Sunday, May 21, 2017

PAUL MILLER CHARGES TO FIRST SUSQUEHANNA WIN Dave Brown, Ryan Greth and Alex Updegraff Visit Victory Lane

By Brad Vores for Susquehanna Speedway

YORK HAVEN, PA…5/20/17
Paul Miller not only earned the Hard Charger award Saturday night at Susquehanna Speedway but the Fawn Grove., PA driver’s impressive charge resulted in his first win of the season in the 25-lap Credit Connection Auto Sales Super Sportsman feature.

Starting deep in the field in the 18th starting spot, Miller’s charge to the front was impressive as he took the lead with ten laps complete and then held off a feisty Kenny Edkin before securing the win.

Following two yellows before a lap could be completed, Devin Beidel led the first six laps before giving way to Tom Wyckoff who led laps seven and eight.

Beidel went back out front on the ninth lap but Miller drove by for the race lead, a lead he would never relinquish but had to fend off the challenges of Edkin, the feature winner the last time the Super Sportsman were in action.

Miller became the fourth different winner in as many races this season.

Edkin, who started 10th, settled for the runner-up spot trailed by 12th starter Scott Dellinger, Russ Miller and Tony Jackson with 19th starting Scott Geesey coming home sixth ahead of 21st starter Doug Dodson, Beidel, 20th starter Chase Gutshall and Jay Fannasy.

Jackson, Mitten and Justin Foster won heats for the 31-car field with Geesey taking the consolation win.

Cale Reigle led the first 11 laps of the 20-lap PASS/IMCA 305 Sprint car main before fourth-starting Dave Brown took control.

Brown would never look back as he became the third different winner in as many 305 Sprint mains this season at the track.

Tyler Reeser raced home second ahead of Reigle, 14th starter Darren Miller and Kyle Ganoe as Colby Dice, Austin Bishop, 19th starter Kyle Craker, Stefanie Carberry and Ken Duke, Jr. completed the top ten. Craker was named the Hard Charger.

Brown, Reeser, Dave Grube and Ganoe won heats for the 34-car field. Nick Sweigart won the consolation.

Ryan Greth led all 20 laps to score the win in the ARDC Midget feature over Alex Bright, Brendon Bright,  Bret Arndt and Tommy Kunsman.

The race was red flagged on the third lap for a violent series of flips on the front stretch by Trevor Kobylarz. He was not injured.

Arndt and Kunsman won heats for the 13 cars.

Continuing his domination over the division this year, defending track champion Alex Updegraff took the win in the Extreme Stock 50 lapper.

Updegraff started third and went out front with ten laps in the books and went onto dominate the remainder of the event for his fourth win of the season. He was followed by Jeff Gill, Michael Smith, Donnie Broderick and Jeff Waltz.

Heats for the 12 cars were won by Patrick McClane and Don Murphy.

Susquehanna Speedway returns to action Saturday night, May 27 as the Credit Connection Auto Sales Super Sportsman compete in the Blazers Body Shop Bud Bricker Nationals presented by Sutliff Chevrolet/PA Veterans Foundation. The Bernheisel Race Cars 358 Late Models, Morgan Paving/Aqua Fun Pools Street Stocks and Superior Homes Extreme Stocks are also on the racing card. Race time is 7PM.

There will also be a Test ‘N’ Tune on Wednesday night, May 24 from 6-9PM at the Speedway.

Credit Connection Auto Sales Super Sportsman (25 Laps)
1) 58 Paul Miller 2) 75 Kenny Edkin 3) 30 Scott Dellinger 4) 77 Russ Mitten 5) 17J Tony Jackson 6) 41 Scott Geesey 7) 54 Doug Dodson 8) 19 Devin Beidel 9) 1A Chase Gutshall 10) 222 Jay Fannasy 11) 99 Chad Smith 12) 56 Jake Miller 13) 77w Tom Wyckoff 14) 7 Timmie Barrick 15) 14 Nate Young 16) 44 Russ Lebo 17) 24 Justin Williams 18) 3B Mike Enders 19) 2M Matt Ondek 20) 91 Lanny Hake 21) 32 Gregg Foster 22) 23 Justin Foster 23) 27 Troy Hockenberry 24) 83 Bruce Buckwalter Jr.
Did Not Qualify: 20w Davey Walsh, 2 Austin Lorah, 13 Luke Deatrick, 10 Troy Rhome, 05 Bill Brown, 7 Todd Leonard, 8 Rich Eichelberger

PASS/ IMCA 305 SPRINTS (20 Laps):
1) 44x Dave Brown 2) 5T Tyler Reeser 3) 99 Cale Reigle 4) 9c Darren Miller 5) 0 Kyle Ganoe 6) 17A Colby Dice 7) 11 Austin Bishop 8) 14 Kyle Craker 9) 99 Stefanie Carberry 10) 67 Ken Duke Jr. 11) 8D Scott Ellerman 12) 3D Dave Grube 13) 83 Billy Ney 14) 28 Tommy Carberry 15) 9s Rick Stief 16) 77J Jeff Geiges 17) 18 Tim Tanner Jr. 18) 9B Brendon Poff 19) 39x Scott Frack 20) 8 Nick Sweigart 21) 20 Stephanie Dodson 22) 50 Jay Krout 23) 4c Cody Hackenberry 24) 92 Alex Potosky
Did Not Qualify: 70 Eddie Wagner, 77 Andrew Hake, 56 Bobby Scherff, 0 Harris Kohen, 2 Erin Statler, 15B Bryant Davis, 13 Kurt Knepper, 57v David Bonner, 94D Logan Diehl, 777 Doug Snow

Superior Homes Extreme Stocks (50 Laps)
1) 1 Alex Updegraff 2) 15 Jeff Gill 3) 76 Michael Smith 4) 97 Donnie Broderick 5) 77 Jeff Waltz 6) 37 Mallory Duvall 7) 95 Dan Snyder 8) 55 Patrick McClane 9) 7 Bill Powell 10) 41 Howard Williams 11) 10 Kyle Emig 12) 23B Don Murphy

ARDC Midgets ( 20 Laps ):
1) 4R Ryan Greth 2) 77 Alex Bright 3) 92 Brendon Bright 4) 46 Bret Arndt 5) 21 Tommy Kunsman 6) 5 PJ Gargiulo 7) 23M Kenny Miller 8) 24 Jay Hartman 9) 35 Andrew Layser 10) 7 Shawn Jackson 11) 14B Rohan Beasley 12) 14 Trevor Kobylarz

No comments: