Sunday, September 04, 2016

Greg Hodnett claims seventh oval sprints win Satterlee Thrills For Port Royal UFO Butch Renninger Late Model Memorial Win Barbara and Frye provide sparks at the front , Ranck scores second econo late win Pete Leister wins and scores xtreme stock track title


PORT ROYAL, Pa. ? Gregg Satterlee of Rochester Mills became the first repeat winner of the prestigious Butch Renninger Memorial at Port Royal Speedway on Saturday night, taking home $4,290 (including lap money) for his 33-lap run in the UFO Late Model-sanctioned event.

Satterlee put on a sterling performance over the 38 cars in competition, fighting it out with Keith Barbara  and Coelby Frye for the victory, which was also the second of the season for him at the speedway.

In the 25-lap 410 sprint car main, Greg Hodnett of Spring Grove claimed his seventh oval win of the season, using the bottom groove to perfection to get by Aaron Ott for the win.

The econo late model main went to Harold Ranck Jr. for his second checkers of the season while Pete Leister of Port Royal fulfilled a lifelong dream of becoming an oval titlist by wrapping up the xtreme stock championship with a win.

Satterlee started on the pole of the 33-lap Butch Renninger Memorial and was chased early by Nick Dickson.

The smooth running Satterlee entered the rear of the field with 10 laps down and by lap 12 found seventh starter Keith Barbara of South Park up to second and running down his advantage.

But Barbara?s job was made easier on the 15th tour when the races first caution flag unfurled for Mason Zeigler.

Satterlee chose the inside lane for the restart and had Barbara in his shadow when action resumed and when the leader missed his entrance on the low side in the first corner on the 22nd lap, Barbara throttled into the lead on the backstretch.

But that move only served to put Satterlee?s elbows up as it forced him higher around the speedway in the ensuing laps, with Coleby Frye up to third from eighth starting spot.

Barbara held command until the 25th circuit when Satterlee used an outside run off of the second corner to blast across the track on the backstretch and bolt to Barbara?s extreme inside as the pair rushed into the third corner.

Satterlee had no choice but to then blast up across the track in the third turn, hoping to catch the car on the cushion and be able to point it down the front stretch, which he did.

Barbara was still running second with Frye a challenging third with four laps to go when the races final caution flag unfurled and Satterlee chose the inside lane for the restart.

When action resumed, sparks flew, literally, when Frye got to Barbara?s inside as the pair crossed underneath the green flag.

A hard hit between the two found each of them leaning on one another for the hotly-contested spot as they raced hooked together in the first corner with Barbara and Frye driving up across the track only to see Barbara slam the outside wall and come to a stop as Frye got away from any accident.

This set up another restart now with Frye to Satterlee?s outside and Frye drove into the lead on the backstretch using his outside momentum.

But Satterlee was not to be outdone nor denied as he put a massive flyer on Frye in the third corner to regain control and bring the fans to their feet as he raced back down the frontstretch, still the leader.

From that point on he pulled away to the win to take the checkers by 1.918 seconds over Frye, 16th starter Dylan Yoder, Chad Hollenbeck and Dan Stone.

Sixth through 10th went to Kenny Moreland, Trent Brenneman, Jeremy Miller, Mike Lupfer and Tim Smith Jr.

Heats went to Lupfer, Zeigler, Barbara and Waylon Wagner with twin consolations going to Brenneman and Andy Haus.

Lupfer set at new 10-lap track record in his head with a time of 3:08.316.

Rick Lafferty led the first four laps of the sprint car main before fourth starter Aaron Ott took over at the front.

Ott was in control over Lafferty, Lucas Wolfe and Greg Hodnett on the eighth tour when TJ Stutts spun, causing a caution flag period.

That running order remained the same until the 11th lap when Hodnett began coming on to get by Wolfe for third and then Lafferty for second on lap 13.

It took Hodnett only two more laps to run down leader Ott and easily drive into the lead using the smooth bottom lane.

He then pulled away to a 4.283 second win over sixth starter Danny Dietrich who was gaining speed with every lap.

Ott finished third followed by Wolfe and Dylan Cisney.

Sixth through 10th went to Brock Zearfoss, Lafferty, Doug Esh, Curt Stroup and Blane Heimbach.

Heats went to Cisney, Hodnett and Ott.

The econo late model main saw Harold Ranck Jr. wire the field for the victory with the race within the race finding Devin Hart riding home third to reclaim the point lead in the chase for the track title with just one race to go.

Hart now leads the chase by 20 points over Tim Krape.

Todd Snook was second in the feature followed by Hart, Eric Irvin and Trent Brenneman, who raced in both the super late and econo late model divisions on the night.

Heats went to Irvin and Ranck.

Pete Leister started seventh in the 15-lap xtreme stock feature and took the lead from Ryan Zook with four laps to go.

Leister went on to win and claim the 2016 xtreme stock track title.

Mike Goodwin, Kevin Imes and Bill Powell rounded out the top five.

Feature finishes:

410 sprints, 25 laps: 1. Greg Hodnett, 2. Danny Dietrich, 3. Aaron Ott, 4. Lucas Wolfe, 5. Dylan Cisney, 6. Brock Zearfoss, 7. Rick Lafferty, 8. Doug Esh, 9. Curt Stroup, 10. Blane Heimbach, 11. Mike Wagner, 12. TJ Stutts, 13. Tyler Bear, 14. Cale Grubb, 15. Anthony Fiore, 16. Dustin Baney, 17. Mike Wagner II., 18. Austin  Burke, 19. Mark Coldren, 20. Karl Baker, 21. Vincey Snyder, 22. Kody Lehman, 23. Joey Hershey, 24. Trenton Schaeffer

DNQ: Daryl Stimeling, Ryan Taylor

Late models, 33 laps: 1. Gregg Satterlee, 2. Coleby Frye, 3. Dylan Yoder, 4. Chad Hollenbeck, 5. Dan Stone, 6. Kenny Moreland, 7. Trent Brenneman, 8. Jeremy Miller, 9. Mike Lupfer, 10. Tim Smith Jr., 11. Andy Haus, 12. Devin Friese, 13. Tim Wilson, 14. Andrew Yoder, 15. Bump Hedman, 16. Danny Snyder, 17. Mike Mort, 18. Keith Barbara, 19. Nick Dickson, 20. Waylon Wagner, 21. Mason Zeigler, 22. Billy Wampler, 23. Jerry Bard, 24. Pancho Lawler, 25. Justin Kann

DNQ: Dave Brouse Jr., Tim Gray, Jeff Miller, Rick Singleton, Cole Amsden, Matt Parks, Brian Tavenner, Cody Robbins, Larry Baer, Jason Schmidt, Kyle Rhoads, Scott Flickinger, Patrick Bryner

Econo late models, 18 laps: 1. Harold Ranck Jr., 2. Todd Snook, 3. Devin Hart, 4. Eric Irvin, 5. Trent Brenneman, 6. Tim Fedder, 7. Dave Leidy, 8. JR Toner, 9. Ryan Walls, 10. Kenny Yoder, 11. Jason Nace, 12. Tim Krape, 13. Curt Dunn, 14. Eric Summey, 15. Andrew Shoop, 16. Jason Peachey

DNS: Garrett Gray

Xtreme stocks, 15 laps: 1. Pete Leister, 2. Ryan Zook, 3. Mike Goodwin, 4. Kevin Imes, 5. Bill Powell, 6. Will Brunson, 7. Charlie Bryner, 8. Don Murphy, 9. Tonya Lann, 10. Brian Strawser, 11. Walt Peters, 12. Austin Johnson, 13. Keith Bissinger, 14. Jason Zook, 15. Rich Adair

Stay up to date with all the latest Port Royal news and information by visiting the oval?s official website at or by following the track on Facebook or Twitter.

No comments: