr.; 6. 10-Zach Euculano; 7. 10T-Brody Treaster; 8. 64-Randy Whisler (DNF). No time.

FEATURE (20 Laps) – 1. 17-Brad Weber; 2. 56-Jake Frye; 3. 14K-Hannah Riser; 4. 95-Garrett Bard; 5. 00-Christian Reed; 6. 93-Cory Lawler; 7. 11H-Hayden Miller; 8. 8-Jim Young; 9. 17E-Dylan Norris; 10. 4R-Zane Rudisill; 11. 91-Randy Kunkle, Jr.; 12. 71-Tyler Leese; 13. 22-Nash Ely (DNF). No time.
Lap Leaders: Brad Weber (1-20)

600 Micro Heat 1 Finish (8 Laps/All Qualify) – 1.8-Jim Young ; 2. 17-Brad Weber; 3. 95-Garrett Bard; 4. 14K-Hannah Riser; 5. 17E-Dylan Norris; 6. 11H-Hayden Miller; 7. 71-Tyler Leese. Time – 2:04.72

600 Micro Heat 2 Finish (8 Laps/All Qualify) – 1. 56-Jake Frye; 2. 22-Nash Ely; 3. 93-Cory Lawler; 4. 00-Christian Reed; 5. 4R-Zane Rudisill; 6. 91-Randy Kunkle, Jr. (DNF). Time – 2:09.31


FEATURE (20 Laps) – 1. 100-Matt Wampler; 2. 81F-Marshall McMullen; 3. 1M-Brian Walls; 4. 51-Jeremy Stremmel; 5. 1W-Will Walls; 6. 11-Branden Staccone; 7. 27H-Joey Harrison (DNF); 8. 94M-Zach Myers (DNF); 9. 94-Dalton Myers (DNF); 10. 4J-Jim Jacobs (DNF); 11. 67-Jonathan Oliver (DNF); 12. 60-Aaron Beard (DNF); 13. 1-Alex Updegraff (DNF); 14. 19R-Roy Denike (DNF); 15. 45-Howard Williams (DNF); 16. 25-Travis Leh (DNF); 17. 33-Michael Goodwin (DNS); 18. 23B-Don Murphy (DNS). No time.

Lap Leaders: Will Walls (1-8); Matt Wampler (9-20)

Street Stock Heat 1 Finish (8 Laps/All Qualify) – 1. 81F-Marshall McMullen; 2. 1M-Brian Walls; 3. 1W-Will Walls; 4. 60-Aaron Beard; 5. 67-Jonathan Oliver; 6. 33-Mike Goodwin (DNF); 7. 4J-Jim Jacobs (DNF); 8. 94-Dalton Myers (DNS); 9. 11-Branden Staccone (DNS). No time.

Street Stock Heat 2 Finish (8 Laps/All Qualify) – 1. 100-Matt Wampler; 2. 94M-Zach Myers; 3. 1-Alex Updegraff; 4. 27H-Joey Harrison; 5. 45-Howard Williams; 6. 51-Jeremy Stremmel; 7. 25-Travis Leh; 8. 23B-Don Murphy; 9. 19R-Roy Denike (DNF). Time – 2:43.54


FEATURE (15 Laps) – 1. 69-Robbie Carroll; 2. 81-Matt Chronister; 3. 30-Justin Wagaman; 4. 88-Justin Oberlin; 5. 47-Travis Brown; 6. 32-Jeff Foster; 7. 64-Charles Millender; 8. 89-Rob Nicklow; 9. 77-Matt Worley; 10. 28-Jason Harley; 11. 3-Chelsea Weaver; 12. 96-Sarah Redmond; 13. 16-Julio Perez (DNF); 14. 92-Terry Hartlaub (DNF); 15. 38-Jason Chronister (DNF); 16. 42-Cliff Szczepanski (DNF); 17. 8-Roger Rhodes (DNF); 18. 29-Mike Wolf (DNS). No time.

Lap Leaders:Robbie Carroll (1-15)

Limited Stock Heat 1 Finish (6 Laps/All Qualify) – 1. 16-Julio Perez; 2. 30-Justin Wagaman; 3. 32-Jeff Foster; 4. 89-Rob Nicklow; 5. 81-Matt Chronister; 6. 77-Matt Worley; 7. 29-Mike Wolf; 8. 64-Charles Millender (DNF); 9. 3-Chelsea Weaver (DNF). No time.

Limited Stock Heat 2 Finish (6 Laps/All Qualify) – 1. 69-Robbie Carroll; 2. 88-Justin Oberlin; 3. 38-Jason Chronister; 4. 47-Travis Brown; 5. 42-Cliff Szczepanski; 6. 96-Sarah Redmond; 7. 8-Roger Rhodes; 8. 28-Jason Harley; 9. 92-Terry Hartlaub (DNF). No time.

No comments: