Saturday, September 03, 2016


HANOVER, PA (9/2/2016) –It was another sprint car thriller at Trail-Way Speedway Friday night.

In the end, it was Steve Owings making the last-lap pass over race-long leader and Trail-Way points leader David Holbrook to score his fourth win of the year in the 25-lap “358” sprint car feature.

“That was tight.  I hated to get into Dave there at the end, but it was for the win,” said Owings upon exiting his Westminster Transmission/Valentine Motorsports #35 in victory lane, “There’ll be another winner next week.  We’re going on vacation, but this place is really fun!”

Holbrook took the lead at the outset from his outside front-row starting spot and led until ninth-starting Owings pulled alongside him as the two crossed under the white flag.  The two touched in turns one and two, and Holbrook drove out of a near spin to recover and finish second .31 seconds behind the winner.

Isaac Sneeringer, Cody Fletcher, and Central PA point series leader Jeff Halligan completed the top five.

Fletcher and Halligan tied for the Lincoln/Trail-Way “Shootout” championship, with Fletcher taking the title worth $500 in a tiebreaker for having the best Trail-Way finish.

In addition the $1,000 winner’s share, Owings also received a $150 bonus from B&D Truck Hoist, one of his own sponsors, for being the event’s hard charger.  Mike Bittinger, involved in two early-race incidents, received $50 from B&D Truck Hoist as the event’s hard luck driver.

Sixth through tenth were Dwight Leppo, Tyler Walton, Rick Horn, Seth Kearchner, and Dalton Dietrich.

Qualifiers for the 18 “358” sprint cars were won by Sneeringer, Owings, and Kearchner.

Scott Houdeshell raced to his second straight win in the 20-lap Central PA Legends feature, crossing .37 seconds ahead of Bill Diehl.  Chad Earnst, Greg Burd, and Jeff Herbst finished third through fifth.

Heats for the 17 Legends were won by Chris Transeau and Bob Stough.  Both drivers were involved in crashes in the feature and failed to finish.

Fairfield’s Zach Myers claimed his first career win in a wild 20-lap street stock feature that saw only five cars finish on the lead lap.  Michael Goodwin, Joey Harrison, Marshall McMullen, and Jeremy Stremmel rounded out the top five.

Zach Myers and Matt Wampler were heat winners for the 10 street stocks on hand.

Charles Millender scored his second win of the year in the 15-lap non-stop limited stock feature.  Points leader Justin Wagaman, Matt Chronister, Jason Chronister, and Robbie Carroll completed the top five.

The Chronister brothers won heats for the 15 limited stocks.

Next Friday, September 9th, Trail-Way hosts the Hoosier Tire Mid-Atlantic 358 Sprint Cars. Also on the schedule will be the Limited Stocks, Mason-Dixon 270 Micro Sprints and the Street Stocks. This will be the final points race for all four divisions. Gates open at 5:30 p.m. with heats scheduled to begin at 7:45 p.m.

The following day, Saturday, September 10th, TW hosts the final appearance of the AMA Motorcycle Short Track series. Gates open at 3:00 p.m., with racing scheduled to begin at 6:00 p.m.

For all the latest news and related information from Trail-Way Speedway, fans are reminded to visit the speedway website at The complete story and agate from each race night is posted shortly after the final checkered flag.

Friday September 2, 2016
Trail-Way Speedway
Hanover, PA
For Immediate Release


FEATURE (25 Laps) – 1. 35-Steve Owings (Big Mike’s Crabhouse Hard Charger); 2. 77-David Holbrook; 3. 19Z-Isaac Sneeringer; 4. 66A-Cody Fletcher (Lincoln/Trail-Way 358 Shootout Champion); 5. 41-Jeff Halligan; 6. 4-Dwight Leppo; 7. 4R-Tyler Walton; 8. 01-Rick Horn; 9. 30-Seth Kearchner; 10. 9-Dalton Dietrich; 11. 14C-Dave Carlberg; 12. 22T-Dave Thrush; 13. 64-Randy Whisler; 14. 80M-Dan Richcreek; 15. 39-JB Cunningham, Jr. (DNF); 16. 99Y-Shane Yost (DNF); 17. 12-Mike Bittinger (DNF); 18. 19D-Wyatt Hinkle (DNF). No time.

Lap Leaders: David Holbrook (1-24); Steve Owings (25)

358 Sprint Heat 1 Finish (10 Laps/All Qualify) – 1. 19Z-Isaac Sneeringer; 2. 9-Dalton Dietrich; 3. 12-Mike Bittinger; 4. 66A-Cody Fletcher; 5. 22T-Dave Thrush; 6. 64-Randy Whisler. Time – 2:28.34

358 Sprint Heat 2 Finish (10 Laps/All Qualify) – 1.35-Steve Owings ; 2. 77-David Holbrook; 3. 4R-Tyler Walton; 4. 39-JB Cunningham, Jr.; 5. 80M-Dan Richcreek; 6. 19D-Wyatt Hinkle. Time – 2:26.21

358 Sprint Heat 3 Finish (10 Laps/All Qualify) – 1. 30-Seth Kearchner; 2. 4-Dwight Leppo; 3. 41-Jeff Halligan; 4. 01-Rick Horn; 5. 14C-Dave Carlberg; 6. 99Y-Shane Yost. Time – 2:25.28


FEATURE (20 Laps) – 1. 5-Scott Houdeshell; 2. 53-Bill Diehl; 3. 85-Chad Earnst; 4. 94-Greg Burd; 5. 18H-Jeff Herbst; 6. 8CR-Mason Chaney; 7. 43-Tony Mrakovich; 8. 6-Todd Rahley; 9. 7MD-Nathan Renfro (DNF); 10. 0-Robert Stough (DNF); 11. 83-Jason Gastley (DNF); 12. 91-Justin Mitchell (DNF); 13. X-Justice Forbes (DNF); 14. 93-Travis McClelland (DNF); 15. 18-Chris Transeau (DNF); 16. 119-John Kooti (DNF); 17. 8-Robert Shaw (DNF). No time.

Lap Leaders: Jeff Herbst (1); Chad Earnst (2-10); Scott Houdeshell (11-20)

Legend Heat 1 Finish (8 Laps/All Qualify) – 1. 18-Chris Transeau; 2. 53-Bill Diehl; 3. 5-Scott Houdeshell; 4. 94-Greg Burd; 5. 43-Tony Mrakovich; 6. 6-Todd Rahley; 7. 93-Travis McClelland; 8. X-Justice Forbes; 9. 7MD-Nathan Renfro. Time – 2:40.87

Legend Heat 2 Finish (8 Laps/All Qualify) – 1. 0-Robert Stough; 2. 91-Justin Mitchell; 3. 8CR-Mason Chaney; 4. 85-Chad Earnst; 5. 18H-Jeff Herbst; 6. 83-Jason Gastley; 7. 119-John Kooti; 8. 8-Robert Shaw (DNF). Time – 2:39.31


FEATURE (20 Laps) – 1. 94M-Zach Myers; 2. 33-Michael Goodwin; 3. 27H-Joey Harrison; 4. 81F-Marshall McMullen; 5. 51-Jeremy Stremmel; 6. 25-Travis Leh (1 lap down); 7. 100-Matt Wampler (1 lap down); 8. 11-Branden Staccone (DNF); 9. 60-Aaron Beard (DNF); 10. 94-Dalton Myers (DNS). No time.

Lap Leaders: Aaron Beard (1-11); Zach Myers (12-20)

Street Stock Heat 1 Finish (8 Laps/All Qualify) – 1. 94M-Zach Myers; 2. 60-Aaron Beard; 3. 81F-Marshall McMullen; 4. 33-Michael Goodwin; 5. 11-Branden Staccone. Time – 2:43.31

Street Stock Heat 2 Finish (8 Laps/All Qualify) – 1. 100-Matt Wampler; 2. 25-Travis Leh; 3. 94-Dalton Myers; 4. 27H-Joey Harrison; 5. 51-Jeremy Stremmel. No time.


FEATURE (15 Laps) – 1. 64-Charles Millender; 2. 30-Justin Wagaman; 3. 81-Matt Chronister; 4. 38-Jason Chronister; 5. 69-Robbie Carroll; 6. 32-Jeff Foster; 7. 88-Justin Oberlin; 8. 39-Shane Miller; 9. 51-Zach Rock; 10. 16-Julio Perez (DNF); 11. 77-Matt Worley (1 lap down); 12. 8-Roger Rhodes, III (1 lap down); 13. 42-Cliff Szczepanski (1 lap down); 14. 92-Terry Hartlaub (DNF); 15. 89-Wes Miller (DNS). Time – 5:15.57

Lap Leaders: Terry Hartlaub (1); Charles Millender (2-15)

Limited Stock Heat 1 Finish (6 Laps/All Qualify) – 1. 81-Matt Chronister; 2. 92-Terry Hartlaub; 3. 30-Justin Wagaman; 4. 89-Wes Miller; 5. 64-Charles Millender; 6. 8-Roger Rhodes III; 7. 39-Shane Miller; 8. 88-Justin Oberlin (DNF). No time.

Limited Stock Heat 2 Finish (6 Laps/All Qualify) – 1. 38-Jason Chronister; 2. 69-Robbie Carroll; 3. 16-Julio Perez; 4. 77-Matt Worley; 5. 51-Zach Rock; 6. 32-Jeff Foster; 7. 42-Cliff Szczepanski. No time.

Kalida M. Landis
Public Relations/Social Media Director

No comments: